We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good location for conference”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here for four nights. Clean room, nicely decorated with Old South charm. The conference rooms were comfortable (not freezing cold per usual). Open courtyard with palm trees made a good location for receptions. Front desk provided a free shuttle to downtown area with Rainbow Row houses and waterfront parks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    397
    191
    80
    37
See reviews for
236
355
40
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
memphis, tn
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Room 615 was small and the bathroom was even smaller. The carpet seemed dirty. The room was musty and felt like there might be a mold issue. My husband thought that the musty issue may have contributed to our inability to sleep well in the room. Didn't really like having to pay for Starbucks coffee each morning in the lobby; but had to have something to help wake me up after not sleeping well in the hotel room. There was a coffee pot in the room, but I don't like paper cups and powder creamer for my coffee when I am vacationing. The air conditioner never seemed to really work well in the room. I was up all night fumbling with the HVAC controls each night. I put the control on 72, then went to 70, then to 68, and so on until one night we put the control on 62. It never felt like the a/c control changed anything in the room. I asked for a room change after waking up our first morning in the room. The receptionist said, " Sure, we have another room for you on the Business Level." I asked if the bathroom was larger on the Business Level and was informed, "All the bathrooms are like that." I went to look at the new room. The room was the same (just as the lady told me) and the view was somewhat improved; but not worth a room change since the bathroom was as tiny on the business level as it was on the 6th floor. At check in, we were told, "Oh yes, the room has a view." When we got to the room, our room had a view--- it overlooked several mechanical units on the hotel's rooftop below our floor. Another area in need of improvement: there were no robes in the room for the guests to wear after showering or to lounge in. For the price, I think I would have enjoyed staying somewhere else even though we had a special group rate. On a positive note, the service in the banquet room was very good. It was unfortunate the rooms are in need of a facelift. The hotel's location was good. Parking was adequate. The lobby is nice. My suggestion: Stay at a local B&B in town or one of the cute boutique hotels/inns in Charleston unless you just have to stay at this Marriott to access your points for a free night.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you accept it. Don't bring too many items to leave in the bathroom (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback. I can't change the size of the bathrooms, but I'm sorry we didn't provide a better night's sleep. We will be "refreshing" the hotel rooms, lobby, restaurant and meeting facilities in 2014, including new thermostats. I will follow-up to make sure the HVAC unit in the room you occupied has been checked.
Thank you for your business and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

On arrival the valet won us ladies (mom daughter trip) over with compliments! The hotel was very nice and beautifully decorated. Loved the terrace on the rooftop. The most convenient thing about this location was there were 2 options for getting around besides using our own car. The hotel offers a shuttle, and they may want to consider a drop off point to be the market,...and there is also public transportation in the form of a trolley looking bus. We frequented the Starbucks located in our hotel which was good but does not take the Starbucks card. I would have liked to have tried the restaurant in the Marriott, it seemed like it had a great menu, but no time...off to see the sites!

Our room had everything we needed EXCEPT a remote that actually changed the channels. Our toilet had some issues but they were quick to help with that. Nice quiet room. When we first arrived we thought the adjoing door of our room would be an issue because we could hear the people in there but they must have checked out. Only 2 cups of coffee in our room for the 4 of us coffee drinkers. This all could be overlooked because you are not going to have perfection everywhere.

Overall a great trip and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the great comments and review of your visit. We pride ourselves on delivering great service and sounds like "first impressions" were great! I will also provide the points about coffee to our Operations team so that we can address appropriately. Thank you for your business and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Marriott always comes through for a good stay. It was Homecoming weekend - it was packed - but the service was always good. The rooftop lounge is a great place to watch the sun set over the river. It's walking distance to The Citadel, Johnson Hagood Stadium, and Joe Riley Baseball Park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elcid81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. The Citadel provides alot of great business opportunities for us and we enjoy hosting great events. Homecoming is always a big weekend for us and glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again next year! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a classic, old-style Marriott business center/resort. It has all the amenities needed for a conference as well as a restful stay. The restaurants are OK, but you can do FAR BETTER by going into downtown Charleston, about 2 miles (3.5 km) away. The hotel offers a shuttle service at the cost of $6/day (not bad). The hotel service and personnel were excellent, and there are no complaints to offer. Everyone was friendly and responsive.

As far as the room, the windows were full of condensation in the morning, meaning the air conditioning was not doing its job, meaning the room was molding and musty. Not Good!!! Everyone complained of the same thing... being congested in the morning. So, while the room was quiet and the bed very comfortable, sleep was disrupted due to congestion from mold. An allergy pill fixed this, but it is not something one should have to think about. Furthermore, wearing white socks made it obvious that the carpeting was very dirty, as the bottom of the white socks became black and dirty within and hour or two. Not good!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBezig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your visit. I appreciate the honesty and the "good" and "not so good" about your visit. Being a wet climate, we do experience great weather changes this time of year (early spring as well), with warm days and cool nights. Condensation & allergies are both prevalent in these seasons and creates issues.
Thank you again for providing your feedback and I will share your comments with our Housekeeping department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Could not use the cart to take our bags up or down after our stay. The parking was not well thought out. You had to walk a long way to your car. 175$ a night and no ESPN 2. What gives? If you have free points stay there. If not go some place else.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scbrave22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you were disappointed in your visit. Due to the layout of the building (since 1978), we have some parking in front, along with accessible parking. Most of our parking is in rear of building. We do offer valet parking as well. The issue with bell carts - we provide luggage service and will allow carts to be used by customers when available. If all are carts are in use due to business levels, we must handle all luggage so that our Bellstaff has cart(s) available when customers need assistance.
I am sorry you were disappointed in your visit...I can assure you we are a better hotel than what you experienced and hope you will give us another opportunity for your business in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice Marriott property at half the price of most "in town" hotels. Less than 2 mile car or taxi ride on one road into town and dining. (Actually a nice run to the Battery with sidewalks the entire way). Best breakfast of our trip. Room was quiet, updated, but not large. Average workout facility, pleasant staff. Beautiful courtyard seating to soak in the afternoon sun.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishberry349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments...we do understand we are a couple minutes away from Historic District and price ourselves accordingly to the hotels downtown. We offer the shuttle downtown and we are also discussing expanding our services in the new year. Thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing