We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Another Great Stay at the Indigo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay at the Indigo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Indigo Inn many times. Family owned, each room is charming and each room is unique. About as far from a big chain as you can get. Location is perfect for walking to historic buildings and excellent restaurants. Staff are wonderful. If the weather is nice, the courtyard is a great place to enjoy your complimentary breakfast or evening wine. Parking is safe and easy to access your car if necessary.

Rooms are built around the courtyard so the only downside is that they are a bit dark. Will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarthaS194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We appreciate your return visits, and your comments!!! You are gracious guests and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    214
    41
    17
    11
See reviews for
159
369
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The inn is very conveniently located the staff is very courteous. The evening reception and courtyard was nice. We did stay in a pet friendly room. I pulled back the covers and it was obvious by the dog hair that the sheets were not changed from previous guest on the first night of our staff. The staff was very apologetic. They did come and change the sheets late at night and did offer to change us to a different room. We did not change rooms because we did not want to move after settling in with our baggage. As we do pay extra to bring a pet, I do expect the room to be cleaned better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connersville, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Indigo Inn has charm as well as a great location for walking to the market, shops and restaurants. The staff is excellent showing southern hospitality at its finest. The rooms are quaint with comfortable beds, and the courtyard is the perfect place for eating the delicious breakfast. There is a large parking lot as you enter from the cobblestone alley. We truly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback; we look forward to seeing you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely little inn conveniently located. Rooms are charming and clean, staff is courteous, the wine and cheese in the evenings and morning breakfast are added treats. On-site parking is another plus as is the lovely courtyard. This is the second time I've stayed there and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Looking forward to serving you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Great Charlestown feel, perfect location, staff was friendly and room clean and comfy. Parking on site was convenient, and breakfast in the mornings was simple and delicious.
The decor in the room is classic South Carolina chic, and it makes you feel right at home. The bed was comfortable. I loved the peaceful garden at the center of the hotel. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and would absolutely go back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dsgnr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and for allowing us to meet your lodging needs. We look forward to your future visits!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Based on other Tripadvisor reviews, we chose to stay here for an overnight in Charleston, and we made the right decision. Off-season rates were great. There was complimentary parking, and an easy walk to the sites in this eminently walkable city. Plus, the inn had plenty of Charleston charm, with courteous staff and a large center courtyard featuring bistro tables and fountains quietly burbling. It being just after Christmas, a red poinsettia on each table was a thoughtful yet subtle touch. Our (quiet and clean) room had a four-poster bed and other quaint furnishings, plus a spacious, updated bathroom. You could help yourself to breakfast, included in the price of the room, in the lobby: warm biscuits, "homemade" blueberry coffee cake, fresh fruit, cereal, etc. We liked being able to walk to a fine dinner at Cru and stroll across the street to the rustic and delightful O'Hara and Flynn Wine Bar. We'd be happy to return to Indigo Inn on our next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewel1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We appreciate your candor and the decision you made to lodge with us!!! Looking forward to seeing you again when you visit Charleston. Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

First stay and even though I knew the Limehouse's have high standards, this was more than I expected. My new place to stay.
The front desk welcomes you and is prepared for your visit. If you like English inns it will be a wonderful reminder of that country.
The rooms are decorated to standards you'd expected in a top Charleston Hotel. Attention to every detail.
Wine and cheese in the evening and the crab salad is worth being greedy about.
Friendly and respectful staff throughout.
Having your bed prepared for the evening with lovely chocolate mints on your bedside table are added touched not expected.
Wonderful soaps, luxury towels. Very good shower. It's all wonderful

Room Tip: Rooms that face the court yard, which in itself is a aesthetic delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Indigo Inn with us!!! We are pleased that our facitily, amenities and staff exceeded your expectations, we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing