We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Inn!”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Rocky Top, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible Inn!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at this quaint inn with my 2 daughters. Incredible service, perfect location & very cozy rooms! Breakfast was decent (typical yogurt, muffins & a couple of hot offerings). We loved being able to dine in the courtyard while listening to the fountain. Beds were extremely comfortable & the shower was great. Couldn't ask for a better stay! Wish it could have been longer. We have found our go-to place to stay for all future Charleston visits!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Crystalpalmetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Crystalpalmetto, and look forward to your next visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    280
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
197
482
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I booked this little inn as a short getaway for myself and my mom. I wanted something that was close enough to where we didn't have to drive anywhere, but not too big so we could really appreciate the charm that makes charleston, charleston.
Boy, did we find all of that and more at the Indigo Inn.
Immediately upon checking in, my mom loved the decor. It was very classic and traditional. The furniture was wonderful and it actually felt more like we were staying with at a friend's place than a hotel.
We loved the complimentary wine and cheese reception every evening - which included much more than wine and cheese.
The deluxe breakfast was a great way to start every morning saving time and money.
The little courtyard in the middle of the space kept the noise level down and made sleeping easy.
The location was exactly what we needed. Only two blocks from market street, right across the street from the famous Hyman's Seafood, three blocks from the great shopping and directly next to the wonderful Fig restaurant.
The waterfront was so close as well. We literally were able to walk anywhere we wanted.
We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our mini vacation.
When we return to Charleston, there is no other place we will stay.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Many thanks for your thorough review of the Indigo Inn and of Charleston, Marstarr. We welcome you on your next visit to Charleston!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend in Charleston at the Indigo Inn. We were amazed at the room (2 doubles) size and felt the art on the wall (fish) was a good omen...we're both pisces and were celebrating dual birthdays! The room was well appointed, and yes, the bathroom area WAS very small! The shower was great though, with huge, soft towels. The room was very clean. The entire staff, from check-in, to check-out was outstanding. Very friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Our room was ready for early arrival. The afternoon wine and cheese was very nice. Unfortunate that our first night it was cold and rainy, so the lobby was crowded, but not much you can do. Breakfasts were very good, especially the potato bake. All-in-all, I can't imagine a better place to stay in Charleston. And, to top it off, the price was well below that of other downtown properties. Yes, we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
HAPPY BIRTHDAYS, TRx2!!! Thank you for your thoughtful comments, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Charleston has many hotels and choices from very inexpensive to very expensive. Being an experienced traveler, and having stayed in many super luxurious hotels, as well as inns and basic hotels, I write this review with much admiration for the Indigo Inn, the staff especially the manager.
Being very busy I usually don't find the time to write a review on tripadvisor. I do use it for suggestions and really should be more diligent about writing reviews, because it is a wonderful tool for travelers. But I felt strongly about taking the time to write a review for the my stay here.
The Indigo Inn is a great value in a great location, easy walking distance to everything in Charleston. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. They took all my room requests seriously and gave us a room we asked for.The sound of the fountain in the pretty courtyard is wonderful.The parking is convenient, right out front. You can park your own car and not have to valet it. They have a wine and cheese reception in the afternoon and breakfast in the morning. With all of these things what more can you ask for.
Only one more thing and one of the most important when traveling. A great staff that makes you feel welcome and a manager who not only wants you to feel welcome but who really wants to please you.
I had a slight issue with a charge which the manager took care of right away. When I realized it was my fault and not the hotels I called to have it adjusted and the manager was so accommodating that I had to take this time to write this review. This is what customer service is all about, and how every hotel should be managed. This was a wonderful experience and left a nice memory that I will always remember.
Thank you for a very pleasant stay, for the warm welcome, and for a staff and manager that makes all the difference. Great experience in Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
You are most welcome, travelsbest. We feel honored that your experience at the Indigo Inn and in Charleston was so positive that you took your time to share it. Thank you, and we hope that you will be able to return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here in a king room for two nights and were very satisfied.

Our room had a very pleasant decor and had two upholstered chairs to avoid reclining on the bed. Unlike many, the wall/window heating/air-conditioning unit was pleasantly quiet. We were able to sleep well. The only complaint on the room was the bathroom which had a small room for the toilet and shower - there was little room for door clearance which made room entry and exit a little awkward.

The inn is built around an open court yard with a fountain and small pond - there are many tables and cushioned chairs to enjoy its ambiance. Unfortunately during our stay it was cold and rainy so we were unable to take advantage of it and this led to another minor problem. The lobby is quite small which created competition for seating space during the afternoon Happy Hour and the morning breakfast since outdoor seating was not available.

The Happy Hour was typically wine, cheeses, crackers, fruit, perhaps a pasta dish - all of it quite good. The breakfast was also quite good - pastries, fruit, juices, hardboiled eggs, pancakes, croissant ham and cheese sandwich, yogurt, etc.

The inn is located a couple of blocks from the market area and is a short walk to many tourist attractions. Many very good restaurants can be walked to in a few minutes.

I would not hesitate to book this inn again - it was a good choice based on TripAdvisor reviews.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flylikeahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, flylikeahawk. Perhaps on your next visit the weather will be warmer so that you may take advantage of the courtyard!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

If you don't mind walking 15m to your destination, Indigo Inn is absolute perfection. Although we did not take advantage of all that they had to offer (breakfast, evening wine/cheese, etc) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was easy to get to and fairly central to most of our destinations. It was about a 10m walk to the nearest free-Trolly station, which didn't end up being bad, unless you spend your entire day walking. The rooms were very comfortable and accommodating. The price you couldn't beat. I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance -- they have the best prices in town but they do go up the closer to the date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Elizabeth P!!! Hope to see you again when you are visiting Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Allowed us to check in early. Room was lovely and spacious with period decoration. Location could not be better. Breakfast was more than adequate if not unique and the wine and cheese in afternoon was a very nice touch. Also having lemonade, coffee or tea available all day was very pleasant. Absolutely the entire staff from the custodial to the manager were gracious, friendly and obviously devoted to customer service. Each had a smiling face and a pleasant word of greeting. Will stay here again when visiting Charleston. Good value and great staff; can one ask for more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patito217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Our entire staff is devoted to our guests, and they will appreciate knowing that you were pleased with your service, Patito217. Thank you for your commendations, and we look forward to seeing you again!!! (We are pet friendly, if you like to vacation with your dog.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,783 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing