We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Nearby Hotels
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $366/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

King Charles Inn(Charleston)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$183
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$389
$319
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Charleston Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$109
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveler rating
311
405
253
106
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
405
253
106
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorfree shuttleashley riverrooftop restaurantshuttle servicebreakfast buffet ishistoric districtdowntown areaan older hotelfolly beachfront desk staffthe hotel offersshort drivebalconiesaaronmuscmarsh
Filter
Updating list...
800 - 805 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place had a great view and great location for anyone visiting Charleston. The hotel was nothing fancy, but it was clean, fairly priced, and had great views. The free breakfast buffet left a little to be desired. You might can find a hotel in downtown Charleston for around the same price but overall I was happy with my stay. Balcony doors do not open, don't expect to be able to use them.

Room Tip: River view and downtown view rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthewoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Matthewoak: Thank you for your compliment on our friendly staff and great views! We are known for our spectacular views of the Charleston cityscape and the Ashley River. Please visit us again on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

If you have a higher floor, the views are great. 3rd and below you should get a discount for a terrible view. Nothing but a yellow wall to see here!
The staff is friendly, the rooms are dated and cramped.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Htfiremedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Hello Htfiremedic: Thank you for staying with us while visiting the Charleston area and for your compliment on our friendly staff! Also, all water view rooms start on the 3rd floor and go as high as the 14th floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We checked into our room on the 14th floor and found hair on the bathroom floor and in the sheets. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, hard as a rock really. There was loud noise through the wall half the night and early morning, we were told it was from the bathroom in the restaurant and lounge. We woke up early from all the banging in the walls to find 2 live roaches in the bathroom and no hot water. It was the last straw we went downstairs to let them know and was told we could shower in another room but there were no rooms available to switch til after check out. We were told it would be about an hour to switch so we just waited, 3 hours later they finally called and got us a new room so we could take a shower. Fortunately we were there for leisure and not business so we only had to put off our activities we had planned for the day. They gave us one mornings free breakfast which was decent and finally got us in a new room on the 5th floor. This room was far and above better than the other one but it didn't make up for all the trouble we had the first night. I would never stay there again the location wasn't that great and for the price you could find a place downtown. The star rating should be lowered if they can't even keep roaches and hair out of the rooms.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 14th floor there are pipes banging in the walls half the night.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0urtney00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear c0urtney00: Your comments have been researched and the hot water heater has been replaced. Thank you for staying with us and hope that you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I chose this property to host our guests for our wedding. We blocked off 10 rooms and also used the bar to host a cocktail party the night before the wedding. When it came time for my bridesmaids and I (bride) to check into our room, they told us they were full and had no room for us. When I gave them my confirmation number and pulled up the details through email, they said that room had been cancelled. This was the night before my wedding, after we had provided them with so much business. The customer service representative working at the hotel insisted her hands were tied and there was nothing she could do. The manager, who I later talked to, insisted the same thing. So did everyone I talked to on the corporate level. This is a great argument for giving business to local companies, where workers still have power to make problems right, and (usually) treat their patrons like human beings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jecunnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Hello jecunnin: Our goal is to achieve top rated customer service. Your comments have been acknowledged and researched to improve our customer service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

On the plus side, the hotel is easy to get to from the interstate and you don't have to pay for parking. As much as I love staying in downtown Charleston, getting to that area is a pain and you are going to pay for parking. Parking is free at this hotel ($20 saved).
The check in area was nice, the rooms were a little rundown and being in a circular hotel is kind of odd. A renovation would go a long way in making this a top place to stay, but the rates are pretty unbeatable. Also, the room we stayed in did not have a refrigerator, which we missed.
The bar/restaurant area on the top floor offers an amazing view of the river. Good before or after dinner stop. They also had appetizers that I didn't try but smelled delicious. The breakfast wasn't worth the money. It was $24 for two of us and that was with a $5 coupon. However, there aren't tons of food choices in the immediate area.
The hotel does offer a shuttle into downtown Charleston which was on time both leaving and picking us up. It stops along Market and other spots with lots of restaurants and entertainment. This is one of the reasons we would stay here again. Cheap place to stay, free shuttle to downtown, not bad. It would be difficult to stay here more than a few days as the room isn't really designed for long term stays. BTW - Don't be fooled, the sliding doors to the balcony's are locked.
The front desk staff was fantastic. We decided to stay an additional night and they took care of it. We later decided we were not going to stay and they were gracious as well. The wrong card was charged, I called and it was cleared up. The front desk staff was very impressive.
In short, this is a great place for one or two nights when the hotels in downtown Charleston are too expensive or booked.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenCtyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear QueenCtyChick, Many guests enjoy our complimentary shuttle service to the historic district of Charleston and we are glad to hear it saved you some money! Also, thank you for your gracious compliment that our front desk staff was very impressive as they certainly obtained their goals with guest satisfaction. The hotel went through major renovations last year and your comments have been addressed. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews