We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My Daughters & I stayed here during the weekend of Dec 27-30th we had an amazing time,The Front desk staff was very helpful,our room was very clean & the beds were to die for(very comfortable) The restaurant was A1 the Food but most most of all the staff was very friendly & accommodating, we never had to ask for anything our glasses were filled before they were emptied.I don't remember the names of all the staff member's but they were all Great,i visit Charleston a lot but stayed at other hotels,i can now say i will never stay any where other than @ the Holiday Inn River view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 7th floor or higher to get a great view of the City & river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoComplaintsHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear NoCompaintsHere,
Our staff is delighted that you and your daughters had “an amazing” time at the Holiday Inn Riverview. We truly appreciate the glowing remarks and will share your comments with the entire team. We look forward to you staying with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    361
    223
    94
    64
See reviews for
267
392
44
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very friendly and professional staff, terrific location (earthfare less than a mile up the road and downtown just across the river) well equipped exercise room with universal machine, some dumbbells and treadmills, plenty of parking and a shuttle if you dot want to drive downtown. Rollaway bed was one of he best I've seen and perfect for kids. The restaurant food was pretty good (not great) and the servers were affable. Wifi was free and pretty strong. Excellent value ESP when comparing to other nearby properties. A bit dated but well kept. Awesome views from most rooms too :-)
Paid $74/night on priceline (wed and Thursday in early January)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear J G,
We know there are many hotel options in Charleston we are very pleased that you chose ours! You touched and all the wonderful amenities that the hotel has to offer: Fully equipped exercise room, Complimentary parking, Complimentary shuttle to downtown, Complimentary Rollaway, Complimentary Wifi and of course complimentary “Smiles!” Thanks again for your business we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A/C works great, free parking, good water pressure, hot water can be so so when everyone hits it. Front desk was staffed with nice friendly people. Good recommendations for dinner with directions (Marybeth). Hotel is old as we have been coming here for over 20 years. They updated carpet, showers, sink. Not sure decided on the sink height, but unless you 6'4" it's way too high. Flat screen Samsung, HDMI so we could watch stuff off the Laptop . The king bed was one of best I've sleep on. Hotel is a circle, 360 degree view from top floor restaurant. Ice machine was down on our floor for cleaning. Nice to know that do that, but not on one of their busy weekend (really people). It was down at least 2 days. Restaurant for breakfast was the worse of all the places we stayed. Almost no one in the place and the service was SO slow. Buffet had tons of food made up ahead of time just getting cold. I have never seen eggs cooked in pile before. Like someone can't see the amount of people staying there and cook the food in smaller amounts. While standing there to decide if I wanted any of this, the staff decided it was the short cut running everything past people trying to get there food (HINT - Walk around and stop running over your customers). Parking lot fills up and getting in and out can be a little tough and traffic can be heavy in each directions. I don't have a problem with that and the location is easy from either direction. For the guy who was concerned they closed the slider off so you can't step on the little balcony. There a reason for that, it requires major work to rip all the old balconys off and replace them. With age they will no longer hold your weight, otherwise you could have an express ride to the ground. Highly recommended the hotel, just eat somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePCGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear ThePCGuy,
Our staff truly appreciates your business over the past 20 years! You have seen all the great changes that we have made of the years. Our flat panel TV’s with HDMI, double pillow top mattresses and amazing views. Thanks for your constructive feedback in regards to our breakfast I will share your comments with the team to make the proper improvements for future guest. Thanks again for being a loyal Holiday Inn Riverview customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. I had a perfect view of the Ashley river and the town of Charleston. Hotel was updated but seemed slightly worn. Staff was friendly and was even able to let me check out early to return home. The Harbor view restaurant and lounge is great. Food is great and the beer is cold. The bartender, Derek was friendly and prompt. I only gave it 4 stars because the hotel room had a worn-out vibe to it. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bawalker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear bawalker63,
Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting Charleston. We are very grateful to have Derek as part of our food and beverage team. Customer service is our number one goal we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed at this property in October. I was alone using the lobby computer until about 1am and went to use the lobby restroom and unfortunately left my camera in the bathroom. At 6am when I realized I left it in the bathroom I went down to retrieve it and it was gone. I asked the front desk person if anyone else was in the lobby and he said only the security/maintenance person who would have checked the lobby bathroom. No one else was in the lobby and I doubted that any guest went in the lobby bathroom between 1am to 6am. When the security/maintenance person was contacted he said he went into the bathroom but did not see a camera. This is not a top of the line camera that would tempt any fellow guest to steal it and, ironically, when I spoke to the AGM later in the day a guest had turned in a camera (better than mine) but it was not mine. Therefore, I have to conclude that it was more likely than not that it was the security/maintenance person who found the camera and failed to turn it in. The overnight front desk person was very curt in taking the loss report or trying to reach the maintenance person after he had left that morning. When the security/maintenance came back later that night he said he did not see the camera. The AGM who I spoke to was quite nice in taking a report of the loss although they were very slow in following up and giving me a status as to their final response regarding the loss (its now December and still haven't gotten it). Granted, there was no definitive proof that the security/maintenance person took the camera since there is no surveillance camera in the lobby or by the bathroom. In any event, I thought it may be helpful to advise guests staying at this particular hotel to be extra careful not to leave any valuables in any public area of the hotel as the staff may not be counted on to turn your valuables in to loss and found.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clintjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Clintjam,
We appreciate your business and are very disappointed that your camera was lost in the Public Lobby Restrooms while unattended between the hours of 1 am and 6 am. We have a Night Security Officer that patrols the parking lot, restaurant, corridors and lobby during the hours of 11:00 pm until 7:00 am. Normally when items are left unattended in the Public area they are turned in to the front desk which are either locked in our safe or at the front desk until they are claimed by the owner. This is an unfortunate situation for both parties. I do however feel confident that our Night Security Office who is an off duty Police officer is held to the highest standard of integrity, honesty and maturity we are lucky to have him as part of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I had a great stay at the Charleston Riverview over the Thanksgiving weekend. The staff was great, the room was clean and breakfast overlooking the Charleston Harbor from the top of the hotel was terrific. Only negative comment was that I found the bed too hard for my taste.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lib W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Lib W,
We love your comments and will share them with the entire team. Our plush double top mattresses are not for everyone; nonetheless, we hope you will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A comfortable bed and an accommodating staff, what more could you ask for. Well located in Mt Pleasant. Convenient to the uniqueness of the area and downtown Charleston. Would highly recommend. And dog friendly. The food at the bar made for a great late night snack. A pleasant stay and will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lap7900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Lap7900,
Thanks for your business! The Holiday Inn Riverview is just moments from Downtown, Mt Pleasant and Folly Beach it’s centrally located to all the major hot spots in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
1,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing