We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleanliness issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Columbia,SC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cleanliness issues”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our tub was filthy-seemed to have sand or something in it. The drain was so slow, the water wouldn't go down. After they came to fix it and clean the room the second day, the grit was still on the tub. They left no shampoo, soap etc and left no bathmat. Everything in the room was dirty. The pillows had so little stuffing, they were not serviceable. When I brought these things to the attention of the staff, they said "sorry about that". That was all.
Also the location is such that you have to drive into downtown Charleston and pay the exorbitant parking fees. They have a shuttle but it only comes every 2 hours and stops at 9>30 PM so if you have evening plans, you are out of luck. I would never stay there again

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms reserved. ALL of us had adjoining rooms but they adjoined to someone else, not us.. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCNancylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    362
    223
    94
    64
See reviews for
268
392
44
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We ended a week-long trip down the coast in the city of Charleston and selected this hotel because they had smoking rooms on the the 8th floor with views of the city. I recall when the hotel was being built -- had eaten dinner there twice in the past forty years -- and stayed there once about twenty years ago -- but knew really knew nothing else about it as we've mostly stayed at Charleston Place for the past twenty years. The good reviews on Tripadvisor settled it. We were NOT disappointed. The views of the city from our rooms were spectacular. The staff was every bit as professional, informed and courteous as the staff at Charleston Place. I was working in Charleston one of the days we were there and could get into downtown in five minutes. We had breakfast upstairs both mornings -- had drinks in the bar one night -- entertained a table full of guests in the dining room another evening -- and had room service another evening. Everything was really great. Regarding the food: downtown Charleston is practically buried in four star (well deserved stars) restaurants so the competiton regarding food is extremely keen. Although the food was perfectly fine, one would not go to the dining room atop the Holiday Inn for the food -- you go downtown for that. BUT -- a very important but -- we had some well-travelled locals in for dinner and the wonderful view, excellent service and perfectly acceptable food won them over (they remarked that they certainly plan on bringing out of town guests there at least for drinks in the future just to enjoy the city view and good service) so I think that is a pretty good recommendation. I do want to comment on the architecture: I have a master's degree in historic preservation and a strong concentration in architectural history. I must say that -- far from being a blight on the landscape -- this building is an extremely fine representation of its type from the third quarter of the 20th century and it is absolutely neither banal nor ugly. (If you want to see banal and ugly, consider the boxy "La Quinta" that lies slightly east when viewed from the top of the Holiday Inn). This building will actually become eligible for consideration to be nominated to the National Register of Historic Places in about nine years. I sincerely hope that it is nominated and accepted as it is a beautiful relief from the humdrum hotel posseurs of more recent vintage. Furthermore, its presence is proof that Charleston is not merely mired in the 18th and 19th centuries but is a living city that has some interesting architectural examples (although a small inventory) from across time. Having said that -- yes, certainly we will stay there again and I hope it is very soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

While the location is good for the price, the rooms are just gross. The ceilings are stained with mold, the bathrooms are outdated, and rust is in the bathtub.
The bar upstairs has a beautiful view and the staff was very friendly. The rooms are cheap but so old and outdated not even worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ram0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Riverview with a friend. The twin room had 2 double beds which were comfortable and came with a range of pillows of different hardnesses. My only issue with the room is that the bathroom wasn't ventilated and so, there was a lot of steam which was difficult to get rid of when either of us had a shower.

We encountered nothing but great service the whole time we were at the Holiday Inn Riverview, from front of house to the maid service. The hotel runs a convenient shuttle bus system with a friendly driver which means that you don't have to drive into downtown for dinner and/or drinks. This is a major plus although it would be nice if it ran a little later. That said, a taxi from downtown cost us a little over $12.

My only other issue with the hotel is the number of events it holds and the detrimental effect it has on a guest's ability to enjoy the amenities the hotel has to offer. On the night we arrived, the hotel had a singles mixer on in its bar/restaurant area which meant finding a car parking space in the hotel's car park was tricky and the restaurant was not available for dinner. Again, on the day before we left, a school reunion once again left the restaurant out of bounds. Given the number of eating options around Charleston, this is not a major issue but it took away the option of being able to have a "night in" rather than having to find somewhere else.

I'd still recommend the hotel as decent value for money with friendly staff and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a river view as the building's shape mean that the rooms face in all directio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groovymule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated to provide a great launching point to historic Charleston. It is located right off of I-17, which makes it extremely easy to find, but somewhat difficult to enter and exit the parking area during rush hour. This difficulty is negated if the hotel's free shuttle is utilized. Rooms are up to date with luxurious mattresses and pillows and a nice flat screen TV. The downstairs welcome area hosts free coffee in the morning and two computers with internet that guests are allowed to use. The upstairs restaurant is a little pricey but the food is very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reidhuntley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

My wife and I had a couple of nights of Priority Club points to burn so we stayed in this Holiday Inn while vacationing in this area.

This is a property that has a little age but it is well maintained. It is a circular building. The rooms are clean and in good shape. We ate breakfast there and even with a handful of wedding receptions and tour buses, we had a good meal, and we got through quite quickly.

The restaurant has the best view in Charleston, as the height is not limited by the height of a church steeple. The restaurant is on the top floor of the hotel.


There is plenty of free parking which is astounding in Charleston. The hotel has shuttles to the historic district which is just across the river from the hotel.

We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The view from your room - on one side you will see the river and the marina beyond. On the other sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here the night we got married in 1978. We recently planned a trip to Charleston to see family, but managed to squeeze in some time to spend in Downtown Charleston. I made our reservation with Holiday Inn and then contacted the hotel directly and spoke to the day manager Amanda, she accomodated our wishes to have a view of Downtown and the harbor, she put us on the 14th floor! It was magnificient! Amanda was wonderful, the front desk staff was great I; I believe his name was Jay! The rooms were clean, a little dated but its an old hotel! we were very pleased with our accomodations. We sat up at the bar/restaurant and had drinks and appetizers and met some great bartenders and customers! We would go back!

Room Tip: The room was quiet - if you can get a view - you won't be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D_N_A1978_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing