We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Loved this bed and breakfast... great location, beautiful rooms and a daily wine and cheese hour....a great find in the beautiful city of Charleston.....The location proved to be the best benefit of all

Room Tip: Only has 3 king beds... rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Indigo Inn!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    267
    54
    18
    11
See reviews for
187
460
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place! Staff was helpful and service was flawless. Enjoyed wine and cheese in the eclectic lobby. Courtyard was charming and serene. Room was up to date and comfortable. Breakfast was first rate. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sanibel_sadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write!!! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The Indigo Inn is a very good value with a very good location in Charleston. Strengths: location, very reasonable rates for Charleston, easy parking, friendly staff. Our room was very small and kind of dark, but nicely updated. The shower was very nice. We had a first floor room near the front desk and vending and we were initially concerned that it might be noisy, but that was never a problem. We did choose to keep the windows covered though, with all of the foot traffic right outside our windows, and that made a small room seem smaller. The free breakfast was well above average, and the easy on-site parking was great. We mostly walked around town, but we did drive out to see plantations, and there was a space for us when we came back. Since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyhow, and the courtyard was very pleasant, I thought the Indigo Inn was a great value in a city where you can spend a lot more money on hotel rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nestled at the intersection of Maiden Lane and the famous Meeting Street in the heart of Old Charleston this boutique hotel is truly a hidden jewel. All rooms (three floors of about a dozen rooms per floor) look out onto a lovely courtyard, away from city traffic, yet only steps to the famous market, top-notch restaurants, the French Quarter and within walking distance of the Fort Sumter museum and boat boarding facility. Buffet breakfast as well as evening wine and cheese, are sumptuous and tastefully presented. Guests may dine in the privacy of their room or in the courtyard. Park you car (fee) safely steps from the front door, never to return until you depart Charleston.

Room Tip: Request a first floor room, insuring that it is not in the hidden corner that does not look out into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stingaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of Charleston and the Indigo Inn!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Indigo Inn was a great find for our 4 night visit to Charleston. The inn offers charming, affordable B-and-B type luxury in the heart of the historic downtown, just a couple short blocks from the Market, yet extremely quiet. Our room on the 3nd floor was nicely appointed, featuring a most comfortable (high) king bed, and beautifully upholstered matching chairs. Service is impeccable throughout, from the cordial front desk staff to the efficient yet unobtrusive housekeeping. The daily complimentary breakfast and evening wine & cheese in the beautiful courtyard is a nice touch and a offers a chance to meet your fellow travelers. The location could not be better, a leisurely walk to waterfront park, or boutique shopping along King St, or to view historic homes along Tradd St and the Battery. There are many casual and fine restaurants within a couple blocks of the Inn. And the free CARTA trolley/bus, which affords access to just about any place of interest on the peninsula, has a stop just a block away. I highly recommend Indigo Inn for anyone traveling to Charleston.

Room Tip: Each room is uniquely furnished, and all surround the beautiful courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyupstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind and thorough review of Charleston and the Indigo Inn, and for your recommendation!!! We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great place to explore Charleston, walking distance to many restaurants and the city market. Parking is onsite and we really didn't need to use our car Lovely room overlooking the courtyard. Good bed, nice linens and really well appointed . Happy hour with wine and cheese was a nice touch. Expanded continental breakfast was very good. Great staff at the front desk, all in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelpigOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments!!! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Charleston, and we couldn't have been more pleased with this charming inn. The courtyard provided a lovely setting for enjoying breakfast and "happy hour" in the afternoon -- both complimentary. We actually did not even need to use our car, as the inn was within walking distance to great restaurants, shopping on King St., free trolley stop. The staff was most accommodating. Our room was tastefully decorated, king bed and updated bathroom. Our entire experience in Charleston was quite enjoyable, and we will recommend this inn to our friends. We hope to visit The Indigo Inn and Charleston again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrankandPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and recommendations!!! We are pleased that you found us, and hope that you can return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,702 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing