We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for most things” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Battery Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Battery Carriage House Inn
Ranked #19 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good location for most things”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2005

Stayed here with my wife and two boys (21 & 18) this July. The location is right at the bottom of town looking out to sea at the confluence of the rivers. Easy to park cars and a comfortable walk into the downtown area. It is located in the area of historic houses so when your walking you can be really nosey! The whole building is featured in postcards of Charleston showing the whole terrace, so it's right up there with the best properties.

Don't be fooled by the website. The accommodation is at ground level with no access into the main house which is a private residence. The rooms are well furnished and clean. Breakfast is really good and can be served to your room (which we did) or in the garden.

It's definitely not your hotel chain type and the staff will provide help and bookings for tours. It's a bit more expensive but for three nights we thought it was really worth it. Oh and the beds are terrific and it's very quiet at night.

Helpful?
4 Thank Buddie-Paisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    22
    19
    16
See reviews for
16
107
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2005

For the money we paid, I was expecting a little more. The grounds are nice, but the rooms are not very luxurious. There was no soap in the room when we arrived, and we had to go to the lobby to get it. Same thing the next day when we discovered the room did not have an iron. The "breakfast" was meager, consisting of cereal or a hard croissant. For the amount of money we paid, we could have stayed somewhere much nicer.

Stayed June 2004
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2005

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was terrific! The breakfast was pretty good and the room was very nice....small but nice!
The Guy at the front desk was cool and very helpful. You will have to walk a good deal if you want to get somewhere but its still worth it. The ghost tours talk about the Inn and thats cool. The inn has lots of atmosphere and it is a bit spooky but fun....visit the courtyard in the back at night if you wanna get freaked out.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2005

Based on some written reviews and word of mouth praises, I was excited about staying at the Battery Carriage House on my recent visit to Charleston. I should not have been. In fact, it was extremely disappointing! The room was small, the bathroom too small, the sink in the bathroom was stopped up (drained too slowly), the bed was hard, the breakfast was wrong and someone at the hotel actually changed my menu to serve only one occupant instead of two. It was impossible to maintain a comfortable temperature in the room because with the heater on it was too hot and with it off it was too cold. The heater was old and the thermostat apparently did not work correctly. The only good part of the experience was a very friendly desk clerk who went out of her way to try to make things better. Although I appreciated her effort, it was not quite enough to make the stay an enjoyable one. I would HIGHLY recommend that you stay somewhere else. You would spend less money and enjoy it more.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2004

The Battery Carriage House was so picturesque and gorgeous!! My room was very charming and was on the bottom floor near the cobblestone entrance. All the rooms are different and have that lovely southern charm. Mine had a light silky color wallpaper and a gorgeous 4-poster bed with light and airy sheered canopy. The hotel served breakfast every morning whenever you like. You can choose from a variety of items from fresh fruit yogurt to light and fluffy croscents. You can eat outside on a comfortable lounge chair in the beautiful courtyard brimming with a lush amount of flowers secluded under centuries-old oak trees or in your room that has views of the garden and have doors that open out to the picturesque walkway. The staff are very warm and inviting and give suggestions on what to do and see in the beautiful city of Charleston. They are very helpful. The location is outstanding!!!!! The hotel is located on South Battery and is right across from a tranquil park filled with oaks, which is right across from the Harbour. Highly recomended!!!!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2004

On a recent weekend trip to Charleston, we stayed at the Battery Carriage House Inn. It was a fabulous trip, primarily because of the Battery Carriage House. The location was great, within walking distance of the harbor and the shopping/restaurant district. Parking was free. Our room (like all eleven) opened up to the beautifully manicured garden. Breakfast was delivered on a silver platter to our room each morning (or you could have it served in the garden). Complimentary wine and cheese every evening. Very romantic. Make sure you ask about the Inn's history as it was built in 1843.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank suelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Carriage House Inn

Property: Battery Carriage House Inn
Address: 20 South Battery, Charleston, SC 29401-2727 (Formerly 1843 Battery Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Battery Carriage House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Charleston inn offers true Southern charm accommodations amongst a backdrop of one of the most serene areas on the peninsula. We are located right in the heart of Charleston's iconic Battery area and only steps away from the promenade with stunning views of the Charleston Harbor. You will be close enough to everything you wish to see and do while enjoying our fair city, while returning to relax in your peaceful slice of Lowcountry paradise. Let our staff guide you during your Charleston journey, and help ease any potential travel woes. We are always more than happy to assist in any way we can! Tea and cookies will be here for your midday pick-me-up, and unwind before enjoying an evening on the town with wine and cheese in our lobby. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1843 Battery Carriage House Inn b&b
1843 Battery Carriage House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing