We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place to stay in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favorite place to stay in Charleston”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here for a girls weekend trip and we had a great time. The hotel has valet parking or a parking garage next door. The hotel features a swimming pool, a restaurant with free breakfast which was fantastic, a bar with 2hours (5-7pm) complimentary drinks. The rooms could of stood to be cleaned better but the beds were extremely comfortable. Room was plenty big enough for 3 women to share. Bathroom was on the small side however. The hotel itself is historic and beautiful. Hotel is said to be haunted and we are really interested in that and requested room M133 to experience the weekend in a haunted room. However upon checking in we were not given M133. I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which had a door that opened to a balcony. (this was not advertised and was a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words! Please call us the next time you are in town and the manager on duty will do their best to assign you to the requested suite. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    521
    285
    157
    105
See reviews for
623
545
36
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here when my son graduated from The Citadel. It was really neat to stay in the same rooms that cadets lived in so many years ago. The hotel is really lovely and the staff was very nice. The breakfast each morning was terrific and they provided a relaxing cocktail reception with delicious snacks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJhappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My husband and I wanted to take a trip to Charleston for our 4th wedding Anniversary and we decided to stay at this hotel because of it's neat history as the Old Citadel building. I must admit, I was a little apprehensive to book here based on some of the reviews. I originally wanted to stay in one of the Bed and Breakfasts due to my recent great experience at a B&B in Savannah, GA, but we decided to stay here to save a little money with our ability to get the Military rate. We were very pleased with our choice to stay here and it exceeded our expectations. I have stayed at many Embassy Suites in the past and this one had it's own unique ambiance. The rooms were a little scantily furnished and the atrium wasn't as lavash as some Embassy Suites, but I felt that this fit the atmosphere of an old military building and the hotel still appeared beautiful as Embassy Suites are known for. My husband and I loved the exposed bricks in the suites and felt the rooms were to our satisfaction, since we were only really using the suites to lounge and sleep at night as we were out exploring during the day. The wireless internet seemed a little slow when both of us were on our laptops, but seemed to work fine when only one of us was using the net to browse.

The location of the hotel butts up against King's street with many shops and chain eateries to enjoy. It is a little bit more of a walk to reach the main downtown tourist areas like the Provost, Market street, and some of the old neighborhoods; however, we could easily walk the other direction from the hotel and reach the Aquarium and Fort Sumter museum. We mainly walked to all our attractions and the weather was great for this, but we noticed the Free trolley was available also if you're not up to the walking.

The staff was very pleasant and we enjoyed the greetings/noises of the live birds by the front desk. We were also very satisfied with the breakfast. We stayed a Thur-Sunday and only noticed lines for breakfasts at the later times (9-10am) on Sat and Sunday. The line was for the omelets and they seemed to be running smoothly with the system of writing down your order and then having your name called when your order was up.

After we left, we received a call from the front desk notifying me that a pair of glasses had been left in the room we were staying in. The glasses were indeed mine and I didn't even realize I had left them as we weren't home yet to unpack. The hotel staff promptly had the glasses securely packaged and mailed to me right away!

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others who plan to travel to Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickelBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Historic Embassy Suites as your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites in downtown Charleston for three nights right after Christmas. It was a last minute trip as we both had end of year vacation time to use. We chose this hotel as we prefer staying at an Embassy Suites if one is available over other hotels. We love having a suite, plus the large free breakfast is an added plus. The hotel was in the perfect location for both walking around Charleston and for a quick visit to Folley Beach. Service was good. Our only complaint were our neighbors. Since it was the holidays there were alot of families staying at the hotel. The suite next to ours was occupied by three kids whose parents would abandon them every night from 8-12. The kids would go in and out all night slamming the door. Every time my husband would go out to say something, they'd disappear. When we complained to the front desk, they did come up and talk to the kids finally. Problem was we had to complain to the desk EVERY night to get it to stop. Who knows where the parents were! We plan on visiting Charleston again for a longer visit and will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halls4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback. We apologize for the noise you encountered while staying at our facility. The next time you find yourself in Charleston, contact a manager and we will personally find a room on the side corrider away from everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Love the old ambience but the people who work here are sooooo nice! From check in to check out, great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thanks for your feeback! We strive to give the very best experience in the industry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

You are paying for the location. Customer Service was actually the one redeeming quality. The rooms are furnished with poor quality items. Although the room was spacious, (accessible ADA)(not requested) it was really disappointing.I chose this property because of the convenience of having breakfast included, which was really satisfactory. However, the room experience really dampened our stay. The lighting was inadequate, the AC vent was installed poorly.We stayed in M113 and despite the fact that we reported the issue twice, we we awaken both mornings by 6:30 am by the excessive noise coming from a"staff room" adjacent to our room. It was impossible to ho back to sleep. I believe that Brandon from the front desk did try to address the issue but the maintenance staff had to get ready for the day and subsequently it caused us a disturbance.It did dampened our stay as we always have early mornings and were looking forward to sleeping in on our 2 night stay. Perhaps this rooms should have better soundproofing or should not be used. Overall, I expected better quality for this rate.Kudos to the Front desk staff Nora and Brandon as well as the two young men that valet our cars, during arrival and departure, their friendliness and professionalism were actually redeeming.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorergirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
I'm happy to hear that we were able to deliver excellent service to you. I will share your comments with our team members.

We apologize for what you experienced at our hotel. We are looking into the issues you stated and will be working to correct those problems.

We hope that what you encountered does not cause you to lose faith in our brand. The next time you find yourself in Charleston, please contact the Manager On Duty and he/she will personally select a room that fits your needs.

Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a converted historic building, and they did a really interesting job. Huge lobby and atrium. Original brick in the outer wall of the rooms. All rooms are suites with separate living rooms with sofa-beds. All was clean and fine. The breakfast is amazing, although the line is occasionally long. The line for free drinks at the manager's reception each day is also long, but it is free snacks and drinks. Parking is your choice of valet or self-park in a structure next door. The location of the hotel is good if you don't mind being quite a few blocks from Market street. It's a nice walk along the King street shops down to Market street or a modestly priced cab ride (about $8), or a free trolley ride. We really liked the location since there is a park next door, museums a block away and excellent (amazing) dining choices just a few blocks away. The staff are very attentive and give good advice and quick service. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They tell us that some rooms don't have windows. Ours on the 2nd floor did. A room on the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewPlaceFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Embassy Suites to host you during your stay in the Lowcountry! We hope to serve you again the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing