We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEEDS UPDATING QUICK!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Ranked #54 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were at this hotel for one night passing through Charleston. The hotel did not appear to be full so I am not sure why we were not given a room facing the river. My request for an upper floor was honored but we just had a drab view of the parking lot.

We were hungry when we checked in so the front desk suggested the California Dreaming restaurant at the end of the street. Fabulous food so if you are staying at the LQ, do check out California Dreaming.

The LQ is drab and in need of a refurbishing desperately!!! Carpeting is old and very dark which equates to being several years old and probably not easy to get sufficiently clean. The bed was ok for comfort but the furniture is old and outdated. The brand new flat screen TV seems quite out of place as it was the most modern thing in the room. The bathroom is very very small but kept relatively clean. No refrigerator or microwave in the room which seems odd cause I think most LQs have those.

Our biggest problem was the a/c. Not only did it NOT keep the room very cool for sleeping, but it was also very noisy. I had to wear ear plugs to get sleep. Once you are in your bed trying to get to sleep, you don't want to call down to ask for a different room, especially since we were there just one night. They should keep the a/c units maintained and know which units need servicing. The one in 405 was noisy and rattly and had I not had ear plugs I would not have been able to sleep at all. (Note to LQ: Get the a/c in 405 fixed ASAP!)

The breakfast was very average, nothing great although they did not have 2 waffle makers. But there was a line for each. I just tried to warm a bagel in the toaster. They had 2 double toasters but 1 on each was broken. So there was a line for the toaster too. (More broken equipment!) My husband went down to the fitness center but he came right back to the room cause he said he either could not figure out how to work the equipment or it was broken. Aggh!

Good thing we were only there one night. If we had planned to stay multiple nights I would have had to leave and go somewhere else. This is not typical of LQ standards so just know not to expect much at this location. For it being right on the Ashley River, it's an ideal location. Just a very substandard LQ. It was a great price for LQ but I feel I overpaid for what we got.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is our second stay at the Charleston LaQuinta. The hotel is not up to the LaQuintas that have been recently remodeled. They are also almost twice as expensive--most likely because they are in Charleston. We continue to stay here as they are very dog friendly as are all the LaQuintas at which we have stayed. Other LaQuintas provide much more value for the money as their accomodations are nicer and there is more room for dogs in the outside area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Poogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This location is in serious need of a remodel and updating. I made reservations for 2 nights because I was looking forward to the location and view. We only ended up staying for 1 night and went back to our previous hotel for the last night. Not worth paying extra for the view.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank H6986YNjuliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Carpets in hallways and in room VERY FILTHY. Wouldn't walk bare foot in room. Furniture in very poor shape and broken. Couch dirty to the point it should be taken to the dump. Air conditioner very noisy. Sounds likes a hand full of rocks in the fan. Door to hall way let so much hall light in you can read a news paper. Friendly staff with a poor maintenance program. You can tell that rooms are being neglected. Major overhaul is in order. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank Val K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have stayed at this LaQuinta a number of times now and have always been satisfied with the rooms and the service. Definitely will stay here again on future Charleston trips. The location is convenient to downtown, Folly Beach and to MUSC, in case anyone is there for medical visits.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank MlleStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night in May 2014 with our dog. The hotel is very nice and our room was spacious. It was very easy to walk our dog from the location. Very clean hotel as well. The staff was friendly too. I asked about restaurants and they mentioned "California Dreaming" - a walk away on the harbor. We had a great dinner there overlooking the water. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeno58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

There is no "Harbor View" as promoted online by LaQuinta. The property is old and shabby. I paid extra for a "King Harbor View Suite" that was neither a suite, nor had a view of the river (view was obscured). Breakfast fare is minimal in terms of variety and presentation. Unfortunately, my experience is hit or miss with LaQuinta chain. This one was definitely a miss. Save your money and stay a few miles further out of downtown historic Charleston, the hotels are much nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
2.9 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Address: 11 Ashley Point Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $95 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston La Quinta
La Quinta Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing