We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not close to Historic district”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Ranked #49 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. Great hotel, friendly staff comfortable room but a little far from the historic district. There is a trolley that you can take outside the hotel to the visitor's centre but is never in time. You may end up waiting for a good 15 to 20 minutes. The last trolley on weekdays is around 8:30 but we found that it had left earlier. It is not a dependable mode of transportation back to the hotel. We ended up taking a taxi on most nights, which cost around 8 to 10 dollars from the historic district. The breakfast was good but on most mornings the area was full and we couldn't find seating. There are no restaurants closer to the hotel except a fast food place about which was a 10 minute. If you intend to travel by car, then this may work for you. For the next time I will look for one closer to the historic district

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiro16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 566 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

The location should not deter someone from staying here. Access to historic Charleston is available by walking or the free trolley. Some good restaurants are also within walking distance the hotel recommends. The room included a small couch and well maintained. It looked like it was recently renovated. Parking can be tight, but valet parking is available when the lot is full. So why not five stars. Three problems that can be addressed. The hotel has a policy of writing and displaying your room number on the parking pass placed on the dash of your vehicle. The pass is understandable, but why risk privacy and security by advertising one's room number. Instead keep a record of the license plate number at check in. The front desk would not honor my request to keep the room number off the pass. Secondly, the front desk was good enough to alert us to the free trolley into Charleston, but incorrectly told us to wait outside the side door. The actual stop was a few hundred feet away and out of sight at the curb. We missed the trolley and had to walk into town rather then wait 30 more minutes. Finally, the front desk staff member incorrectly circled the hotel's location on the map provided. When we did return by trolley we got off a few blocks from the actual location and it took us some time to find our way back to the hotel. As stated, these problems can be corrected.

Room Tip: Third floor has direct access to the nearby rooftop pool and fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Comfort Inn Riverview is located right near all the hospitals; if someone is having medical tests, this is very convenient for the family to stay. The drive to the historica area just took a few minutes and we found parking easily in town. The breakfast is great with a waffle maker, eggs, biscuits, gravy, toast, cereal and fresh fruit. The room was very clean and comfortable; the staff was polite and caring. The only small problem could be parking, the overflow parking is at a bank next door, and if parked there, you must move your vehicle by 8:00 a.m., then find parking at the hotel parking lot. We did not have a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferwilliams7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked this hotel for our annual girls trip based on the room rates. We were not in our room a lot so it was a great rate for what we needed it for. It is in a nice area outside of downtown historic district, very close to the Ashley river. It's not in a dumpy location, it's actually right near MUSC. The pool was great, very refreshing. Breakfast is also great. Some things were gone when we got to breakfast and we asked for more and had no issues. Food was fresh and had lots of options, the strawberry waffles were amazing! They do have a trolley, but we did not use for our stay. It did run every 30 min or so. The only issues I had with this hotel was the parking and bathroom. Parking is an issue for sure. If we would have kept our car in the same location the whole time, it would have been okay but we left the hotel to drive into downtown or the beach and had a time finding parking. You can park in the bank location, over the weekend and will not need to move it. But during the week, it needs to be moved by 730am. The front desk will move it for you if you leave your keys. We did not do this because we were here during the weekend and I am thankful for that. The bathroom was also very dirty upon our arrival, especially the toilet. That issue was fixed but it was the point of arriving to the room and seeing that.
Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and the hotel. I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank dmcrussell28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff at the Comfort Inn were fabulous. Extremely nice front desk staff and when I couldn't get my key to work, they sent someone up to the room immediately. He was also really nice and I wish I could remember names.

The fitness room is great and was neat and clean. The rooftop pool was amazing-clean and comfortable.

We did get a King smoking room. The room of course smelled like smoke, but I always bring Febreeze with us and that took care of it.

The hotel was very clean and updated.

It's also located very close to the Veteran's Hospital, MUSC, and the medical centers in the area.

We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you Betty for mentioning the front desk staff. It is always nice to hear that we took care of a guest immediately. The roof top pool is one of my favorite things about this hotel. I am glad you enjoyed it also

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is updated and very clean, the breakfast was very good and the people are very nice. I would stay there again. It's not close to downtown, but there is a free trolley service to many areas that you would want to visit. We did a plantation tour, which was great and Fort Sumter (this was great). Charleston is historic and I think beautiful, a lot to see and great restaurants. Get ready to walk and just have a great time.

Room Tip: The rooms are all nice and clean and newer, no view in this area, but it is very safe and the pool w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

We will be looking for you to stay again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

After having read some terrible reviews (though they were from 1-3 years ago) I reserved a room for one night, since we had an early morning appt. , and a 2-3 hour drive at 6 am to an unfamiliar city wasn't what we wanted. Upon entering the room, I immediately looked for signs of problems, and, happily, found NONE. A clean room, with a contemporary style, a king bed, desk, chair, closet, and no chipped paint, broken tile or obvious dirt anywhere. We were both pleased with the room. Having gotten in late, we ordered some Chinese for delivery, and relaxed with dinner in the room. The leftovers went into the fridge, with some soda, and there was a microwave for heating up leftovers if we so desired. The closet had an ironing table and iron for last minute touch-ups if needed. Our drive in the morning was about 5 minutes away. Yes, parking is tight, but make the best of this and enjoy a really nice hotel.

Room Tip: If you have children, the 4th floor has the pool (outdoor - right over the registration drive-in) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenPankowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to show you how things can change in a few years. We are very proud to say that you are the reason things are turning around. Thank you for sharing such positive comments about the Comfort Inn Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations King Street Resort
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 62 in Charleston
266 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#23 of 62 in Charleston
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Address: 144 Bee St, Charleston, SC 29401-5701
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $97 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Comfort Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing