We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel outside downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #36 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel outside downtown”
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This is a nice Marriott property that is a 5 minute drive outside of historic downtown Charleston. The hotel is located next to Brittle Bank Park right next to the Ashley River. The only Marriott property downtown is the Ren Charleston and is considerably more expensive. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast at the onsite Saffire restaurant was pretty good. The lobby decor is modern and there is a very nice courtyard. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    390
    188
    80
    37
See reviews for
232
349
40
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

this hotel was just not my best stay! the staff was friendly but had trouble putting us in the right room, the air conditioning was broken in some! Everything was pretty nice and the rooms seemed cleaned but if you went in the bathroom and looked on the CEILING their was HAIR! Very strang and it made me think the place is not as clean as it may look? & NO free internet acces!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lryals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Overpriced, and the front desk manager is a jerk. First off, they charge you $9.95/day to connect to their wireless or wired network. I complained about this on their website, cause it wasn't very clear before we checked in. Their front desk manager, Scott Donovan, called us to basically say its company policy and that's the way it is. But, he called at 7:50 in the morning and woke my wife up! What kind of idiot calls a hotel guest at 7:50 to tell them something like that. This hotel really has no redeeming qualities whatsover. The rooms are fine, but stay somewhere else. I'm through with Marriott.

Also, there is a beautiful ghetto right around the corner, so the location is lame.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhiDelt1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
It's unfortunate that customers have to resort to calling someone a "Jerk" who attempted to answer a question from customer and was asked to call him "first thing in the morning". Our Front Office Manager goes out of his way to help customers and to assist in any manner he can, to make visits to Charleston, SC enjoyable...
Also, the neighborhood around hotel is perfectly fine and we do not have any issues...Charleston Police Headquarters is located next to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Matt Archer was one of the best desk clerk that any visitor can appreciate. He puts our the welcoming carpet. This hotel is the cleaniest property that I have stayed. The Marriott is the best chain hotel in America.

If you have a good night's stay, it makes for a great travel experience.

Austine and Lois Brooks

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loisaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We enjoyed the Charleston Marriott due to its excellent staff. Scott Donovan, the manager, is very knowledgeable of the area and helped us feel at ease and comfortable. The hotel's location is excellent in finding all the Charleston attractions. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweety044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Stayed at the Marriott for 3 days for a conference. The rooms were nice and the conference areas and surrounding hotel area was very nice. The staff was great and the food was very good.

It is located a few miles from the historic district so it would be quite a walk for someone which was disappointing. My only real concern was that they need a real desk in the rooms. Although they had wireless internet access for $9.95 there wasn't anywhere comfortable to sit down and do some work. The "desk" they provided was in essence a sofa table with an office chair pulled up to it. Just too low of a chair and too high of a desk surface. For that type of hotel, I expected more.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobluechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

The Charleston Marriott was a VERY comfortable hotel for a two night stay in Charleston. The rate was a little high, but nothing outlandish.

Beds, pillows, linens: everything was very comfortable. My only complaint is that the hotel isn't within walking distance of anything... be prepared to drive anywhere and everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpetralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing