We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Battery Carriage House Inn
Ranked #20 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Hamilton,NJ
Level Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Carriage House recently. Check-in went well, the girl at the desk was very pleasant. However, upon entering our room, we were immediately disappointed. I would say "shabby" was my first thought. There was a canopy bed, a small desk with no chair, a small table with an ice bucket and a couple glasses and one small table by the bed. Oh yes, two small armless chairs with stained seat covers. Even the pictures on the wall were crooked. The room said nothing about where we were, just totally void of charm.

Bathroom had a pedestal sink with a small shelf above, no room to put anything. Shower was a decent size with a tiled seat, some of the tile were cracked and when my wife put her foot up to shave her leg a tile actually broke off and fell on her foot.

Once we brought our luggage up and set up the racks to hold them, things got even tighter. We found it very difficult to get comfortable.

We had our breakfast delivered to our room the next morning. That was fun. Had to move the ice bucket tray to the bed to make room for the food tray. It's fun trying to eat cereal from a bowl balanced on your leg, coffee and juice on the floor, try not to kick those over, what a joke. Might explain the stained seat covers.

One reason we wanted to stay at Carriage House was that it is allegedly haunted. We were in Room 8, some time home of the headless torso. I didn't see or "feel" anything. My wife woke once each night to a very foul odor in the room. We haven't been able to figure out if it was a visitation, our dirty laundry or mold in the air conditioner.

All things considered, we would not return.

Room Tip: Stay away from # 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    22
    19
    16
See reviews for
16
107
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in the Bedroom and Sitting room on our stay. It is very dark in both rooms, no windows in the bedroom and only windows in the French door in the living room. We really liked it and they are careful to warn you on their website and when you make the reservation about the darkness. You do need to have the lights on all the time. So if sunlight and opening windows are on your agenda, this is not the room for you. The kingsize bed is very comfortable. The sitting room has a couch, comfortable chair and a table with two straight chairs. The reading lamps and other lighting are excellent (usually one of my complaints). The bathroom has a large jacuzzi tub that is high and difficult to get into. There was no bath mat for inside the tub so it was a little slippery. (I'm recovering from a broken ankle so am super sensetive about falling right now.) The toilet is up on a pedestal so my feet didn't touch the ground and that was a little odd. The room was very quiet all of the time. They have great chocolate chip cookies and iced tea out in the reception area all day and wine and cheese and crackers from 5:30 to 7 PM. All the reception staff was very helpful with making dinner reservations and answering any questions that we had regarding the area. They also have a large collection of menus to look over. Parking in on the street, but we were always to find a spot within a block even during the Columbus Day holiday weekend. Breakfast is either served in your room or out in the garden. It's the same every day - coffee, tea, choice of three juices, cereal, croissants, bagels, grapefruit and yogurt. You can have it delivered from 8 to 10 AM. I was happy with that as I hate to eat early. There are two steps down to the patio outside the room and three steps down to the room so this is not a place for those with mobility issues. It's right on the Battery so a nice park to walk in right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We traveled with friends to Charleston who wanted to stay at a B&B on the Battery. My room description was cozy and filled with antiques, but in reality is was small and not comfortable for 2 adults during our 5 night visit. Also the bathroom was tiny and in my opinion a safety hazard as the tub was deep, slippery and without safety rails. A continental breakfast was served each morning that can best be described as boring and something I could get in my house.

We had lived in Charleston in the mid-70's and returned for a visit in 2003. On that trip we stayed at the Harborview Inn. I regret that we did not do so this time. Also the location, while on the Battery is beautiful, it is not convient to the restuarants, the historical sites and the shopping that make Charleston unique.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent three nights here and had a fantastic time. We found the room to be clean and comfortable, The staff were friendly and very helpful. The location was great for taking walks into the center of Charleston via Meeting St or the Battery. Parking on the street was never a problem, in afternoon or evening after dinner. Our breakfast was always served during the time we requested and was always tasteful and plenty enough to get our day started. We have stayed in three other B&B's in Charleston and would rate this one as one of the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent 5 days in Charleston, a beautiful city, and our first trip here. The location of the Inn is perfect and is a great starting point to walk through the stunning neighbourhoods, or along the seawall. Unfortunately, that is the only thing that has allowed us to give a second star to this Inn. Our room was as described on the website. However, we quickly discovered that the quality of the care taken at the inn, was lacking. The shower curtains were mildewed, the rug was dirty, and appeared to not have been vacuumed recently. Little things were left wanting: no coffee makers in the room (only a kettle for instant coffee), toiletries not being replaced daily and absolutely no variation on breakfast items served (after 5 days the same plain bagel gets pretty old). The lasting impression we have of this inn is that the owner is coasting, and just raking in the rents. The inn has been open since Hugo, and it looks like a not a dollar has been spent since (witness the tiny 13" tubed television in our room). We came here after spending 4 days at an old Inn in Savannah, which was truly world class at a lower daily stipend. The differences in staff, quality of service and the care of the facility were startling. We saw many quality choices on our walks through Charleston, and would recommend that people give the Battery Carriage house a pass.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We love Charleston and have been coming back every winter for almost a decade now and the only place we would ever consider staying is the Battery Carriage House. It is definitely our home away from home and we’ve stayed there up to two weeks at a time. We love the history, the location, the atmosphere, the quiet, but mostly the staff – they are wonderful, especially the manager Elizabeth, and Gena and Crystal who do so much to help make your stay pleasant. You can’t stay any more south of Broad than the Battery Carriage and yet have walking access to most of Charleston. The only reason we would not recommend it is to make sure we have no problem in making a reservation in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Location is wonderful, if you are wanting to really wander Charleston this place will serve you well. The street parking is not a problem, there were plenty of spaces. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Very clean and the house is beautiful however the majority of the house is a private residence, the B&B is only the lower level and rear. The property is still beautiful and really neat but not quite the full B&B experience. We have stayed at quite a few B&B's we like to avoid the chains so we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttroy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#11 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Carriage House Inn

Property: Battery Carriage House Inn
Address: 20 South Battery, Charleston, SC 29401-2727 (Formerly 1843 Battery Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Battery Carriage House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Charleston inn offers true Southern charm accommodations amongst a backdrop of one of the most serene areas on the peninsula. We are located right in the heart of Charleston's iconic Battery area and only steps away from the promenade with stunning views of the Charleston Harbor. You will be close enough to everything you wish to see and do while enjoying our fair city, while returning to relax in your peaceful slice of Lowcountry paradise. Let our staff guide you during your Charleston journey, and help ease any potential travel woes. We are always more than happy to assist in any way we can! Tea and cookies will be here for your midday pick-me-up, and unwind before enjoying an evening on the town with wine and cheese in our lobby. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Battery Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1843 Battery Carriage House Inn b&b
1843 Battery Carriage House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing