We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the Job” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
East Meadow, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Did the Job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The location is good because it is just a few minutes from Downtown Charleston. It is true that there is nothing in walking distance and Charleston is not very car friendly in terms of parking. We did not attempt to use the shuttle so I cannot comment on that. The price was reasonable as I booked it through a Jet Blue Getaway package. The room was clean and fine. Bathroom had a nice granite (or reasonable facsimile) top counter. However, please note that the Front Desk told me that you can, in advance, request a room with a view of the city. I forgot to so we had a lovely view of the Waffle House behind the hotel. That said, we were out all day every day so the lack of view was not critical. We did get the nice view from the restaurant on the top floor. All in all, no complaints.

Room Tip: Supposedly you can request a city view in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear LloydH,
We know you had many choices of hotels but we are happy that you stayed with us. Parking in downtown Charleston can be tricky that’s why we offer a free shuttle to downtown. The views from the restaurant are amazing; the panoramic view gives you a bird’s eye view of downtown Charleston and the Ashley River. Thanks again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    356
    219
    94
    61
See reviews for
262
385
44
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had booked our room 3 months before our trip to America and had confirmation of our booking, however we arrived to learn there was no room for us.The hotel had overbooked their rooms and gave priority to guests who were at a convention.The staff were very unhelpful at finding us alternative accommodation.We also found out that the restaurant was fully booked for the convention guests so if we had stayed we would not be able to eat at the hotel restaurant and the closest restaurants were a good drive away.This hotel is in a bad location in Charleston as the city area is across the river

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear KathrynW,
It is unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy our unique “Round Holiday Inn” located just moments from downtown Charleston and all the amenities that the hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

With our Priceline reservation, we were somewhat apprehensive about the location based on reviews. Our standard room faced the city so our view from our 9th floor room was quite pleasant. But as others noted we were not in a "walk friendly" area as the city is located across the river. But the hotel's free shuttle which runs every 2 hours to downtown locations was very convenient and a perk as we did not have to use our car during our stay. Our room was not equipped with a fridge, but when I inquired at the front desk, I was told a limited number of portable fridges were available on a " first come, first serve" basis. A fridge was delivered to our room in a matter of minutes which was quite nice since we had been on the road for quite some time. The self serve washer & dryer were also appreciated.
The staff was quite helpful and friendly. Overall we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kreed3552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear AirstreamKen,
We were very pleased to have you as one of our guests. Our location has some wonderful benefits; plenty of complimentary parking, a complimentary shuttle to downtown every two hours and extra amenities like refrigerators based on availability. Glad you enjoyed your view from the 9th floor. Thanks again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Room was adequate; nothing fancy. Restaurant on the top floor has good food, great coffee and amazing views. The hotel is conveniently located and easy to find. Only 2 elevators, which seemed to run very slowly.

Room Tip: Restaurant is on the top floor. Only 2 elevators. If you stay on the 2nd floor, you will save your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear audreyewebb,
Thanks for your business! Our restaurant takes great pride in providing excellent; service, food and beverage along with tranquil views of the Ashley River and Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Dont let the rosy reviews fool you, the numerous complaints of this place are true. My wife and I are seasoned travelers, we've been fortunate enough to visit & see many hotels in our travels around the world in the last 10 years. We are currently traveling by car across the entire US and booking hotels on the fly, we were fooled (by reviews) into booking this on a Saturday at the last moment. The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview ranks near the very top of the list for worst hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms have the look & feel of a super cheap roadside motel yet the hotel is priced in the mid-range. The room smelled of mold, the room carpet was incredibly old & disgusting, it actually is tough to walk on since the humidity has eaten into the fiber. It was like walking on a scrub brush. the shower seemed to have had its last renovations in the 70's, and there was mold on our shower curtains. They had paper cups, paper-thin bed sheets, and a filthy curtain that overlooked Charleston with a balcony that's bolted shut! I mean this place should be charging $25 a night, somehow they feel confident to charge so much more.

The room was so awful, it was only our second or third time checking a hotel room mattress for bedbugs, because it just seemed the type of place to breed them. The only saving grace for this hotel is the restaurant on the roof which had a really nice view of the city, and the friendly staff. That's great but when you're booking a hotel over $100-$150, this quality of room just does not even come close. It is light years behind the Andaz Savanna, where we are currently staying, yet somehow was more expensive. I really think management should drastically consider closing this awful place down, it is in dire need of renovations.

As someone else said before, I would've rather slept in my car than stay here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tkyo_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Tkyo_Frank,
As the General Manager of the Holiday Inn Riverview I want to apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Our entire staff strives to provide excellent service, clean rooms and a wonderful experience while visiting Charleston. I will be contacting you to discuss your stay to find ways that we can improve for future guest. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, NC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed 4 nights starting April 14th with the package deal including breakfast buffet and a room with a view of the harbor and downtown Charleston. The view was decent from the room, but from the 14th floor restaurant we had spectacular views. The buffet was a full buffet to include eggs, bacon, sausage, hotcakes, fruit, and more. The service was excellent. The hotel offers a free shuttle every 2 hours to downtown and with the cost of parking and difficulty finding downtown parking this was great. One of the drivers was quick to point out places of interest and answer questions. The younger driver may have well as been mute. The only fault I found with the room is the bathroom has no exhaust fan. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet. If you plan on spending some time in Charleston this is a great place to stay for the average person. Not for those hunting luxury, but great if looking for convenience, comfort, and service. They have a pool, but the weather was not exactly pool weather for our stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view specify that in your reservations and request the 4th floor or higher. I would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_jarman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear mike_jarman2002,
Thanks for choosing us while visiting Charleston. The room package you booked for your most recent stay is a wonderful value added package, including a room and breakfast for 2 each day of your stay. Our hot extensive buffet has everything you would want and more; in addition, if you want something unique then we have a second option as you can order off our menu. An amenity that we offer that is overlooked is complimentary parking and a complimentary shuttle to downtown every 2 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonneau, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Thanks to the Holiday Inn Riverview, the 3rd ATS Squadron had an absolutely great reunion on April 9-14, 2013. It is difficult to adequately express our gratitude for the hotel staff’s cooperation, helpful attitude, and obvious appreciation for the service of our military veterans. Things could not have gone any better.

The shuttle service provided to downtown Charleston proved to be especially convenient and saved everyone the hassle of trying to find transportation or parking. It operated at utmost efficiency throughout the reunion.

Special recognition is warranted for Brandy Olson and Carmen Burkhead:

Brandy was so knowledgeable and professional in arranging all the details of the reunion, and her outgoing personality makes it a pleasure to work with her. I was especially impressed in how she kept me informed of everything throughout the planning and implementation of the reunion. Her suggestions and recommendations were extremely helpful. She, very obviously, is a tremendous asset to your organization.

Carmen was instrumental in making the Gala Banquet the absolute highlight of the reunion. The setup of each table and their arrangements were perfect for such a large group of retired military. Her entire staff was very helpful and served very professionally throughout the event. Carmen was also responsible for keeping both hospitality rooms clean and presentable at all times. She went out of her way, every day, to make sure we had everything we needed.

Thank you again for making this one of the very best reunions we have ever had.

Michael A. Yaeger
Colonel, USAF Retired
3rd ATS Reunion

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Michael Y,
Thank you for your glowing remarks and choosing our property for your Military Reunion. Our entire staff is grateful for your service and sacrifices that you made for our Country. It was our pleasure to accommodate your reunion we are pleased that you and your group enjoyed your rooms, service and food and beverage needs while visiting the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#27 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing