We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Inn with cute courtyard and awesome location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Inn with cute courtyard and awesome location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our room could have certainly used a little TLC and a deep clean of the floor. It wasn't bad....but the location is just awesome for a stay in the city!!!

The service was great, and one of the gentleman at the front desk was especially great! The complimentary breakfast was fine, but what was great about the experience was you could bring your food into the courtyard to enjoy the gardens, fountain and fresh air. We really enjoyed that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingT137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    217
    42
    17
    11
See reviews for
166
373
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had never been to Charleston before, and wanted to be in the heart of the historic downtown area. Booked the Indigo Inn based on its location and the quaint description. It did not disappoint. We arrived early and yet a room was available on the third floor (elevator is available). Rooms surround a courtyard with tables chairs and sofas. Open to the sky. Netting above keeps the birds out. The room was cute, had a nice closet. Bath area was separated by louvered doors. Shower and toilet separated again by a door from the sink area. Bath had been updated. Bed had an historic four poster high up off the floor. They even had steps you could pull over to climb into the bed (queen). Window overlooked the parking area, but let a lot of light in as it faced east. Great touch with breakfast in the lobby with hot food(eggs, bacon, sausage some days), pastries, bagels, toast, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee, tea. Lemonade, ice tea, available all day, and wine and fruit and cheeses available from 5-6:30 each afternoon. Very short walk to most of the popular restaurants, Market, churches, historic sights and so on. Ignatius checked us in and we found the staff very friendly. The housekeeping was terrific and they even turn down your bed and leave chocolate mint sticks by your bedside. Was everything we wanted.

Room Tip: No noise on the parking lot side, but bright in the morning. We had a third floor corner room. A/C w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMHvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reviewCharleston and the Indigo Inn. We are pleased that your needs were met in a positive experience, and we trust that you will consider the Indigo Inn again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Three of us spent a 4 night girls' vacation in Charleston in April, 2013. There are numerous options for lodging in Charleston and we chose the Indigo Inn based on availability, price, and location. We really lucked out! Others have described the excellent location, continental breakfast, wine & cheese happy hour, and the charming courtyard. We enjoyed all of these features. Our room was on the ground floor away from the reception area and we were not bothered by noise from the courtyard. I would especially like to note the excellent staff. Julie in particular was most helpful to us whether it was giving directions, recommending restaurants, or arranging tours. Charleston is a beautiful city to visti and I highly recommend a stay at the Indigo Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Hfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again, shuold you ever visit Charleston!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We came for 3 nights for our 20th anniversary. We normally travel with kids and use a large chain hotel. Ot was refreshing to stay in a boutique hotel. The rooms are arranged around a beautiful courtyard. Eberything is painted teal and tuqioise. A large fountain and pool provide a matural white noise for the courtyard tables which are open for continentsl nreakfast and happy hour wine and cheese...both complimentary. We were steps from Meeting and King streets and pleasant walks to the Battery wherethr historic districts lie. The room was comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bef was very comfortable and the room was very quiet.
Staff is excellent and congenial. Starbucks lovers will find 3 locations nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peppersclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Happy Anniversary!!! We are pleased that your stay and special occassion are memorable.
We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was a nice place to stay for a night, it was in a great location, but the rooms were a little weird, the bed was right there when you walked into the door, and the shutters on the windows looking out onto the ground courtyard were the best choice to give you privacy. The girl at the front desk was not the brightest bulb, a little rude or showed any real interest in being a welcoming front desk attendant. She charged the wrong credit card after she told us she didn't but when we got home & looked (she did) and called them the man who answered the phone fixed it right away and was very nice. I don't know if I would stay there for a long amount of time, the bathroom was SO small if you are on the bigger side you'd have major issues in it, I am very tiny & I had trouble finding a place to stand when I shut the door. Typically tourist hotel in a beach town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura0299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home comp
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

stayed for 2 nights in april 2013, luved it great location, wonderful staff, would def stay again, luved the courtyard. I cant say enough, going back in sept. The markt is right around the corner, staff willing to help make reservations for dinner.Coffee available in office in am.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksantos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write; looking forward to your return visit in Sept!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have to agree with the majority of these reviews and tell you that you will be pleasantly surprised to find such a bargin in the middle of town. You are within walking distance to many of the city's attractions and certainly shopping and restaurants. The rooms are clean and the service is excellent. It has a very nice inner courtyard where you can eat and drink and relax, of course, this is weather permitting. You also have access to TV and free wifi. All in all a good place to stay. There is an elevator to second and third floors. All inclusive breakfast and wine and cheese later in the afternoon is a nice touch.

Room Tip: I liked being on the third floor so you can be farther away from the first floor activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeleneUSA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for you comments!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,480 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,784 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing