We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ansonborough Inn
Nearby Hotels
$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$281
$229
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$218
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Charleston Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$229
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,024)
Filter reviews
1,024 results
Traveler rating
698
230
53
28
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
230
53
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharris teeterexposed beamsoil paintingswine and cheesehigh ceilingsrooftop terracegrocery store across the streetpremium loftloft roomhospitality roomconverted warehousewet barcookiesfoot ceilingswithin walking distancefirst flooreast bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 1,024 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Charleston has maintain its historical look and the Ansonbough hotel follows that theme. It is a we'll maintain hotel with good size room that make you feel right at home. From the time we arrived to the time we left we where acknowledge and treated with great southern hospitality. The rooms where very clean and had all the comforts of home. The bed was a very comfortable king but the pillows where a little hard, which is not our preference. No fault of hotel. Once we got use to Charleston, we realized everything was within walking distance. So it was a plus because all our activities, our tours, and restaurants where within walking distance which we like. The best part was the price. You got a lot for what you paid for especial in Charleston

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor which I would recommend
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you so very much for this terrific review of the Ansonborough Inn! I am so happy to hear that you were able to experience Southern Charm first hand during your time with us! It is also delightful to know that you found our hotel to be such a great value, with a convenient location and comfortable rooms. I am glad that you found us to be a good value for Charleston. I sincerely hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future and that I am able to welcome you back to the Ansonborough Inn! Thank you again for taking the time to write this lovely review on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a Great place to stay. Centrally located, wonderfully courteous staff. Breakfast included and quite good. Could not be better. Highly recommend as you will get an old South quaint feel. Had a car but never used it as it sooooo easy to walk everywhere you wanted to go! Good way to work off the calories from the Shrimp and Grits!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

WOW! Thank you for such a wonderful TripAdvisor Review. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a perfect time at the Ansonborough Inn! I am so happy to know that everything about the Ansonborough Inn was exactly what you were looking for and needed during your visit to Charleston. It is wonderful to hear guests rave about our staff, our location and our rooms. The satisfaction of our guests means everything to us, so when we read these great reviews we are elated. I cannot thank you enough for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and then for sharing your rave review on TripAdvisor. I sincerely hope that I have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We booked the Inn last year for the annual get together of six three couples (family) primarily based upon recommendations on Trip Advisor. All of us have been to Charleston previously but we wanted to try someplace different. The Inn is not quite as centrally located, meaning it's about a two block walk from Market St. The hotel is a bit eclectic and seems to have been created out of an old warehouse, with some interior brick walls and exposed beams. The rooms are well-sized and our suite (337) was especially large, seemingly a corner of the the building, with 20' ceilings and a very effective A/C system. Bedding was adequate. Housekeeping was good. Staff were very friendly. Pleasantly, the room rate included breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening, the latter an especially easy way to transition into dinner in town. There is a lovely potpourri smell in and near the elevator which perhaps would be nice if introduced very lightly into the rooms; having said that, I realize that might not suit everyone. The sign on the building's entrance said it had been updated in 2000, which seems to describe current conditions, although the furnishings are traditional rather than modern, with some older pieces thrown in for interest value. Everyone liked the place.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Oberst06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! I am so happy to hear that you and all of your friends liked the hotel and enjoyed the time spent with us. It is great to know that you found your suite comfortable (337 is a guest favorite!) and that the housekeeping was to your satisfaction. I am also happy to hear that you particularly enjoyed the ambient scent in the hotel, as well as the complimentary amenities we offer. I hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future and we have the pleasure of saying, "Welcome Back!" Thanks again for this great review on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed in the Junior Suite. Very nice for 3 friends on a girls weekend. But Lobby can get noisy at night, the junior suites are off the lobby. Just be aware of that. Other rooms are up away from lobby but might not have the wonderful high ceilings we enjoyed. Breakfast each morning, not elaborate but fills you up. Nice wine & cheese spread in the evenings. Ask about rooftop terrace, fantastic views of city & seating up there to enjoy your wine & cheese. Staff was very courteous & efficient at all times. Parking is right next to hotel for $15 /day, off street which is nice & very rare in Charleston!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise. But junior suites in first floor have high ceilings.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holmdani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you so very much for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor! I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the complimentary amenities that we offer. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your wine and cheese on the rooftop terrace. It is also great to know that the staff was able to help you with whatever you might have needed during your time with us. Thank you for making the Ansonborough Inn part of you girls weekend! We hope if you have the opportunity to return to Charleston that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back! Thanks again for this great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We just returned from a 3-night stay at the Ansonborough Inn in March 2014. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The Inn is a cool, warehouse style building with enormous exposed wood beams visible throughout the 3-story lobby. We had a "king suite" on the third floor (which wasn't a traditional suite, but a roomy single room with a couch.) The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. There is an enormous art collection throughout the Inn, which adds to its uniqueness and charm. The staff was friendly and helpful with dinner recommendations and reservations.

The complimentary breakfast is fantastic, with lots of options. There is also a complimentary wine and cheese offering every evening (the wine wasn't great, but it was free and the pimento cheese was amazing!)

My only two criticisms:
1.) While the main areas of Charleston (Amen St, etc) are a very short walk, the Inn itself is located in an industrial area adjacent to the cruise terminal. A Carnival cruise was departing on our second day in Charleston, which led to lots of traffic, police activity and noise in the area. The Inn is on a corner, and is really surrounded by abandoned, weedy lots and garages.

2.) We were traveling with our 5 year old son, and I wouldn't necessarily consider the Inn (or Charleston in general) super child-friendly. Most of the other guests at the hotel seemed to be of retiree-age and we didn't see any other children there.

For couples traveling without children, I would highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Request the third floor!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatherbessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review on TripAdvisor! I am so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time in Charleston and your lodging at the Ansonborough Inn!
As far as the cruise ships go, Charleston is debarkation/embarkation port for the Carnival Fantasy every five days. The police do an excellent job of routing traffic out of the major tourist areas and the ship leaves promptly at 4:00pm, which limits the duration of activity. Without the police, the traffic would be far worse! You also mention "abandoned lots" in our vicinity, but there is not a single abandoned lot that I cank think of near our building. Perhaps you were mistaking some of the Port of Charleston?
I am sorry that you were not wholly satisfied with the kid-factor of Charleston, but with Carriage Rides, the Children's Museum, the Aquarium, and Harbor Tours most people who are travelling with kids anticipate an educational visit to this historic city.
Thank you again for this lovely review on TripAdvisor--and, of course, thank you for choosing the Ansonborough Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews