We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn in great location”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Bertrange
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely inn in great location”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I loved the courtyard. A great place to relax. My room was lovely with very comfy bed. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of variety. Location perfect. Parking lot for $12 a day. Only complaint was weak coffee! I like my coffee strong. Price was good. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: My sister had a lovely roomy corner room 301. Request rooms above ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippinlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We apologize that the coffee was not as strong as you like it. Thank you for your feedback and for the recommendation!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    280
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
197
482
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poinciana, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We've been to Charleston several times and usually stay at our favorite hotel. This time we wanted to do something different so after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to stay at Indigo Inn. We were warmly greeted at the front desk. We were issued a parking pass ($12.00/night) and were off to our room on the 2nd floor. The Inn is old and small. I like the idea of a smaller lodging -less crowds and more personal. Our room was rather small, but there was a sofa, chair and we had a queen size bed all in the living area. The bed was very comfortable and made for a great nights sleep. The a/c unit was noisy but I guess it goes with the Inn being old. The bathroom looked like it was in a closet - right next to the bed. Again, rather small, but for the amount of time you spend in the room, it was okay. Shower was large with plenty of hot water. Toilet area was a bit tight if you closed off the door to the vanity area. A free breakfast was served in the small lobby area. Usual breakfast items. Food could be enjoyed in the outdoor garden area or could be brought up to your room. Wine, cold drinks, cheese & crackers in the afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Sept. It was quiet and comfortable. Close walking distance to the charm of Charleston night life. My only complaint was the cleaning products that we could smell when the air conditioner was on. The room had a strong smell of chemicals. Turning the air conditioner off seemed to fix the smell.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and your suggestion about the chemical smell!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My daughter and I spent our second trip to Charleston at Indigo Inn for five nights. We previously stayed at Fulton Lane Inn and loved it but wanted to try something different and a bit less expensive. Beds are comfortable, towels are plentiful and soft, plenty of drawer space and yes the rooms are small but for two women we had no trouble at all. Two large comfortable chairs, plenty of room on the vanity, somewhat small closet but it worked. Bath area extremely small but not a deal breaker. Lovely courtyard as everyone has mentioned with a net over it to keep out birds. Nice breakfast buffet - larger on weekends with casseroles, one day potato casserole, the next day egg casserole - but weekdays a large variety of breads, mini biscuits and ham, assorted fruit (one day mixed fruit and then grapes, another day mixed fruit and watermelon), coffee, orange juice, yogurt - just all very nice. Everyone there is friendly and helpful and we loved the location being two blocks from North Market Street. Parking on-site was easy and never had a problem finding a space. We spent one day on Folly Beach and another day at Boone Hall at the Scottish Festival and very easy access back to the Indigo Inn. We loved it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TnCatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review!!! We look forward to your next visit to Charleston and the Indigo Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I , along with another couple, spent three days at the Indigo Inn. What a great place! It's almost like a B&B with its beautiful garden court and outstanding rooms. We didn't find a thing that we were unhappy with.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackjack33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed the Indigo Inn and its surroundings!!! Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boydton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a lovely inn with an old world feel. The staff were very nice and accommodating and the evening reception and morning breakfast make this a fantastic value. Situated right in the middle of the historic district and only 1 block from the free trolley stop you couldn't ask for a better location. The rooms are a bit cramped even for 2 people and could benefit from better lighting for those of us who like to read and perhaps less furniture (our room had a large dresser and a large cabinet for the TV with drawers. The beds were comfortable and quaint in that you needed a step stool to get in! The courtyard is lovely with a water fountain and plenty of comfortable benches. Our room was clean, very quiet and the service wonderful.

Room Tip: our room had an interior window facing the courtyard and was on the third floor - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feltsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and suggestions!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed at Indigo Inn on overnight stop in Charleston. Found good reviews on Tripadvisor and thank all contributors for the heads up about this jewel. When trying to book online originally came up with no availability but website says to call in person. They were wonderful on the phone and able to book us right away.

Arrived before lunchtime and given parking pass for hotel eliminating the potential headache of Charleston parking. We asked front desk clerk about lunch recommendations and he suggested Cru cafe just a couple blocks away. He even called them himself and secured our table. (Terrific food by the way).

We were traveling with our teenage daughter and needed room with 2 beds. Room was comfortable and convenient. We enjoyed the courtyard both during the wine and cheese hour and in the morning for breakfast.

This is not a chain/box hotel. Don't expect every room to be cookie cutter. It's in an older building that is not a standard shape. The consequence in character. We call that a plus! The price was quite reasonable.

We've recommended this to many friends and at least two couples have or shortly will stay there too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank divedocmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review and recommendation!!! We look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,783 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing