We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Historical Views of the Citadel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Historical Views of the Citadel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a wonderful historic site turn into a upscale updated hotel. I was amazed by the architecture and the feel of the civil war era. The rooms give you that feel of a military barracks there are beautiful garden views to boot. The staff is well trained to take care of your every need everyone seems to be at the ready to care of the guest. The location is in the heart of downtown historic distric so everything is within walking distance. The price of the hotel is on the low to moderate end of 100 to 150 per night which includes cook to order breakfast.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with a view of the garden all other rooms a re the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed the historic presence of our hotel and happy to hear that our staff was inviting and ready to take care of your needs! We hope you keep us in your travel plans the next time you're headed to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    458
    254
    136
    89
See reviews for
542
489
33
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okatie, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The beauty of the restored and maintained old fort is breath-taking. The Southern charm of Charleston is reflected in the whole hotel; relaxing, peaceful, and friendly. This is our second stay, and we have booked a room here for our January conference, as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for the 5 star review and a return visit to the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston! We are so pleased you enjoyed our property and happy to hear that you have booked with us again in 2015! We look forward to your upcoming arrival and hope you enjoy the remainder of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Greeted warmly by front door staff who also helped with loading luggage on trolley. Check in staff helpful for first time visitors, concierge on duty ready to assist. Room was commodious, comfortable and clean. Free bus shuttle across the street to take you to a few popular attractions. Grab city map before heading out to tour and be sure to note "R" (restrooms) on the map as city shop owners restrict use of their facilities. Complimentary breakfast generous in cafeteria. Don't do what we did first morning and eat breakfast in atrium (I'm sure we were given correct location, but forgot).
Caveat: Add $18 to $20 a day to your budget as it is valet parking only, or city garage parking around the corner (I'm not sure if this was posted by the hotel when reviewing it, if so, I missed it and was surprised by the added charge). All members of the Embassy Suites staff are more than happy to assist. They are very courteous. Location: A bit off the beaten path, but with comfortable shoes, you can enjoy a variety of different options to return to the hotel after your day's outing: bicycle taxi; free shuttle (verify time of the last pick up); regular taxi or walk back. Pedestrian friendly city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janicew429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a candid review on our hotel property. We are pleased to hear that each staff member you encountered was engaging and happy to assist you and your family! We hope you choose us as your home away from home the next time you're in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was thrilled with this hotel. one of the best embassy suites I have stayed at. We felt welcome every step of the way. For example, we had requested 2 cribs and they had the cribs already in the room when we arrived. I cannot tell you how wonderful this is after traveling a long day with babies. It is so great to just set them somewhere safe and contained to free us up to unpack and settle in and let them relax with a bottle, etc. That won me over. Also, the room service was yummy and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank emily8621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We appreciate your kind comments about our efficient staff and “yummy” room service. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel property. Please keep us in mind the next time you plan a trip to Charleston. Hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great set up. Comfortable spacious room. Built from the old Citadel. Clean pool. Fitness center had very advanced equipment and free weights, but its kinda small. Great view of the park if you can get on the left side. Walk down king instead of meeting street: there are more shops and there is no construction.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are pleased to read your wonderful review of our hotel. Thank you for your kind comments about our property. We hope you get the opportunity to come back and visit when you’re not on business. Safe travels and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a great location in Charleston. The staff was very polite and friendly. The evening reception was an extra perk and the breakfast was wonderful. I would definately go back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your most recent five star review on our hotel property. We appreciate your nice comments about our staff, our cooked-to-order complimentary breakfast, and our lovely evening reception. We look forward to your next visit in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia,sc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Spent the last few days at Embassy Suites in Charleston, SC. Beautiful place. Free breakfast and happy hour with free drinks and.snacks. Right in the middle of the historic district. Visitor Center is one block over and trolleys are free. The market area is a ride away and lots to see and do. .Great service here, had an issue with the door not locking and they were here and had it fixed within 15 minutes. Come enjoy this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Park views are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments about our historic hotel. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing