We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Awesome Views, I had great food and service from restaurant and the front desk. The rooms need to be Fully updayed bathrooms extremely small tv old and needs more stations parking is easy and you can get out in either direction. I do want to say NEVER EVER stay at the Holiday Inn Resort in Panama City Beach Florida its the worst Holiday Inn ever

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank istrainer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear istrainer,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Riverview. The panoramic views from the restaurant and guest rooms overlooking the Ashley River are breath taking. All of our guest rooms are fully equipped with 32” Flat Panel Samsung Televisions with Direct TV and HD programming. Sorry to hear that your stay at another IHG property (Panama City) was not up to your standards. Our team looks forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Checked in a little early with no problems. Staff was very friendly and a pleasure to deal with. Hotel was positioned between lanes of the highway on the riverfront. Could hear road noise all the time and we were on the 12th floor. Room was spacious and comfortable. Internet was low strength but usable. Beds had plenty of pillows and were comfortable and clean. Bathroom sink was outside of main bath which is nice except that the door into the tub/toilet area opened into the space which was awkward. Good stay overall. Used the shuttle to downtown and was satisfied with the service. No refrigerator, microwave but probably available on request. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimarieOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear DimarieOhio,
Thanks for the wonderful comments! Our team prides its self on excellent customer service from the front desk to the person in the back of the house folding white crisp clean linen. I will have the maintenance team check the “access point” on your floor to make sure that it is work properly for future guest. The double pillow top mattresses along with our standard “soft or firm” pillows help you relax and sleep comfortably throughout the night. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Entrance and exit are challenging, lots of traffic headed to downtown. Not the hotels fault but still a bother. Tub was not cleaned when we went to use it, was slick from some substance. We were finally brought a bath mat which cured some of the problem. The tub was never cleaned during the 4 days we were there. The water temperature was not good. We had to turn the hot water on completely to have it warm enough to bathe. This was the most aggrevating aspect of the stay.
We ate in the restaurant the evening we arrived and have no complaints. The grilled salmon was just right. Other members in our party had the prime rib and it was very good and turned out to be more that they could eat.
Our rooms came with meal tickets for the breakfast buffet which turned out to be a huge bargain. The breakfast was outstanding! All one could want except for whole milk, which I like and took the two containers they put out.
We were in town for a wedding and all of the party stayed here but had we known all the events would be across the river, we would have stayed downtown.
I can't complain about the price because I usually travel on a military discount which they do offer. The staff were more than acommodating and the issues I had may have been beyond their control.
The balcony doors are locked and the sign said for the occupants safety but this still bothered me because I wanted to see the views.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EASeabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear EASeabee,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience the bathroom conditions and hot water availability may have caused you.

We will followup with the Executive house keeper to ensure situations such are not repeated. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. We are pleased you did enjoy your meals in the restaurant.

Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel could not be in a better location for me. I loved the fact that I had a view of downtown, the beautiful bridge into Charleston, and the gorgeous marshes that neighbor the hotel. Also, it was only a seven minute drive into downtown - it really couldn't be easier. And the best part was not having to pay $ 15 for hotel parking, like you would if you stayed in Charleston proper.

The staff were very friendly during our entire stay. From check-in to maid service and front desk information; they could not be nicer.

As for the cleanliness of the room - we had no complaints. And the beds were very comfy. The only complaint I have is one that was already voiced below - the hot water. Even then it seemed to be a timing issue. Out of four showers I had here, only one was lacking hot water.

We did not get to use the bar. The one night we scheduled time for it they were having a private party. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaAvenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear EmmaAvenger,
Thanks for the glowing remarks! The Holiday Inn Riverview is centrally located to Downtown, Folly Beach and West Ashley. In addition, we have complimentary parking and we offer a shuttle to Downtown every 2 hours; starting at 7:30 am to 9:30 pm each and every day. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again for your business we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed overnight on my way to Miami from NYC. The hotel is surrounded by water on all sides. Excellent views.
The room was comfortable and the bed and pillow were top notch. Great sleep!
Professional staff was helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was terrific. I was pleasantly surprised. Complimentary breakfast is seldom something to talk about it but I must give credit where credit is due.
Great location!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toptikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Toptikka,
Thank you for your wonderful comments! Excellent views, comfortable beds, and a professional staff is what like to provide to all of treasured guests. Hopefully, you will stay with us when you travel back to NYC, enjoy your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My Daughters & I stayed here during the weekend of Dec 27-30th we had an amazing time,The Front desk staff was very helpful,our room was very clean & the beds were to die for(very comfortable) The restaurant was A1 the Food but most most of all the staff was very friendly & accommodating, we never had to ask for anything our glasses were filled before they were emptied.I don't remember the names of all the staff member's but they were all Great,i visit Charleston a lot but stayed at other hotels,i can now say i will never stay any where other than @ the Holiday Inn River view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 7th floor or higher to get a great view of the City & river
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoComplaintsHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear NoCompaintsHere,
Our staff is delighted that you and your daughters had “an amazing” time at the Holiday Inn Riverview. We truly appreciate the glowing remarks and will share your comments with the entire team. We look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very friendly and professional staff, terrific location (earthfare less than a mile up the road and downtown just across the river) well equipped exercise room with universal machine, some dumbbells and treadmills, plenty of parking and a shuttle if you dot want to drive downtown. Rollaway bed was one of he best I've seen and perfect for kids. The restaurant food was pretty good (not great) and the servers were affable. Wifi was free and pretty strong. Excellent value ESP when comparing to other nearby properties. A bit dated but well kept. Awesome views from most rooms too :-)
Paid $74/night on priceline (wed and Thursday in early January)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear J G,
We know there are many hotel options in Charleston we are very pleased that you chose ours! You touched and all the wonderful amenities that the hotel has to offer: Fully equipped exercise room, Complimentary parking, Complimentary shuttle to downtown, Complimentary Rollaway, Complimentary Wifi and of course complimentary “Smiles!” Thanks again for your business we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $105 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing