We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably nice and good value place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Reasonably nice and good value place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We used this mostly as a base for a short trip to Charleston. We got a nice view but it was a touch noisey with the bridges outside and given that we couldn't open the balcony door/window the smell of damp wasn't great. However, it was cheap and had free breakfast coffee and did have a shuttle bus into town, even though parking was pretty good in town. If u want convenience and above average luxury stay in town but on the whole ok.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbloke2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    361
    223
    94
    64
See reviews for
267
392
44
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

You know it's gonna be good when you walk in & have been upgraded to a suite a no additional charge. The suite was large and had a living area and bed in a large open space. It had a nice sized bathroom & a separate area with a small fridge & sink.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Pros: Great Location
Great View
Free Shuttle to historic district
excellent staff--friendly, helpful

Cons: Rooms a little small
hotel is showing its age a bit; needs a reno

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prosecutor24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

This place treated us wonderfully! Beautiful views on the top floor nice pool and exercise room... Just had a sneak peek of the view at the resturant and it was magnificent!! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nursenikki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustFred1974, Director of Revenue at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you for having chosen our Holiday Inn Riverview in Charleston SC; we appreciate your business. We are glad you enjoyed our property and its breathtaking views. On your next visit, you should definitely try the restaurant after dark. The night time views of Charleston are truly unique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,006 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed here two nights last week.

We were both pleasantly surprised. Good location if you have a car or don’t mind taking a taxi to the city (2.6 miles away). Plenty of free parking outside of the hotel.

The roof top bar was fun with reasonable drink prices and a great view of the Charleston River.

The room was large and clean.

The bed and pillows were outstanding.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a nice clean hotel, close to Charleston, with prices in the mid-range.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

This hotel was booked through priceline.com. My wife and I were a little worried when we saw some of the other reviews that people had written. Some of the points are valid. The hotel is a little dated but It has all the amenities that the average traveler requires. The views of the Ashley River are really nice and its location to downtown Charleston, as well as Folly Beach and Savannah Hwy areas were extremely convenient. If I had it to do all over I would no change a thing. The staff were very friendly as we found most everyone in the are to be extremely friendly. Charleston has become my new favorite vacation spot!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcs2595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We only had one night here. The room was clean and we had a very nice view over the river. The hotel is a bit far off from the city center and situated between two highways. We had no breakfast included so no idea how the restaurant is. We had dinner in Charleston. The staff was very friendly and gave us hints what to look at in Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing