We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, staff wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Springfield, IL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view, staff wonderful”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Attended a reunion at this hotel Oct. 16 - 20. It was a great choice. Location only a mile or so from downtown, easy to get to. Daily shuttle into downtown for those who don't want to drive or park. Rooms were reasonably priced and very comfortable.

The views from the top-floor restaurant & bar were beautiful. Food at the restaurant was good. Service was excellent - everyone I had interaction with were friendly and helpful. The only downside was that the outdoor pool was not heated. The workout room was well equipped.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeerTravIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear BeerTravIL,
Thanks for staying with us! Only being minutes from downtown without the downtown prices and the convenience of a free shuttle. We know you have many choices so the entire team always goes above and beyond to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    379
    237
    101
    64
See reviews for
289
414
45
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday inn Riverview during the week. It's extremely easy to spot this hotel as it towers over the skyline of the Ashley River opposite downtown Charleston. Getting into the parking lot is another matter. No matter which side of Savannah Highway you enter from, the entrances are rather poorly marked and have practically no deceleration lanes. Coming in going north isn't as bad as the southern entrance. The north side has actually two chances even though one is an exit only. The southern entrance is actually, in my opinion, fairly dangerous as if you don't slow down enough you'll go into a ditch. Our first experience was at night and we hadn't been there before but it was a harrowing entrance. During the day it wasn't too bad except leaving on the northbound side you'll have a blind curve to contend with when leaving.
The hotel itself was pretty good, We received a warm welcome at the reservation desk and headed up to the 11th floor to our room. The view from our King room was great as it overlooked the Ashley and downtown. Our room was clean and attractive and the king sized bed was extremely comfortable as were the pillows. The major drawback to the room was the absence of a refrigerator and microwave. One thing about being up so high, there is a wind noise. I found it a bit annoying, but my wife found it soothing, like white noise.
We ate dinner at the restaurant on the 14th floor. The decor is very nice and the view, of course, great. Unfortunately, it's a Holiday Inn restaurant with hotel food. My wife had the prime rib which was average and not cooked to her liking. Her baked potato was DOA looking like a charcoal bricket. I had fried oysters, and I admit I was surprised. The breading was not heavy and the oysters themselves very plump and tasty. Our server had no idea if they were local. If I had been specifically looking for local seafood I would have gone elsewhere, but at 9:30 at night it was a decent meal, if a bit overpriced. The local Palmetto Amber Ale was tasty as well!
While you can do better than the Holiday Inn Riverview you can do a lot worse too. Only five minutes from downtown and at a third of the cost it's a good deal.

Room Tip: The higher floors seem to be a bit quieter as the pool is on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwwhorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear jwwhorley,
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Charleston. We appreciate your comments and are in the process of adding refrigerators to all of our “riverview” guest rooms this should be completed by the end of the year. The oysters and Palmetto Amber Ale are a perfect match for this time of year. I will pass along your comments to our F&B Director about the baked potato not being cooked properly. Your comments will help us improve in the future, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Charleston with a wedding group and we had a fantastic time. The whole wedding party went to the bar around 7:00 and we packed the bar area the bar tender was the best! He was friendly, funny and made the best shots - ever! We would highly recommend the Holiday Inn for a memorable experience. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side with the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear SteveG,
Thank you for your business. It sounds like the wedding party had a wonderful time while in Charleston. Customer service is our number one goal. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's an easy drive into Charleston from the hotel, but it's an older hotel and it shows in areas. The room was clean, but small. The bathroom of the room barely was big enough for a person to stand in to get changed. Staying with my brother, I always need an extra blanket as he likes the room freezing cold. There were no extra blankets in the room and I called the front desk for an extra blanket. 30 minutes later they called back to say because the hotel was full, there were no extra blankets available. How does a hotel not have a single extra blanket? The shuttle runs every 2 hours and only has seating for 10 people, so be careful if you have plans to use the shuttle. The hotel's suggestion is to use take a cab if the shuttle times don't work.

I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz305111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Liz305111,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved the hotel and would highly recommend this hotel to everyone who is going to Charleston. We love the shuttle, breakfast and the workout room. My husband loved the views from the bar and I loved the apps (buffalo wings and oysters).

Room Tip: Choose a high floor and go the top floor bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear TonyaT,
Thanks for recommending our hotel to anyone who is visiting Charleston. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

First visit to Charleston and wanted to be close to the attractions downtown. Accommodations in that neighborhood were pretty pricey so this was a good compromise. Just across the bridge from the peninsula and quite a bit more affordable.

It's a short ten minute drive from the heart of downtown. A cab ride from downtown costs around $8. There is a shuttle but it only runs every two hours and fills up. Room was clean, nothing fancy. But we had window overlooking the river and the view was great. The restaurant and lounge on the top floor also have a spectacular view of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Notaro,
For your first visit to Charleston we are pleased that you selected us! We are located just minutes to downtown and we offer a free shuttle every 2 hours starting at 7:30 am to 9:30 pm. The views from the rooms and restaurant/bar are spectacular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Norman Nc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend college visit. The hotel is just outside downtown Charleston. It is clean and the beds are very comfortable. You have to go to the top floor bar for a drink, the view is fantastic.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear CindyD,
Thank you for choosing us! Our location is convenient to: The Citadel, MUSC and College of Charleston not to mention downtown. From the bar atop the hotel you can actually see all 3 colleges it is an amazing view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#25 of 61 in Charleston
1,199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing