We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Birthday Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2009

I came to the Charleston Marriott to celebrate my birthday and cannot be happier about my decision! The decor is gorgeous and the rooms are comfortable and inviting. The restuarant has some great choices and the room service was great! The staff was very welcoming and never stopped smiling. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of visiting the charleston area!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinagirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2009

I would not recommend my worst enemy stay at this poor excuse of a Marriott hotel. Upon arrival, was greeted by a lack of bellstaff! This rude Director of Rooms named Lorne [--] was in the lobby, with his hands behind his back just had this dumb look on his face. When I asked where check-in was, he said in a rude sarcastic tone, "It's in front of you"! The hotel did not have valet parking and the parking lot is TERRIBLE. Some kind of construction going on, water and debris all over the parking lot! After having to park in a small pond and soak my feet, I fell in the parking lot. There is a HUGE difference from the asphalt and the pavers! How stupid of a public area to have such a drop. It has been that way for a while, you can tell. I complained to the Front Office Manager, Scott [--], and he acted as if it was my fault I fell. The room was even worse! The room was stuffy and smelled of mildew/mold . The windows were soaking wet. Upon further inspection I found mold/mildew at the windows and curtains and along the walls. How dangerous! I called down to complain and the woman who answered the phone could have cared less and basically hung up on. Finally someone from maintenance came up and kinda laughed, he said most of the rooms were this way. I just told him to leave and I went downstairs. I complained to Lorne [--] and he tried making up this big ole lie about Charleston. Well, I have been coming to Charleston for 10 years and have spent well over 300 nights in hotels and never had this problem. After explaining to him, he basically said you can check out if you want. That's what we did. When I got home, I tried contacting the General Manager several times, but never heard back from him. I could go on, but I think I have gotten my point across!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank atlantatravelforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We came via boat to the harbor, arrived about 6pm to find out the hotel was overbooked! The manager at the time offered to send us to another Marriott resort that would upgrade us to a "luxury suite". After hours trying to find a taxi (and coerce them into paying 4 it), we arrived at the ummm.....Residence Inn in North Charleston about 45min away! Then, spent the next morning trying to get transported back to the Marriott. (of course, had to rehash everything w/ the next manager on duty at both hotels!). When we finally arrived at the Marriott we had originally booked for (which was very nice and our manager then was extremely helpful) we did have a nice stay. Wasted most of our trip trying to figure out how they were going to compensate us ~ it was mentally draining! After hours of talking to taxi's, managers, customer service, packing/unpacking etc....they agreed to pay for the taxi's and rooms. IF you go, make sure you have a room!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

The rooms and public areas on this hotel were pretty nice. Our main complaint was that the rumor was super-humid/stuffy (anything you left in the room literally became damp - tough on papers, books, etc.). The location was easily accessible, though you should definitely rent a car if you stay here as it is not within walking distance to the major tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kruzingtogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

I was there for a total of 5 weeks and really enjoyred it. The rooms are large and comfortable (especially the penthouse). The consierge lounge was a nice feature and room service was very fast and priced pretty good. The only down sides are the parking is pretty tough on the weekends (but, they are building a parking structure - goodbye free parking!), and twice in 2 weeks the fire alarms forced a total evacuation of the hotel. Both false alarms. The restaurant is great.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rverginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

If you have a car, this attractive hotel with very nice pool and outdoor area serves as a wonderful place to stay while experiencing Charleston, SC. Located on the "river" side of downtown, it has easy access to both downtown and nearby attractions. As a family, we enjoyed the swimming and whirlpool in a nice palmetto tree lined setting. The lobby and exercise room are nice as well. While we were there, they seemed to be expanding the parking for the conference facilities, which should be done by now. The rooms were very nice and updated. An outdoor bar was located on a balcony overlooking the water.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank symphonicmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We got this room for $100 per night through Priceline.com. I hate to pay more than $100 for a room but you never know what you're getting. This was so nice. The restaurant/bar area was pleasant and there was a very nice area outside to sit around and chat or have cocktails. The staff was efficient and very nice. The room was very nice and we had a view of the water. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
1.6 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $161 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing