We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Worn, but Okay for a Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Ranked #53 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
NC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Little Worn, but Okay for a Short Stay”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I made a last minute decision to extend my Charleston, SC visit and needed to find a place within my budget. Hotels on the peninsula were either booked, or commanded Sunday night booking rates that were too steep for my weekend travel budget. I looked at reviews and decided to give La Quinta a try.

Let me say that perhaps I’m sort of a room snob. Certainly I like thing clean, and mostly it was. My impression at the La Quinta is that the whole hotel seemed to be a bit frayed around the edges. The walls could use some paint. The bathtub non-skid surface was no longer white but a shade of gray. When I went to get some ice, I found that there were three large bags of garbage sitting near the ice machine. In that I was checking in close to 5:30, I was surprised they hadn’t been hauled away by housekeeping staff earlier in the day.

Breakfast the next morning gets a C minus. Perhaps some might consider the waffles you can make for yourself and assorted pastries the way to start the day, I don’t. I believe there may have been a few hardboiled eggs and containers of yogurt, but overall, sugar and carbohydrates reigned. Admittedly, though, the coffee was good.

I was disappointed that staff did nothing to keep the breakfast area clean. Hotel guests were very good about clearing their tables, but no one came through the area to wipe crumbs, spilled coffee or sugar from the tables.

Would I stay here again? In a pinch – but it wouldn’t be my first choice. I’d probably search to see what else I could find.

Room Tip: Paying more for the Marina side of the hotel doesn't offer an advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJKNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    274
    201
    167
    172
See reviews for
342
378
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NewHampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice location along boat docks in Charleston. Great place to take sunrise pictures looking to Charleston shoreline. You do have to drive or take the shuttle to the historic district but it's an easy drive. Breakfast has a wide variety of choices including waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereals, grits and plenty of tables to accommodate lots of guests. The first room they gave me was in an adjacent building (older building) with outside corridors, paper thin walls (I could hear guests in next room, traffic, etc) and the door card was hard to work. They were very accommodating at the front desk when I requested a new room in the main building which was very nice. Great place to stay, just make sure you get a room in the main building.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building, it's quieter and has inside corridors. Other building is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madison7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere west of here
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We received new towels and linens once on our 3 night stay at this La Quinta. The front desk didn't seem surprised at all that housekeeping did not show up and unquestioningly offered us $20 off our final bill.

The good news about this place is its location - strategically centered just across the bridge on James island for your travels or adventures around Charleston. The room with a view isn't what it's cracked up to be unless you've never seen a Marina...

The bad news is the housekeeping, the age of the place, the fact that it needs a desperate updating and that they close off the breakfast bar at 9am - too early for many vacationers.

There are just too many nice places to stay in Charleston to pay this rate for this level of service.

Room Tip: bring your own towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We got a great Priceline deal on this hotel and were not disappointed. Clean, new room, very helpful desk, adequate breakfast and a wonderful view of the marina with the city in the backgrond.
Do understand there are no services near the hotel, so bring any snacks and drinks you want. there is a California Dreaming restaurant within walking distance, but everything else requires a car.

Room Tip: Buy the "marina view" room for about $5 extra. The other side looks at the highway and som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights and had the harbor view room. It was nice and clean and location is convenient to anywhere you need to go. I would definitely stay here again. The view was good but I wished the window was bigger. It is a short walk to the water and to California dreaming.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sanpoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just two miles from downtown Charleston, this was the best deal for a quick weekend trip. Half the cost of downtown and beach hotels! Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. The best part is the dog could come stay too! Easy access to beaches and downtown. Friendly staff and waffles for breakfast complimentary! I will stay again! Located right on the river. I enjoyed an early morning walk!

Room Tip: Try to avoid third level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vass, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Comfortable rooms, great location! Minutes from downtown and more reasonably priced than in town hotels. There is a great restaurant at the end of the parking lot with a great city view. My sister booked flight + hotel, her room was smaller and in the annex building, she said the room there was smaller (but her room cost was cheaper).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
2.9 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#25 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#36 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Address: 11 Ashley Point Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston La Quinta
La Quinta Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing