We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charleston, SC Embassy Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
West lafayette, IN, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charleston, SC Embassy Suites”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Nice location and great staff, but very noisy. Beware that valet parking is essentially required. Including tips, the valet parking adds $20-30/day to your bill. The building itself is interesting because it is the original home of The Citadel University; however, while the the open indoor courtyard in the middle of the hotel is picturesque, you can hear in your room every word spoken by anyone in the courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    507
    278
    151
    100
See reviews for
603
531
36
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is a former military school, built as a fortress in case of war. It's ramparts make it look like a castle, hence the drawbridge title. The central atrium is very attractive.
The rooms which in fact are suites are on the expensive side, but worth it.
The hotel is in a very central position. You are only minutes away from the free bus service, which will take you to the horse drawn carriages, boat tours and market.
The staff are very helpful and will find you a good restaurant closeby.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and go to bed before 11.00pm ask for a room on the opposite side to where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_the_Elder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is an epic FAIL!! Very noisy from surrounding bars, and you can hear your neighbors since the building construction is old and outdated (they claim it's "renovated"). Had to call the front desk twice to quiet down drunk neighbors, and had to switch rooms due to drunk neighbors. Yes, two rooms in one weekend, and the hotel was filled with very drunk guests. Wish management attempted to care, but not too much. Rooms are blah, bathrooms have that dirty feel, and the staff from the bar served wine in lipstick stained glasses. If you can afford better, go to a different hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetting79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hotel is just on the outskirts of the historic district. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the market street and is in a excellent location. Rooms are unique as some of the walls of our suite were made of the original brick from the Citadel. The rooms are very clean. The breakfast buffet is very good with fresh omelets made to order every day. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and I would recommend this hotel for to anyone staying in Charleston

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My family of four stayed for two nights. I was impressed when we first arrived. The lobby and atrium are attractive, and the room -- we stayed in a king suite on the second floor-- is well laid out. All was well until we went to bed. We could hear everything in the room next door -- every single word and action, and kids kept running up and down the hall for hours -- even at 2 and 3 in the morning. I felt like calling the front desk, but the people in the room next door weren't doing anything wrong. They were talking and doing other things, albeit, a little loud. And the shower. The pressure alternated between good and non-existent, and the temperature alternated between boiling hot and freezing, all without moving the shower head. The staff were all pleasant and helpful, but with the noise and the poor shower, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caughman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Embassy Suites in Charleston. Our brief stay was excellent. As this was our first time to Charleston the staff was extremely friendly and helpful in answering all our questions and giving us great advice as to where to eat and what to see. The location is perfect for walking almost anywhere in the city. We definitely hope to return, and stay at the Embassy Suites again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed here for three nights with my mother in February. We had booked our rooms through a travel network and not directly through the hotel, and usually this doesn't prove to be a problem but this time our information was not in the hotel's system. The woman at the front desk was very helpful and was able to not only get us in, but also to get us a room at a lower rate than we had originally booked. Everything about the room was fine; the beds were comfortable, the pillows were pretty decent as far as hotel pillows go. We had a separate living room space with a mini fridge, counter and sink, a couch, and a television with a poor connection.

The complimentary breakfast and evening service are great selling points as well. Breakfast was adequate (omelets made to order, standard breakfast buffet fare, fruit) and although we never partook in the evening service, it was nice to know we could have free drinks and snacks if we so chose!

My only real complaint about this hotel is a minor one: it is slightly off the beaten path in terms of where the action is. Everything is still in walking distance, and there is a trolley stop just across the street (although the trolley was never there when we needed it, it was nice to know that we had at least the option of a free trolley ride!), but this hotel is definitely a bit away from the action.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alalalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing