We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Soo Much!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a well worn CONVENTION Hotel geared for people who want to attend meetings all day, spend little time in the room and sleep at night. Bathroom is 4'x5' include the toilet. The windows in the rooms are sealed and our room smelled of overused disinfectant. It is 2 miles to the main part of town. You can take their shuttle for $6. This is a good hotel for a convention but not a good choice if you are doing a getaway weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunTravelAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your honest feedback and my apologies for not meeting your expectations. Our hotel does host alot of conventions, but we also tailor services to the individual leisure travelers, who are also a big part of our business. We are 5 minutes from the historic district and why we price ourselves competively lower than downtown hotels and we provide free parking and a shuttle for our customers. We will be completing a "room refresh" project in 2014 and hope you will give us another opportunity to win your business.
Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

After a long travel day this Hotel really hit the spot. Very comfortable rooms and excellent choices for relaxing indoors or outdoors with a end of the day cocktail. Convenient location downtown and great views as well. Breakfast was outstanding. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about our hotel. We do have an excellent outdooor space for relaxing by the pool or just in our courtyard...the Aqua Terrace rooftop bar is a bonus - especially during sunsets. Thank you for your business and look forward to seeing your again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. This hotel exemplifies what Marriott stands for. Professional and courteous staff that went above and beyond to take care of us. The young gentlemen who greeted us and took care of our car and luggage named Dixon, Adam and Clayton started and ended your day on a perfect note. They always asked if we needed directions, where to eat, anything else we can help you with. A great first impression. The rest of the staff were also very courteous and helpful in every way. The food was excellent and the pool and courtyard area are beautiful and inviting. Great places to sit, drink your coffee and relax and enjoy the view. The Aqua bar was a beautiful oasis and the food and drinks were excellent as well. The staff there were extremely attentive. We eagerly look forward to our next visit to this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citygirl1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Outstanding...thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and the great comments. We have an excellent staff and great to hear they are "making impressions" on customers. I will make sure that Dixon, Clayton and Adam receive your comments. Thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Quiet hotel about 2 -3 miles from downtown overlooking Ashley River. Very friendly staff - always giving their uptmost service. Free parking. The hotel provides a shuttle charging approx $6.00 per person to get to downtown, otherwise parked for $ 10.00.

I

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natimina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for posting your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide excellent service and the free parking for our hotel guests is also a perk not many other hotels provide in Charleston. Thank you for your business and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Charleston Marriott for a few days while visiting the city with friends. For the record I am a Marriott Platinum member but the hotel provided some nice extra services as this visit coincided with our wedding anniversary. They gave us a penthouse level room with a balcony and sent champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to our room and even gave us complimentary shuttle tickets for getting into the historic part of the city. Staff is courteous and competent and took good care of us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scansafatiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

thank you for spending your anniversary with us and "happy anniversary". Great to hear we made an impression on you with service and that we did "go the extra mile" to make your stay special on such an occasion. Thank you for your business and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stay at a Marriott every week, 3-4 nights per week. My experience with the staff at the Marriott in Charleston SC, was exactly what exceptional customer service should be. First it was Brittany that after hearing that it was a special occasion for my wife and I, took upon herself to send Champaign and chocolate strawberries to our room. Nice touch!
Then Clayton realizing that our car service left us without a ride to dinner, jumped in a van and took us personally to dinner and left us with his personal phone number to have him pick us up when we were done. Two great examples of finding a way to make a customer a customer for a life time. Other staff who made are stay great were Johanna, who helped me put together an itinerary for my stay, and Merideth at the bar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyguy60nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you!...we appreciate the business and hearing about the personal connection made from staff members. We talk about "going the extra mile" in service, so its great to hear that Brittany, Clayton, Joanna and Meredith made that happen. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I visited Charleston for our 12 year anniversary, and it couldn't have gone smoother. We stayed at the Marriott and it was perfect for us. It was quiet at night and during the day we could find the action pretty easily. The restaurants downtown were phenomenal - especially McGrady's. It was not cheap but it was worth every penny (~$150 for the both of us). The bellmen at the hotel were hilarious and informative. The housemaids were super efficient. The front desk was extremely happy to help us every time we approached them. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel and "happy anniversary"... Always great to hear feedback about our staff and the personal touches. Thank you for your business and hope to see you again on #13!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
1.6 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $160 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing