We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Indigo Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$305
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$323
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveler rating
677
301
61
22
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
301
61
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesegreat locationbeautiful courtyardsmall lobbyrooms facecrackerswithin walking distancehot dishyogurthistoric districton site parkingnice breakfasthappy hourdowntown charlestonhard boiled eggstwo queen bedsafternoon wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
650 - 655 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I do a bunch of traveling. When I stay in NYC I expect modern and fast paced, Paris-love to smell the bread being baked next door, Florida a view of the beach and when in Charleston....I want charming and clean. Besides that you get friendly and helpful as well as wine & cheese in the courtyard at 5:00 daily. I would recommend it and stay there again. Understand, its not a posh hotel...its a charming inn!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThewolsonLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you, ThewolsonLI, for your review of the Indigo Inn!!! We are appreciate that you recognize the charming ambience, and look forward to being able to accommodate you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Indigo Inn is a hidden gem. Recently visited Charleston with a fellow retired educator. After contacting several hotels in the historic area we were at the end of our rope. Stopped in the Indigo Inn's parking lot to Google hotels in the Historic District. We realized that we were looking at a hotel. Ran in and asked if they had a room. They even took us to look at the available room. It was charming, quiet, cool, and very comfortable. Jerrica, Lorenzo, and the rest of the staff were wonderful!!!!!!!!!!. They made recommendations for dining and activities. and booked any needed reservations. They were spot on with ALL of their recommendations. Breakfast and Happy Hour were fantastic. Will stay again and will strongly recommend it to any one who will listen. Connie

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GoLions1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

We are pleased that you found the Indigo Inn, Connie. Thank you for the kudos and the recommendation. Our staff aims to please and will appreciate knowing that were of help to you.
Until next time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

On a no kids vacation we stayed at the Indigo Inn based on some Trip advisor reviews. It was just as advertised. The front desk staff was great and gave super meal and activity suggestions. The rooms were spacious and well kept (the bathroom is a bit small). The breakfast is more than plenty to start your day and always had a hot dish. Each evening was a wine and cheese reception. The AAA price for a King room can't be beat. We were within walking distance to everything and a free trolley stop. The courtyard is quaint and a great place to eat breakfast or just relax.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, Wendy K!!! We hope to see you on a return visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

this hotel has friendly staff, charming lobby and rooms; beautiful hidden courtyard with ample seating to enjoy plants, flowers and fountain and talk about our trip; queen room was very comfortable, sofa for seating, clean and nicely decorated; our bed was turned down with chocolate left for us; cocktail hour - lemonade, tea, wine, fruit and cheese, as well as crab dip available each afternoon; enjoyed relaxing in courtyard after exploring city; location of hotel is convenient to King St shopping, exploring architecture of Charleston and a lot of wonderful restaurants nearby; breakfast was also included with our stay - scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, yogurt and cereal, as well as juice and coffee were provided. Rather than take to our room, we enjoyed our morning meal in the beautiful courtyard. An extra fee required for parking but we paid it to have guaranteed parking if we decided to do any driving during our stay. It was worth it. This hotel is a fabulous value and a hidden gem! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: our room on 2nd floor corner was quiet, overlooked parking lot
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pammieannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you, Pamela L, for your review of the Indigo Inn's atmosphere and amenities, and of Charleston!!! We are pleased that you enjoyed the courtyard at different times of the day, and we look forward to your next visit when you visit Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Indigo Inn was absolutely fantastic. Every staff member we met was friendlier than the next. We arrived before check-in and the folks at the front desk offered to watched our bags and gave us tons of sightseeing tips and recommendations. They had fantastic tips and directed us to a hole-in-the-wall locally sourced restaurant where my husband and I had the best crepe we have ever eaten. One day, we were chatting with the front desk staff about going to a restaurant for lunch and the gentleman offered to drive us in the hotel's golf cart. Southern hospitality is alive and well.

The room was lovely and really felt like home. It had all of the amenities of a modern hotel room, with the charm of B&B. There is a very pretty courtyard in the center of all the rooms with lots of foliage and a nice fountain. We enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast as well as cheese and wine that was offered daily in the early evenings. The rooms were clean and the maid service came every day; including a turn-down service, which is always a nice touch. There was coffee, iced tea, lemonade, and water available all day in the lobby, which was extremely helpful to come back to after a hot day walking around the city.

The location cannot be beat. It is right in the heart of historic Charleston, so everything is walkable. We flew in and did not rent a car, and it was no problem at all! The hotel is only about 30 minutes from the airport, so the cab ride back and forth was not too expensive (our only cab ride of the trip!) In addition to the open air market, which is basically steps away from the hotel, there was also a Farmer's Market just a few blocks away. We really enjoyed our time there and got some goodies to take home on the last day.

I highly, highly recommend the Indigo Inn to anyone who is traveling to Charleston. We were so sad to leave it, but we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Alyssa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of the Indigo Inn, and of Charleston!!! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and in Charleston. Thank you for the recommendation, and we will see you again on the next go-around!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews