We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Citadel = Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Embassy Suites was wonderful. The hospitality hour was refreshing, on a beautiful patio. The employees were all very helpful, from valet to concierge, from comfy beds to spa quality amenities, we loved our stay, however short. Our teenage girls loved having their own 'room', and breakfast was delicious! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinran206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was our first time in Charleston, group of four ladies about 25 years old. The complimentary breakfast buffet/made to order was delicious and the appetizer/cocktail hour from 5:30-7:30pm each night were the clear highlights of this hotel. Our room had no windows at all in it, so make sure this is something you try to request. The historical building will definitely appeal to those wanting it. The hot tub heater was broken when we were there and it was very prickly and needed to be redone badly. One of the housekeepers, Christina, was our savior in regards to knowing we had four ladies who needed more towels and products and kept us catered to. The front desk also gave us the name of a cab service- Charleston Royal and the owner Tito (843)240.6607 made our trip by offering us flat rates including tip that were so much more affordable than random taxis. The location is super close to King Street which is where all the bars/restaurants are located for the younger crowd. If you want nicer dinners, rooftop views, and more atmosphere I would recommend going to the historic district, which is also only about a 10 block walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you request a room with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simply07sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words about Christina, she is great asset to the team! We did have to replace a part on the hot tub, so sorry it was not working while you were here. We do hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Charleston Embassy Suites was the best hotel experience I've had. The feel of the hotel is clean and safe. Staff is attentive and knowledgeable and we love having a small suite which is so comfortable. We look forward to a longer stay in this historic building to really appreciate the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Mary Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a great experience! Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was our first visit to Charleston and we choose this hotel because of its location. That turned out to be a great decision. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby and the Charleston Visitors' Center is just two blocks north. Start your visit there, then catch the free Dash trolley just outside and leave your car parked. The trolley has thre different routes which can take you most places a tourist is likely to go (the one exception is the Battery area which requires a fairly long walk from the trolley route, so you may want to drive for that part of your exploring). Now to the hotel itself: you'll get the usual Embassy Suites experience - two clean, comfortable rooms with a spacious bath and excellent bedding, a free cooked-to-order breakfast in the morning, and a manager's reception every evening with free drinks and snacks. The building itself, despite being the former Citadel, is no old hotel showing its age; it is instead kept up very well. I'm not sure when it was last renovated, but the look and feel are of a modern facility. There are a couple of things worth mentioning to enhance your stay. First, the restaurant and the lounge area where the evening reception takes place, are both too small to handle the number of people. There is an exterior area which absorbs some of the spillover, and some of those having breakfast carried their food to the lounge and sat at the bar to eat. But if you aren't fond of eating or drinking outdoors in the heat and humidity, arrive for breakfast before 8:30, and be sure to find a seat for the evening reception a few minutes before it begins at 5:30. Once we mastered those tricks, we enjoyed each of our several days here. Some other reviewers have commented on the friendliness of the hotel staff, but we didn't find that to be the case. Perhaps we expected a bit more southern hospitality, but most of those we met were more stoic and reserved than friendly. It did nothing to detract from the excellent service, but it seemed a bit odd, especially given the location.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the rear are likely to be quieter since they are farther from the elevators and most tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyWanderer023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay here! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Formerly The Citadel, the fortress exterior and interior brick walls lend a historical individuality tomEmbassy Suites located in downtown Charleston. Walking distance to most everything. Excellent location for the Spoleto Festival.

Inside the suites are two rooms deep, meaning the bedroom is not next to the hallway. This makes sleeping quiet and peaceful. We were between a few rooms of visiting teenaged dancers who were polite but young and sociable and in the hallway a lot spending time with each other. We had no problems resting and were thankful for it.

Breakfast buffet has later hours on weekend - appreciated. They serve individually made omelets efficiently. Offerings ample: hot bar, cold bar, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, baked goods and coffee -lots and lots of coffee ( for the earlier breakfast ending at 9:30 am - very welcome).

Small hotel pool area and hot tub.

5:30-7:30 pm free wine and light snacks.

A pair of cockatiels sang from their well-enriched cage in the entrance foyer. Nice touch.

Quirky pair of elevators. Always worked and came quickly. Oddly usually came to side opposite the one you were standing on.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eacoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback-very much appreciated. We hope you choose us as your home away from home the next time you're in Charleston. Thank you for taking the time to write such a candid review on our hotel property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent 3 days at this hotel. Had a wonderful time there. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Our suite was extremely nice. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the walls were very thick (there were kids in the next room & we couldn't hear a thing). The complimentary breakfast was superb. The omelet chef was wonderful and the buffet had almost anything I'd want.
The location of the hotel was within walking distance to stores, restaurants and one block from the tourist center. We'll definitely stay here next time we come to Charleston.
.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveGatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

We are extremely delighted to hear you had a "wonderful stay" and that you will "definitely stay" at our property next time you both come to Charleston. Thank you very much for all your kind remarks. Look forward to seeing you again next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 2 nights here on a short getaway trip. The hotel was nice, attractive and clean with a relaxed ambiance. However, I was extremely disappointed in the two uncomfortable, lopsided, too soft mattresses in our room both in need of replacement. Neither of us slept well both nights of our stay because of this. Also, room was dark and dingy. The view out of our north facing window left little to be desired. I can't help but think that as AAA members using a AAA rate for our stay that we were placed in the lousiest view room you could possibly be placed in! Our room view from the window literally was right smack in the middle of an alley overlooking several dumpsters! Another very disappointing note.... both nights of our stay the dumpsters were emptied by the local trash company at 3 a.m.!! The noice was quite loud and lasted for at least 15 minutes. I did complain to front desk about this on the day of our departure. I would consider a future stay here as we like the convenient location but we will be certain to request a park view room next time and hope that the mattress is better!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rwgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our historic property. We are pleased to read that you thought our hotel was "nice, attractive and clean with a relaxed ambiance." However, we sincerely apologize that you felt our beds were uncomfortable and that you were not placed in a quiet room with a view and experienced loud street noises. The management team is looking into refurbishing the hotel, including new beds and mattresses. With this in mind, we hope you consider staying with us shall you ever come back and visit Charleston again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $178 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing