We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a cousins wedding in downtown Charleston. The hotel was completely booked, but everyone was very nice. Front desk personnel were helpful in getting us a cab to go downtown and the housekeeping staff extremely nice. I had a view also of Waffle House, but again the room was nice and clean. Bathroom a bit small, but nice. I was afraid that it would be noisy, but you really didn't hear much. I heard a few doors closing the first night but with the hotel completely booked I was worried that it would be disturbing and it wasn't. My room was even across from the ice machine and I didn't hear people getting ice at all. All in All I will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sewingwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Sewingwolf,
Thank you so much for your business! I hope you enjoyed your cousins wedding in downtown Charleston. Thanks again for your wonderful comments of the front desk and housekeeping staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

The location is good because it is just a few minutes from Downtown Charleston. It is true that there is nothing in walking distance and Charleston is not very car friendly in terms of parking. We did not attempt to use the shuttle so I cannot comment on that. The price was reasonable as I booked it through a Jet Blue Getaway package. The room was clean and fine. Bathroom had a nice granite (or reasonable facsimile) top counter. However, please note that the Front Desk told me that you can, in advance, request a room with a view of the city. I forgot to so we had a lovely view of the Waffle House behind the hotel. That said, we were out all day every day so the lack of view was not critical. We did get the nice view from the restaurant on the top floor. All in all, no complaints.

Room Tip: Supposedly you can request a city view in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear LloydH,
We know you had many choices of hotels but we are happy that you stayed with us. Parking in downtown Charleston can be tricky that’s why we offer a free shuttle to downtown. The views from the restaurant are amazing; the panoramic view gives you a bird’s eye view of downtown Charleston and the Ashley River. Thanks again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had booked our room 3 months before our trip to America and had confirmation of our booking, however we arrived to learn there was no room for us.The hotel had overbooked their rooms and gave priority to guests who were at a convention.The staff were very unhelpful at finding us alternative accommodation.We also found out that the restaurant was fully booked for the convention guests so if we had stayed we would not be able to eat at the hotel restaurant and the closest restaurants were a good drive away.This hotel is in a bad location in Charleston as the city area is across the river

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear KathrynW,
It is unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy our unique “Round Holiday Inn” located just moments from downtown Charleston and all the amenities that the hotel has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

With our Priceline reservation, we were somewhat apprehensive about the location based on reviews. Our standard room faced the city so our view from our 9th floor room was quite pleasant. But as others noted we were not in a "walk friendly" area as the city is located across the river. But the hotel's free shuttle which runs every 2 hours to downtown locations was very convenient and a perk as we did not have to use our car during our stay. Our room was not equipped with a fridge, but when I inquired at the front desk, I was told a limited number of portable fridges were available on a " first come, first serve" basis. A fridge was delivered to our room in a matter of minutes which was quite nice since we had been on the road for quite some time. The self serve washer & dryer were also appreciated.
The staff was quite helpful and friendly. Overall we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreed3552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear AirstreamKen,
We were very pleased to have you as one of our guests. Our location has some wonderful benefits; plenty of complimentary parking, a complimentary shuttle to downtown every two hours and extra amenities like refrigerators based on availability. Glad you enjoyed your view from the 9th floor. Thanks again for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Room was adequate; nothing fancy. Restaurant on the top floor has good food, great coffee and amazing views. The hotel is conveniently located and easy to find. Only 2 elevators, which seemed to run very slowly.

Room Tip: Restaurant is on the top floor. Only 2 elevators. If you stay on the 2nd floor, you will save your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear audreyewebb,
Thanks for your business! Our restaurant takes great pride in providing excellent; service, food and beverage along with tranquil views of the Ashley River and Downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Dont let the rosy reviews fool you, the numerous complaints of this place are true. My wife and I are seasoned travelers, we've been fortunate enough to visit & see many hotels in our travels around the world in the last 10 years. We are currently traveling by car across the entire US and booking hotels on the fly, we were fooled (by reviews) into booking this on a Saturday at the last moment. The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview ranks near the very top of the list for worst hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms have the look & feel of a super cheap roadside motel yet the hotel is priced in the mid-range. The room smelled of mold, the room carpet was incredibly old & disgusting, it actually is tough to walk on since the humidity has eaten into the fiber. It was like walking on a scrub brush. the shower seemed to have had its last renovations in the 70's, and there was mold on our shower curtains. They had paper cups, paper-thin bed sheets, and a filthy curtain that overlooked Charleston with a balcony that's bolted shut! I mean this place should be charging $25 a night, somehow they feel confident to charge so much more.

The room was so awful, it was only our second or third time checking a hotel room mattress for bedbugs, because it just seemed the type of place to breed them. The only saving grace for this hotel is the restaurant on the roof which had a really nice view of the city, and the friendly staff. That's great but when you're booking a hotel over $100-$150, this quality of room just does not even come close. It is light years behind the Andaz Savanna, where we are currently staying, yet somehow was more expensive. I really think management should drastically consider closing this awful place down, it is in dire need of renovations.

As someone else said before, I would've rather slept in my car than stay here.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Tkyo_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Tkyo_Frank,
As the General Manager of the Holiday Inn Riverview I want to apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Our entire staff strives to provide excellent service, clean rooms and a wonderful experience while visiting Charleston. I will be contacting you to discuss your stay to find ways that we can improve for future guest. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed 4 nights starting April 14th with the package deal including breakfast buffet and a room with a view of the harbor and downtown Charleston. The view was decent from the room, but from the 14th floor restaurant we had spectacular views. The buffet was a full buffet to include eggs, bacon, sausage, hotcakes, fruit, and more. The service was excellent. The hotel offers a free shuttle every 2 hours to downtown and with the cost of parking and difficulty finding downtown parking this was great. One of the drivers was quick to point out places of interest and answer questions. The younger driver may have well as been mute. The only fault I found with the room is the bathroom has no exhaust fan. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet. If you plan on spending some time in Charleston this is a great place to stay for the average person. Not for those hunting luxury, but great if looking for convenience, comfort, and service. They have a pool, but the weather was not exactly pool weather for our stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view specify that in your reservations and request the 4th floor or higher. I would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike_jarman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear mike_jarman2002,
Thanks for choosing us while visiting Charleston. The room package you booked for your most recent stay is a wonderful value added package, including a room and breakfast for 2 each day of your stay. Our hot extensive buffet has everything you would want and more; in addition, if you want something unique then we have a second option as you can order off our menu. An amenity that we offer that is overlooked is complimentary parking and a complimentary shuttle to downtown every 2 hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
2.6 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,270 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $104 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing