We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!!!!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Can't understand why this hotel isn't higher up on the TA list. Everyone form the doormen, lobby staff, restaurant staff we so friendly and helpful. The free breakfast and managers drinks in the evening is a huge bonus for a hotel where the rates are already so reasonable. I don't understand what people could complain about. We stayed for 6 nights and could have stayed for 6 more. Great location, nice pool, comfortable rooms and all in a historic setting. Well done and thanks to the staff at embassy suites for making our stay such a memorable one.
Rooms large cool and comfortable, great atmosphere. Will definitely recommend to friends and family and will return hopefully soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    523
    286
    157
    106
See reviews for
624
545
36
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Some people commented about rooms needing updating or refresh, this may be true, but the room was kept very clean and the bathroom was all updated. Friendly staff, helpful. Good breakfast, enjoyed the made to order omellettes. Fresh fruit also available, nice to have. My room was 126, on the ground floor above street level. Woken up in AM by street sweeper - so if you're a light sleeper, ask for a room oa higher level. I just wore earplugs and slept the following nights without a problem. Travel a lot, so not bothered by these little things - just adjust. Nice big counters in bathroom, lots of space to put things. Lots of thick towels. Location was perfect. Walked everywhere, close to trolley stop if you want that option. Close to car rental. Nice market Saturday AM in Marion Square next to hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Southern hospitality at its finest. We were greeted by a very accomodating doorman who took care of everything from parking our car to answering our many questions about the area to even retrieving a forgotten book from our parked car and delivering it to our room. The hotel provides nightly cocktails and appetizers in the lobby from 5:30 to 7:00, and a hot breakfast each morning from 6:30 to 9:30 (sausage, bacon, waffles, pastry, etc). Both were just what we needed during our short, busy stay in Charleston. The location is perfect for walking to the shops, College of Charleston, or the historic district. Room was perfectly set up with a sofa bed, table and sink/fridge/micro on one side, and a bedroom (two queens) on the other side. Our family of four was very comfortable. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites for 6 nights over the PGA Championship week in August, having booked the room over a year ago because we wanted this hotel and we were using HHonors points. The building is really cool on the outside and even better on the inside. The atrium was beautiful and made it feel huge! The room was smaller than other hotels, but we knew this going in given the historic nature of the building. We certainly made the space work, and the room had all amenities we needed. The free breakfast and made-to-order omlets (egg whites if ordered) were fantastic. We had lunch there one day as well and it was also good. Room was clean, staff friendly. Manager's reception in the afternoon is always a nice touch. Location is excellent, just a block from the Visitor's Center where all three of the free trolleys stop. Short walk down Meeting Street to the Markets, or down King Street for restaurants and shops. Also just a few blocks walking to catch the ferry to Fort Sumter, next to the Aquarium (or catch the free trolley). Saturday morning there was a great Farmer's Market set up in the park next door to the hotel - food, crafts, artwork, etc. Only complaint was the children running wild in the room above ours which was VERY noisy, but certainly not the hotel's fault. Would definitely stay here again on another visit to Charleston!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleS0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just one night at this lovely historic building and we wished we were staying longer. We were greeted by a welcoming doorman who assisted us with our check-in. Our room was spacious with 2 TV's and lounge area and very comfortable beds and pillows. We were very glad to have selected this historic location with free drinks in the afternoon and a full breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the park which we enjoyed viewing without any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had high expectation since I had stayed in the past month at other Hilton hotels and left to be very disappointed in the customer service and room care service...linens not changed...food pushed is the corner of the room from breakfast...never removed...asked for a better room...moved to the streets where trash trucks come at 4 am to remove trash and then to be placed in an area of the lobby where kids are running and playing and where the daily breakfast is served on the first floor...This was to be a romantic getaway!!!!

Room Tip: You can ask for a better room as we did and were given a room of less value with noise and distracti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelYourDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry for the inconveniences. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. We have addressed our staff in regards to your issues and we do not expect them to be repeated. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider giving us another chance on your next trip to the Lowcountry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
159 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

In general, very nice property in an ideal central location in Charleston. Historic building retaining much of its history and charm. Very good Embassy Suite service, evening social and buffet breakfast. Made to order omelets good. Lacking only in a few housekeeping/maintenance issues in my room: makeup splattered on the wall by the bathroom mirror, replaced wallpaper over shower did not match faded paper, ceiling showing signs of poor repair in bathroom. Rest of room very nice.

Room Tip: Go high for view--but watch what side---ask for park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing