We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“nice place-better if you have a car” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“nice place-better if you have a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

this is a large box hotel with all the perks you would expect-good large comfortable rooms tho you hear hall and outside noises even on the upper floors. a $6 shuttle bus away from downtown.
nice pool, hot tub needs some work, good free parking and restuarants on site. staff very friendly and helpful--average value for money but id stay here again, the city was safe and fun to visit...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    367
    175
    75
    35
See reviews for
215
326
36
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

An excellent place to stay in Charleston if you want a full service hotel. All staff are friendly and attentive; rooms are a good size, restaurant & bar in the hotel, large lobby area and outdoor patio where you can gather with friends, and a hotel shuttle bus to historic area of Charleston. Most parking is in an outdoor lot, but there is a small covered garage.

Room Tip: Best views are from room on the South side (overlooks historic Charleston) or West side (overlooks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived after being in a plane for 24 hours We were escorted to the room It was not ready. We went down and fortunately they made a nice save when the bell man Nick got us upgraded and back in the room. Room was fabulous
The problem with the hotel is it is not downtownl. You need to get a ride that will cost you ten dollars to get to the historic district. They hire services and we found that on our last day the person who was to drive us to the airport did not show up!
So keep in mind you will pay extra for getting down town and Wi Fi

Room Tip: Room with views of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for a night during a recent roadtrip across the south. Excellent hotel. It is huge which is jsut as well as there was a conference going on at the time, but we were able to avoid the conference goers. Our room was very comfortable with a superb kings size bed. The rooftop bar (on the 4 floor) is great and have a number of fireplaces to keep you warm at night. Facilities are good, including a lovely pool and hottub. Only drawback with the location as it's not within walking distance of Charleston downtown. The hotel does run a shuttle bus every half hour which only take 10 minutes and is arund $12 per person. Ample parking which was free. Wifi not included and expensive.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing towards the marina otherwise you just get a view of the car parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 10/11/12. Room was spacious, quiet and clean. What you expect from Marriott. The only issue I had was that they wanted to charge for WI-FI in the room. I have stayed in many less expensive hotels and never had to pay for the internet. The business center(wi-fi was supposed to be free here but wasn't) is badly in need of an upgrade. Computers are out of date and difficult to manage. Location is convenient to downtown, a ten minute drive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavTap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesboro, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I spent a recent weekend (Saturday and Sunday of Oct. 6th and 7th) at the Charleston, SC Marriott. The facilities were very pretty and the room was clean and elegant. The only problem: While you pay a high price for staying at a Marriott, you are treated like you are the "poor cousins" that they allowed to come and grace their facilities. While regarding itself as a full-service hotel, they expect you to pay for a bottle of water placed in the restroom and the internet, which is free at lower priced hotels. ( This after paying almost $400 for two nights in October) The eclectic restaurant on the facility was just pretending to be fancy - the food was average at best. I ordered a crabcake with guacamole and black bean corn salsa. I counted the black beans in the salsa- there were 13! and less corn. The crab cake was the size of a silver dollar. hysterical.....and we weren't asked for drink orders....just had water. We also were awakened by the maid at 9:00 a.m. expecting that we were gone. If you want to pay to be snobbed- then this is the place. By the way, everywhere else we were in Charleston we were treated very well. The prices are high there but at least at everywhere but the Marriott, you got what you paid for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 9/06-9/08 2012. It was not as close to historical area as i thought. It is not within walking distance to anything, but price is about $100 cheaper each nite than all those historical area hotels, and just as nice. It is very nice, all main areas lobby, restaurant, hallways, etc, look new, grand looking. The rooms are good, (but i have stayed in Marriott rooms that were nicer), they kinda looked a little old for a Marriott. Although, I have no complaints about the rooms. All service was great. Restaurant food good, and prices weren't high, were reasonable. They have free parking which is hard to find in that area. The best thing is that they have a shuttle service for $6 per day unlimited trips to/from historical district all day long 8a-10:45p unlimited trips. Nice pool. Great outside area for sitting around relaxing, having drinks, etc. No complaints. Would stay there again. One negative is they have a computer to look up tourist info, tours, restaurants etc. no paper brochures you can just pick up and take to room with you to look over and make decisions. No Complaints.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarribeanBound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and Odigeo so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing