We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel + Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #44 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Favorite Hotel + Destination”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My daughter and I make an annual trip to Charleston SC and this is our favorite place to stay. Beautiful hotel in a great location. Love the park adjacent to the property. King St is directly behind the hotel.
The rooms are immaculate, the breakfast is delicious (even the grits are great). The manager's reception is a nice chill time in the evenings.
I love the beds and comforters.
Staff is consistently helpful and polite.
We used the pool and hot tub for the first time and the area is well maintained.

Room Tip: I've never stayed on M level but was told there are no windows in those suites. I prefer to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drazilnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    533
    301
    164
    109
See reviews for
643
562
37
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Favorite hotel I've ever stayed in. Location, comfort, beauty, amenities, staff, breakfast, reception... We arrived early, front desk offered to take our luggage until room was ready (this included a bicycle). Location is great. Rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel common areas are very nice. The complimentary breakfast is excellent .
Service is very good but the rooms are way below par.
In our room the king bed was placed about 14 inches from a solid brick wall - not
even enough room for a bedside table. The mattress and pillows were terrible - back still
aches.
Windows were small and not placed well so the room was very dark.
Unless there are different rooms , I would not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincyPhantom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Your feedback about how we can improve is so important. We appreciate that you shared your experience and are looking into your concerns regarding our mattresses. I apologize for any discomfort you experienced. If there is anything else we can do for you in the future, certainly let us know. We're dedicated to comfort.

Kind regards,
Nora Sturgeon
nora.sturgeon@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Wonderful property, great location, excellent staff, breakfast, and nightly reception. Do NOT book a room unless you can be guaranteed one with a window - it's a historic property, and some rooms don't have any natural light. Caused us to both wake up every couple of hours throughout the night, unable to tell if it was night or day. Very disorienting. Otherwise, totally great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Embassy Suites based on location, Hilton Honor rewards, and the fact that it offered the breakfast and happy hour. The location is good but if you want to be closer to all of the historic Charleston sites, another choice may be better. The walk didn't bother us most of the time but after a full day of walking and exploring, one could get tired. The good....The hotel is in the old Citadel with thick walls and small windows. The rooms have everything you need but are not modern or full of light. That didn't bother us because we weren't in our room much during the day. And at night, there was no noise!!!! The happy hour is great and there is a lovely patio to sit and enjoy your drink. The hotel staff was nice and accommodating. There is a small but nice pool and hot tub for guests located off the patio and surrounded by trees and a wall for privacy. And Marion Park borders the hotel which makes a great place to walk and sit for relaxation. Now the bad...The breakfast was terrible. There is no other way to describe the hard, cold scrambled eggs, the greasy "made to order" eggs, cold coffee, greasy bacon, watery gravy. The second day was no better. In fact, there was no coffee at 8:00 am when we got there. The third day, we went out for breakfast. If you eat yogurt or doughnuts for breakfast, you will probably be fine but the "cook" needs serious training!!!

Room Tip: All King size rooms are on the first and second floors. Woman staying alone may want a room on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We regret we were not able to provide you with the consistent quality breakfast items you expected. Our cooked-to-order breakfast is comprised of a variety of selections but we are constantly looking for ways to improve the guest experience, and as a brand, are looking at additional items we could include. We appreciate your suggestions and will take them under consideration. On your next visit to the area, I hope you consider staying with us again so we can demonstrate the excellent food service and hospitality we are known for.

Kind regards,
Nora Sturgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Not worth the money. Rooms dull. Poor quality tv's. No desk to work on. Just a table and inconvenient wall plugs. No desk lamp. No tableware. Great location. Just one short block from visitor center. Breakfast was quite good as was reception although hors derves were not. carrots and sweet patatoes or pretzels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I visited Charleston for the first time in April, 2013. I have been a Hilton Diamond and Gold travelor for many years, but had never visited Charleston. This hotel is unique as it was an actual Citadol or fortress back at the turn of the 19th Century. Our room had very high narrow windows which were the old gun ports, plus one normal window, but also about five feet above the floor level. Very high ceilings, but with all of the amenities of Embassy Suites. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and loved the Crispy Creme donuts too. You could sit inside or outside and enjoy a very nice setting.
What appealed to us was that the front desk staff were very knowledgable about the surrounding area. They provided suggestions that were truly helpful on seeing Sullivan's Island and eating at Poet's restaurant near Fort Moultrie. I am not the best on names, but Tara and Amanda at the front desk were very helpful to us. This location is on Meeting Street and is close enough to drive easily to plantations or down to the battery. We had an added bonus as there was an All City Dog Show held at the park adjacent to the hotel. Also across the street is the Charleston Museum and an historic house from 1803. I cannot say more about the great time that we had, but would encourage others to try this location.

Room Tip: The first two floors are the original Citadol building for those looking for a room with original wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiefs1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing