We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Military Classic - management questionable but employees great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #38 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Military Classic - management questionable but employees great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had my issues with this hotel at first. This is the first Marriott property that told me no. My son's school was playing basketball at Citadel and they told us they were getting rooms for a special rate. The hotel told me at first that we could have the same rate as the school as soon as the school sent in a contract. After weeks of calling and calling I was told that the rate was only for the team. Usually when a company likes Marriott gives you incorrect info, they still honor what they originally told you. They didn't. I complained to Marriott HQ and they contacted the hotel. Well basically the manager didn't give me the rate or a decent rate. I went online and got a much lower rate (not the original rate the team got). The hotel staff provided excellent customer service.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarbaby815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I am sorry for the confusion, but to clarify the issue...The University basketball team staying at hotel contracted rooms and signed contract for a specific number of rooms they would be responsible for. In exchange for agreeing to pay for specific number of rooms, the hotel offers special group rate. Group rates are not available to general public...only available group. The basketball team contracted only for their coaches & players - and did not contract rooms for parents or students.
I apologize for the confusion, but this is typical of any groups reserving blocks of rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    350
    169
    76
    34
See reviews for
211
317
36
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed 5 nights, arriving late Xmas Day. Beautiful lobby area, featuring a wonderfully constructed gingerbread house. King room was clean and spacious, although the bathroom was small as compared to some Courtyards. It's an easy 10 minute drive to downtown attractions and the Visitors Center on Meeting Street (we rented a car at the airport), so if you need a location that is walking distance from downtown, choose elsewhere, but it was fine for us, being located outside the "hustle and bustle" with ample free self-parking. Our "stay for breakfast" rate included a very good hot buffet breakfast in including expertly prepared made to order omelettes with unusual ingredients. All in all, a fine choice for us.

Room Tip: Although the king rooms appear identical, some rooms have tub/showers while others have showers only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights here and it was a very good experience. The lobby decor is beautiful and room was very nice and clean. The best thing about this hotel was the staff. In all of my travels, I don't think I've come across a nicer group of people. They are more than willing to help you out with anything you need (tour reservation, personal favorite restaurant recommendations, directions, taxis, helping remove stubborn tags off your luggage!). The only negative about this hotel is the location. Although in walking distance from downtown, it's not exactly in the heart of the city. There is a free shuttle that stops right outside the hotel however (DASH). The hotel provided free hot chocolate in the evenings and fruit infused water during the day which was a nice touch. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Dated and rooms not clean. Food in restaurant limited and poor quality. Wings cold when we sent back, one less returned. Bar closes before midnight on new yeara eve. Too many nice places in town to experience poor service

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReeveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Don't stay here and then complain if you wanted a walk-around-town location -- this isn't it. For access to the city you can use Charleston's free trolley (Brittlebank Park trolley stop just below the hotel driveway) or buy a day ticket on the Marriott shuttle @ $6pp. Or drive into town and park, it wasn't difficult to find space even over the holidays. Marriott's in a very good hub location if you're driving elsewhere in the metro area or need to be nearby the Citadel. Bellman/doorman was the first staff member we met, he gave us a very warm welcome; checkin desk staff were friendly and efficient. Public areas pretty with Christmas displays and live plants. Retro lobby decor/architecture gives a first impression of a much earlier 20th-century-modern hotel, sorta '60s-70s though this was built in 1980. Typical Marriott guestroom looking eastward over the park & marina, nice sunrise/moonset views. Hotel could use improved ventilation, windows, drapes and nearby carpet frequently wet from condensation, bathroom fan was very loud but ineffective and looked as if it had never been cleaned. Shower doors frequently jammed, shower tiles mildewed. Elevators and hallway carpets a bit shabby. In-room wifi $10/noon-to-noon. One printer and two-out-of-three pcs in the biz center down off and on. Two self-service washers and two dryers on 2nd floor @ $1/load, very handy. Didn't use the bar or restaurant. Overall a good holiday in Charleston and a good location for what we were doing, but not up to Marriott standards.

Room Tip: high floor, check carpet, drapes, and bathroom for mildew
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoOneWillAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just check out from the Marriot at Charleston, SC, I was surprise about the condition of the room, the toilet was linking, so, the floor was always wet, and smelling bad. There was an empty bottle of something behing our pillow, the room had a humidity smell, the windows were linking and the carpet in that area was wet.
Very poor Gold Members Lounge.
We asked to several people at the front desk about events for the New Years Eve and no body was prepare with information.
Definitly very poor and not satisfied with the service neither the condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tere h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is my third visit to Charleston and each time we have stayed at the Marriott with good reason. The service is impeccable, the rooms clean, the beds comfortable. They have a consierge lounge at the penthouse floor, and the views from there while sipping a drink and watching the sun set were spectacular. Also, just a short drive to the historic downtown area, where the shopping was fun, and the restaurants were amazingly good.

We were 1 1/2 hours driving distance from the hotel when I suddenly remembered that we had left money in the room safe. I called, and the manager, Ed, assured me that he would send me a money order for the cash ASAP. And YES, we will certainly continue to stay there.!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaMLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing