We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“so nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and I stayed in this hotel for just 1 night before heading to the beach. While I was checking in, I turned to my daughter and commented that I kept forgetting that it was my birthday. Within 5 minutes of checking into our room, the guy at the front desk was at my door with a bottle of wine and glasses and said that he overheard that it was birthday. It was definitely above and beyond. I also stood at the check-in counter and extra long time while I called to activate my new credit card that I had forgotten to do beforehand. The employee was extra patient and super sweet...he never acted a bit annoyed at all! Our room was what was to be expected..beautiful and roomy.
We ordered room service late at night and they were very quick and it was yummy. The restaurant even called us a little bit later to see if everything was good and make sure we didn't need anything else.
Breakfast cannot be beat. Great deal for anyone who wants to get up and eat anything they want and then head out.
The location was very good, also. We walked everywhere. We even walked back late at night and felt comfortable.
And I can't forget to mention the extra comfy beds!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    457
    253
    135
    89
See reviews for
540
489
33
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good location, close enough to everything: visitor center, car rental, trolley and bus stop, Market street. our room have two rooms: bedroom with door, small kitchen, and living room, big bathroom. Breakfast and evening reception it was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turist45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The location of the Embassy Suites really made our stay the most pleasant; we found we were able to walk or take the free trolley to just about everything we wanted to enjoy. The included breakfast & evening reception were nicely set, as both are free; they can be enjoyed outside in the courtyard, in the lobby, or back in your suite. The staff are friendly, accommodating, and attentive; one of the guest service agents gave us one of the best restaurant recommendations from a local perspective. Really enjoyed the hot tub & pool in the evening, when the kids weren't around. All in all, would return to this hotel for the hospitality and location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverille, NC, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This review is on trip advisor. I called to change my reservation which the conditions I agreed to said that I could until Saturday. When I tried to change trip advisor employee told me the hotel wouldn't let me change until Monday....which would have meant I couldn't change. I called the hotel and spoke with the manager and he said he told TA that I could change& he didn't know why TA had told me that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This one night stay at the Charleston Embassy Suites worked out well due to the close proximity of the charming streets of Charleston South Carolina. The hotel is quite large with the usual embassy suites atrium that you find at many older embassy suites. Our guest room was well maintained and comfortable for our family of five. The lobby respected the southern charm although the atrium and balcony area is in need of updating (we've noticed this at other embassy suite venues where the atrium sometimes is allowed to slip into a state of disrepair). The lobby also had a persistant odour of fish during our stay. All in all, this was a good option for a quick trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here from July 20-25. The first room they showed me was unacceptable as I requested a window. There was a window in the room, but it was so high you couldn't look out it. They switched us to a ground floor room with plenty of windows. It's obviously a historic property, the bellman told us it was 400 years old! We enjoyed the breakfast every day, but it can get crowded, as does the nightly happy hour. There was sometimes no place to sit. FYI - There is a very limited bar at the happy hour, and the same snacks appeared almost every evening. The pool is small, but it's one of the few hotels in Charleston that even has a pool at all. Tara at the front desk was helpful and gave us some compimentary passes to tourist attractions due to the room inconvenience. When we checked out I forgot my pillow. I called and they eventually found the pillow, and sent it back to me Fedex. My CUSTOMIZED pillowcase was missing however. It was a pillowcase with my name printed on it, one of a matching set that was a gift. I don't understand why that wasn't returned as well. After many phone calls to the front desk, and then housekeeping, I was told they simply can't find it. I never saw it again :(

Room Tip: If old buildings creep you out, choose another hotel or stay on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Breakfast staff were really warm and welcoming everyday of our stay. The young man with the dreadlocks and glasses greeted us every time he saw us. David the front desk clerk was a great source of information. The valet service was an added feature that made parking a breeze. The location was in the middle of everything we wanted to do. We totally enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing