We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
spammmenot
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent stay. Worth another stop. Breakfast was great. Easy location. Staff very friendly.

Parking was the only down spot. Always a walk, doors on the far side of the hotel where parking is available are locked so you must walk around the hotel in the heat/rain/whatever.

Room Tip: We faced the ball park. Interesting seeing the games from afar, and a small bit of fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spammmenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor and the nice comments. I do appreciate the walk from the parking lot...unfortunately, the building layout and parking lot cannot be changed. We do lock down the doors for security reasons at night, but guestroom keys can swipe to open. We also offer valet parking at the front entrance at very reasonable cost to assist with parking.
Thank you for being a customer of Marriott Hotels and look forward to seeing you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    377
    179
    75
    36
See reviews for
220
329
38
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is a great alternative to staying in the historic center and is a fraction of the cost. It's only about 2 miles from the center and they have a shuttle for which you can buy tickets ($6 round trip) at the front desk. The hotel is updated throughout. The beds and pillows are so comfortable. The fitness center and pool are nice. We enjoyed the rooftop lounge which had a nice breeze in the evening and reasonably priced drinks. You could also self park in the garage for free. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deenmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the comments...we appreciate the feedback and so glad you enjoyed your visit to our property. Have a great summer and hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Everyone, from the desk clerk, concierge to the restaurant waitress, was professional, helpful, and welcoming. The room was large, clean, and well appointed. One small disappointment, though, we were charged for wi-fi during our stay.

We'll be staying there again, for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments about your experience at our hotel. We strive to be an excellent service & friendly hotel staff and its great to hear...we made a good impression on you! Thank you and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My entire family now is infested with scabies. me, my husband, my six month old, and 4.5 year old. The customer service while staying here was HORRIBLE the rooms are dirty! stains on the walls. Rooms smell like mildew and carry water condensation all over the windows. Hotel from HELL!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I am sorry about the skin condition your family has come down with. Scabies is an infection that is generally transmitted from person to person. If you feel you were stricken at hotel, I would trust we would be notified so that we could handle the situation with your family and also notify our pest control company to clear that particular guestroom (if there was an issue). I would not want any other guests to be effected by issue. According to your review, you were guest in May, but I am not aware of any claims for scabies. I am sorry if you were affected during your visit to Charleston, but without any sort of details or notification about issue, it is difficult to respond. Please notify hotel about details of issue at your earliest convenience.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Recently stayed at the Charleston Marriott for memorial day weekend and I am left sort of speechless. Not necessarily in a good way, nor a bad way, but just confused I guess. The hotel lobby and rooms were nice and seemed updated, but the area is near the Citadel and near what appears to be a semi-forgotten about area in Charleston. We had numerous small issues with our room, which were fixed by the staff so no need to make note of those. The room was not too clean, had stains on the sheets, furniture and windows, only the sheets were addressed the next day.

The one thing I guess I am trying to say is that even though the hotel seemed updated and new it still had an eerie feeling about it and you could tell that it gets left in the dust when it comes to Charleston charm. If you get this hotel for under 150.00 a night, I'd say it's a fair deal, anything more than that you're better off paying a little extra to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the Citadel if you want something to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hustedms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your experience at our hotel. Our hotel is located outside the "historic district", but we also price ourselves accordingly and create a better "price/value" for our customers. We also provide on-property free guest parking, which none of downtown properties provide. I appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale Estates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am a Marriott semi-regular and Rewards member but I impulsively decided to try Priceline to see if I could get some "fancy bargain" for a fun July 4 long weekend trip with my husband. I did just about everything wrong you could do on Priceline, but it still ended up a winner, thanks to the Charleston Marriott.

I "won" a room at this Marriott but for not much more, I could have booked a very nice room directly. I dreaded being stuck in a crappy room due to the Priceline booking since it was costing the hotel. I emailed the hotel's marketing director and GM and made a very nice plea for a nice room for my and my husband's special weekend. Boy did she EVER come through.

We got a very nice corner room, King size bed, very private, nice riverview with a BALCONY, 9th floor. Wow. I was so amazed. Later, one of the desk personnel told me that they held that room specially for us. I can't thank them enough for making a potential "fail" into a winner.

The hotel is very attractive, has a decent little gym, nice pool area, a cool rooftop bar on the 3d floor overlooking the river, the rooms are well appointed and the beds "heavenly" comfortable.

And the staff is amazing - from arrival to checkout (desk people, bartenders and servers, staff attending the pool, and any staff member you just passed in the hall or lobby), everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. The adorable woman who was no bigger than a minute at the front desk not only got us a cart for our bags & my husband's guitar, she took it up to the room herself.

And, I loved the area - yeah, it's not in the hubub of downtown Charleston (which can get pretty noisy!) but it's a very short drive to downtown. Use your nav app to find a parking garage or lot off the main drag & walk a little - it's good for you.

I'm a runner/walker and I loved walking & jogging around the area - I felt completely safe - ran along the river, through the Citadel campus and around Hampton park - very charming, older homes and shady (meaning from trees, not from sketchy people) neighborhood streets.

Next time, I'll direct book but I would most definitely stay at this lovely Marriott again.

Room Tip: Corner king balcony on a higher floor - 9th to 14th - can't be beat. We were over the rooftop ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progerz, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal customer of Marriott and the nice comments about your visit. Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend and we appreciate all the great comments about our service and staff....Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogansville, Georgia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our stay here was very enjoyable. The hotel and room decor was not your standard Courtyard look so that was refreshing. Nice courtyard area where they had live music for the 4th of July. Outdoor bar on the 3rd floor that was perfect at the end of the day. Very accommodating staff and drivers. The shuttle service to the downtown area was very convenient - we used it every day. Only negative is the size of the pool and sunning area. We weren't able to use it any of the days we were there as it was always full.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with the water view are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments about your visit and I'm sorry you weren't able to take advantage of our new pool area. We did enlarge the sundeck to accomodate alot more people. Thank you for your business over the holiday weekend and hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing