We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Ranked #53 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed December 4, 2012

As a frequent traveler (and elite LaQuinta member) who stays at the LaQuinta Inn at Riverview in Charleston often, I would like to express my appreciation for Julius Shokes and the help he has given me more than once in loading and unloading my car when I travel alone with my dog. LaQuinta is a budget hotel which does not offer valet service. I never expect to have any help when I am loading and unloading the car, but Julius, who I believe works with the motel's maintenance staff, has more than once come to my room with a cart and helped me load and unload my car. I'm sure none of this is in his job description, and his actions fall under general kindness toward the customers. I just want the management to know that he is a bright spot in my frequent stays at the Riverview Motel and should be regarded as a priceless employee.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarciaH34573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

809 - 815 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have friends who stay here in high season for $120/night. This is an average La Quinta and in my opinion, not worth the extra price. I stayed here in December 2012 for $82/night, 2 double beds with a marina view. I discovered that the marina view is more about not being on the back side of the hotel which is closer to the highway and more noisey.

The California Dreaming restaurant is at the end of the street, next to the hotel on a dead end. The traffic in and out of this restaurant is very high. We walked the dogs each night and watching out for traffic and speeding cars! There is some grass to walk the dogs but not a large area to walk.

The room was nice and clean but nothing above the normally nice average La Quinta rooms. The hotel has one section with inside entrances and one section with outside entrances.

I can't see payin $120 for the rooms here but the other LaQuinta in town, while at @ $60 is in an incredibly cramped area with an interstate almost overhead. I'd definitely stay here again if I could get the $70-85/night rates.

Room Tip: Marina view will cost you more. The marina side is very close. There is a little bit of a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonTerrierX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed two days whilst visiting Charleston, well located just out of Charleston proper, need to drive or use the hotel shuttle to get into Charleston.
Very clean, but no restaurant, except for free continental breakfast, also no bar.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel for view over the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green-David-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

To begin with, the location next to the Marina is great for a view. It was very relaxing as we drove up to the front to check in. Next, when we entered we knew it would be a good stay - everything seemed fresh and clean. Our room was very clean and very nice. Not all La Quintas have been this good. In fact, it may be the best La Quinta we have ever stayed in. It was closer than we thought to the Historic area, only a couple of miles to several parking garages that only cost us $10 a day with ample parking spaces. This saved a bundle from staying in town. The breakfast was good for most purposes. It would be a choice again if we were to visit Charleston again. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very nice location & excellent bountiful breakfast with make-your-own waffels. Dogs being allowed is a plus for pet owners. Big Marina across the street with lots of expensive watercraft. Be sure and join the LQ.com/returns to gain points toward free nites at La Quinta Hotels

Room Tip: Ask for Marina View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnanwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This usually means inferior, but this hotel is a former Hampton and is an excellent alternative to those "in town" Charleston. Easy to get to from downtown, great accommodations, responsive staff. Walking distance to a nice restaurant. I recommend this place.

Room Tip: Face marina, other side faces highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We paid $75 a night at this hotel and had no complaints. It used to be a Hampton Inn and yes it is showing its age a tad but it was clean and comfortable with twin double beds and a really good breakfast thrown in. The air conditioner was very noisy but we switched it off while we were sleeping as it was a cool night. It may be a problem in hot weather however. Didn't find it noisy at all in the main building at the rear and the WiFi was fast and free. Just over the bridge from Downtown Charleston and was easily accessible from all the best that Charleston has to offer. We thought it was great value for money and would stay again in a heartbeat especially at this price.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the main hotel not the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#23 of 62 in Charleston
1,318 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#41 of 62 in Charleston
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Address: 11 Ashley Point Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $95 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston La Quinta
La Quinta Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing