We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay in Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Ranked #49 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay in Town”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Comfort Inn Riverview is located right near all the hospitals; if someone is having medical tests, this is very convenient for the family to stay. The drive to the historica area just took a few minutes and we found parking easily in town. The breakfast is great with a waffle maker, eggs, biscuits, gravy, toast, cereal and fresh fruit. The room was very clean and comfortable; the staff was polite and caring. The only small problem could be parking, the overflow parking is at a bank next door, and if parked there, you must move your vehicle by 8:00 a.m., then find parking at the hotel parking lot. We did not have a problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferwilliams7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    143
    129
    72
    87
See reviews for
139
183
43
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for our annual girls trip based on the room rates. We were not in our room a lot so it was a great rate for what we needed it for. It is in a nice area outside of downtown historic district, very close to the Ashley river. It's not in a dumpy location, it's actually right near MUSC. The pool was great, very refreshing. Breakfast is also great. Some things were gone when we got to breakfast and we asked for more and had no issues. Food was fresh and had lots of options, the strawberry waffles were amazing! They do have a trolley, but we did not use for our stay. It did run every 30 min or so. The only issues I had with this hotel was the parking and bathroom. Parking is an issue for sure. If we would have kept our car in the same location the whole time, it would have been okay but we left the hotel to drive into downtown or the beach and had a time finding parking. You can park in the bank location, over the weekend and will not need to move it. But during the week, it needs to be moved by 730am. The front desk will move it for you if you leave your keys. We did not do this because we were here during the weekend and I am thankful for that. The bathroom was also very dirty upon our arrival, especially the toilet. That issue was fixed but it was the point of arriving to the room and seeing that.
Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and the hotel. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcrussell28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff at the Comfort Inn were fabulous. Extremely nice front desk staff and when I couldn't get my key to work, they sent someone up to the room immediately. He was also really nice and I wish I could remember names.

The fitness room is great and was neat and clean. The rooftop pool was amazing-clean and comfortable.

We did get a King smoking room. The room of course smelled like smoke, but I always bring Febreeze with us and that took care of it.

The hotel was very clean and updated.

It's also located very close to the Veteran's Hospital, MUSC, and the medical centers in the area.

We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you Betty for mentioning the front desk staff. It is always nice to hear that we took care of a guest immediately. The roof top pool is one of my favorite things about this hotel. I am glad you enjoyed it also
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is updated and very clean, the breakfast was very good and the people are very nice. I would stay there again. It's not close to downtown, but there is a free trolley service to many areas that you would want to visit. We did a plantation tour, which was great and Fort Sumter (this was great). Charleston is historic and I think beautiful, a lot to see and great restaurants. Get ready to walk and just have a great time.

Room Tip: The rooms are all nice and clean and newer, no view in this area, but it is very safe and the pool w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We will be looking for you to stay again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

After having read some terrible reviews (though they were from 1-3 years ago) I reserved a room for one night, since we had an early morning appt. , and a 2-3 hour drive at 6 am to an unfamiliar city wasn't what we wanted. Upon entering the room, I immediately looked for signs of problems, and, happily, found NONE. A clean room, with a contemporary style, a king bed, desk, chair, closet, and no chipped paint, broken tile or obvious dirt anywhere. We were both pleased with the room. Having gotten in late, we ordered some Chinese for delivery, and relaxed with dinner in the room. The leftovers went into the fridge, with some soda, and there was a microwave for heating up leftovers if we so desired. The closet had an ironing table and iron for last minute touch-ups if needed. Our drive in the morning was about 5 minutes away. Yes, parking is tight, but make the best of this and enjoy a really nice hotel.

Room Tip: If you have children, the 4th floor has the pool (outdoor - right over the registration drive-in) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenPankowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to show you how things can change in a few years. We are very proud to say that you are the reason things are turning around. Thank you for sharing such positive comments about the Comfort Inn Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

For the price, I really can't complain. We stayed here two nights and were lucky enough to get the last parking spot when arriving. The parking situation was awful enough that I didn't move it until we checked out, but it was free.

Our room on the fifth floor with a king bed was very clean, though there was a large empty space where it seemed like a small couch should sit. In the morning (after getting a couple waffles from the continental breakfast) we took the free trolley downtown and finally returned back to the hotel around 11 p.m. via a $10 cab. Not bad.

If you don't want to deal with parking and the headaches of staying in the heart of the historic district then this is the place to be. It was a pleasant stay and was easy to get to when we needed some sleep after exploring the city all day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Isn’t it wonderful when you can arrive at your destination and not have to drive until you leave?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have had the wonderful opportunity to stay at this Comfort Inn and would like to let others know about our stay. We had to go to MUSC on three separate occasions in three different months and each time we stayed there we were very pleased! The staff was friendly, helpful, and seemed genuinely concerned about our stay there. The rooms were clean and neat. The breakfast had so much variety and was so plentiful!! I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay...Hats off to Comfort Inn!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We sincerely appreciate you taking time to mention the Comfort Inn during your medical visits to MUSC. While we realize you may stay with us because we are within walking distance to MUSC we trust that you will stay with us anytime you have the opportunity to visit Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 61 in Charleston
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Address: 144 Bee St, Charleston, SC 29401-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Comfort Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing