We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience but Isolated Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #36 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Experience but Isolated Location”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Charleston Marriott was a nice, clean upscale hotel with excellent service. A rooftop bar/lounge was available along with a separate reasonably priced restaurant with bar. There was a nice, usable courtyard for relaxing along with an outdoor pool and spa. There is a Happy Hour and live music on Thur-Sat. The rooms were average size, clean with comfortable beds, large flat screen television, usable desk and refrigerator. An internet connection was only complimentary with some room packages and adequate for e-mail and web browsing but not video. The location was the major drawback unless you are looking for quiet. There are no restaurants or shopping within reasonable walking distance except for a few fast food joints. If you like minor league baseball the Single-A Charleston Riverdogs play within walking distance. There appears to be a number of empty buildings in the area although it seemed safe during the day and early evening. The hotel provides a van shuttle (every 30 minutes) to the historic district that runs until about 11pm. The distance is about 2-3 miles. The cost is a flat $6/day for unlimited trips.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcite2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. Yes, we are approximately 1.5 miles from the historic district, but we price ourselves below the hotels in historic district, offer free parking and provide shuttle service to downtown. Thank you for your business and hope to see you again on future visits to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    390
    188
    80
    37
See reviews for
232
349
40
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh Nc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here for a chiropractic seminar June 11-June 13th, 2014. It is located near the Citadel, and the baseball stadium and great views overlooking a river. It has a great patio/courtyard with plush Caribbean type loungers and fire pits near it's pool area but separate and removed from the pool and a great place to hang out. They also had a lounge on the 4th floor overlooking the river area that was outdoor patio area to hang out and get a drink. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable and I'm picky since we have a Tempur Pedic mattress at home. The gym overlooks the pool and has fairly good equipment with weights, treadmills and elliptical machines. Didn't try the restaurants there so can't comment on them. The staff was friendly and very helpful and set up my family with tours and different things to do outside of the hotel. There was a wedding set up in the courtyard area while we were there and it seemed like a great quaint atmosphere. I would stay here again if we went back and I can recommend it as a great seminar facility as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiromomRaleighNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much for the great comments and taking time to share your feedback. Thank you for your business and we appreciate the chiropractic group business as well. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Often admired as a business hotel, the Marriott Charleston is also perfect for a special occassion. We were in town to celebrate our 50 year Wedding Anniversary. Only Marriott could have pulled off the perfect stay. As regular Vacation Travellers, we are very used to hotels being just rooms with smiling front desk empoloyees. This hotel was different. We were very suprised to recieve a bottle of Champagne and Chocolate Covered Strawberries from the Front Desk Supervisor. Since there were so many events going on in Charleston, we were worried about parking. Worries vanished with the Hotel Shuttle and two wonderful Driver/Employees. We heard 3 different stories while we were there about how the hotel employees had gone out of the way to do something extra for other guests, including a lady who was visiting her husband in the Intensive Care Unit of a nearby Hospital. That is truly Corporate Resposibility to give employees the latitude to be extra courteous. Congratulations Marriott and Thank You Marriott Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pangelo511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you! We strive to be an excellent customer service hotel, but it always great & reassuring to hear it from our customers! We do have a great staff and proud that we made that kind of impression with our service. Thank you and hope to see you again on future visits to our great city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had a wonderful experience with the downtown Charleston Marriott. After an unsatisfying experience with a hotel in North Charleston we moved our weekend to the Marriott. The hotel staff were friendly, kind, and helpful. They worked with us and were apologetic of our previous experience. We enjoyed clean and comfortable rooms, a great pool area and bar, as well as good restaurants in the hotel. Should we ever need to come to Charleston again, we will be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhendrix90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for the compliments! We focus on providing excellent and consistent customer service and sounds like we made an impression...thank you. My apologies for your experience in North Charleston and happy to hear we ended up turning your experience into a positive one.
Hope to see you again in future visits to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory,NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very clean, modern and comfy hotel.... Good location and lovely pool, courtyard area and a roof top bar and restaurant. Great outdoor furniture to relax in....has a Starbucks in the hotel. There's a shuttle to downtown area that is handy. Very friendly staff and good service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kturner108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. We appreciate the comments and happy you enjoyed your visit to Charleston. Hope to see you again in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a recent business trip. Overall really liked the hotel. Room was clean and comfortably furnished, but a little cramped as I was sharing with a colleague and there was barely room for us to walk around the two beds. Wifi service worked great. The staff we interacted with were all friendly and helpful. Free parking adjacent to the hotel was a plus. I think the biggest drawback to me was the location. This hotel is "downtown" Charleston but over a mile from the real heart of downtown. This is just a personal preference though. If, on future business trips, the Historic District hotels are sold out (like on this trip), I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniekato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments and your business. We are about a mile from historic district, but we do price ourselves lower due to our location and we provide shuttle service to/from the historic district...plus (as you said) - we have FREE Parking! Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
284 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

From Marriott Platinum member -- nice Hotel. Average Marriott with very good restaurant. Rooms not great-- but not bad. Excellent Service. Concierge lounge had a nice breakfast. A little expensive - but it is Charleston.

Room Tip: Had a view of the ballpark and saw the fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJersey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments and your loyalty to Marriott Hotels. We appreciate the feedback and we will be completing a full "refresh" of our hotel this winter, beginning in November. Hope to see you again in future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing