We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inn with style”
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ansonborough Inn
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An inn with style”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This was.my first time staying at this inn. I've seen ads in Southern Living Magazine since the 90s. It's located in a former paper mill. The wooden beans and flooring are beautiful. The inn is located a bit away from the hustle and bustle of Meeting Street- though it's just a 5 min. walk away. I stayed here on business and again, was desperate for a place to state. It was the week of the Southeast Wildlife conference and most places were booked. I got luck, as there was a cancellation. I had a corner room, with a comfy bed with white linens and a spacious living room. The inn is right across the street from a Harris Teeter grocery store.
There aren't many shops near this inn, as it is tucked away in a neighborhood.
The interiors are well done in the traditional style fitting an inn. Apparently the mother-and-daughter team and inn owners, who also live in Charleston, handle all interior decorating.
My only concern was a slight odor. Most noses won't puck it up, but b/c of the rain, it was more prominent.
All in all, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review on TripAdvisor! I am so happy to hear that after having heard about the Ansonborough Inn for so many years you finally had the opportunity to stay with us. Southeastern Wildlife Expo is a really busy week, so it sounds like you got really lucky with the cancellation that allowed you to have a reservation. It would say it was "meant to be." I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our interior decor, as well as your room. Thanks again for the great review on TripAdvisor--I hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    211
    50
    24
    15
See reviews for
137
534
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Rarely does my husband say he wants to go back somewhere .... And YES!!! This is one of those he wants to come back!. Prices reasonable, service amazing, location was awesome, beds sooo comfy... Loved the fire place since it happened to be a cold evening & morning ... Exposed wood beams & art work... beautiful ... Husband also enjoyed the wine & cheese :-) breakfast--coffee & juices were great but the rest was just so-so ... However they clearly state it is only continental. However! I My opinion is it would have been easy for them to set out a quiche or casserole , which would have been just perfect

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeykennesaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks to you and your husband for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that your husband was so impressed by us that he "broke his silence" and told you he wanted to come back. It is wonderful to know that our rates, service, location, and amenities all contributed to a fantastic visit to Charleston! Thank you again for the TripAdvisor Review--I hope to see you again in the Future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We arrived at Ansonborough Inn late night after having received very helpful over-the-phone instructions on how to find our way. Since we came slightly off season (early February) we got a good deal (upgraded to a more expensive room, same price as ordinary room). The room was truly amazing, as was the service from the very friendly staff. The only minus was perhaps the lack of healthy more "whole grain" alternatives at breakfast - which otherwise was excellent. Location is great. Close to many VERY good restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfg73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! It is great to know that even before you arrived we started to make your experience with us enjoyable. I am also happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you with good-value in a very nice room. Thanks again for the wonderful TripAdvisor Review--I hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is even better than it looks in the pictures. The building itself has a lot of exposed wood beams and beautiful exposed brickwork. The rooms are so spacious and well furnished. Plenty of room to move around and feel at home. Even the bathroom is huge. We stayed in early February, so the fireplace by the bed was cozy, romantic, and much appreciated! The staff are also wonderful - so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was more than expected (yummy fresh hot cinnamon rolls!) and the afternoon reception was also delicious. The location is great - only a few blocks from the market area, and easy walking distance to most things downtown. I have stayed here twice now and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor! It sounds like you stayed in and enjoyed one of our premium plus rooms. Those are some of our favorite rooms with the fireplace and large bathroom. I am also happy to hear that the staff was able to help you with everything that you needed! Those Cinnamon Rolls are one of the newest additions to our breakfast, so it's great to know that they are a hit! Thanks again for the great review--I look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We recently revisited this inn, one of our all time favorites. The comfortable, charming room, the warm ambiance and good food were just as remembered. It's within easy walking distance of the historical sites and in a lovely area for walking. We love this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dini35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! It is great to know that you have such fond memories of the Ansonborough Inn and that everything was as great as you remembered. Thanks again for the great review and I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

So glad we found this hotel! Great rooms in awesome location for very resonable price! You can get twice the room for your $. A lot of the hotels inthe area have small cramped rooms due to the age of the buildings. But Ansonborough Inn is an old converted stationers warehouse so the rooms are very spacious. Loved all the brick and pine...gorgeous!
We stayed in the Anson Suite which is one of the Premium Plus rooms. About 750sq feet with sitting area with sofa, wet bar with sink, coffee maker, small fridge and microwave. Large bathroom with dual sinks and shower/tub combination. One entire wall was giant windows covered in plantation shutters so you can get a lot of light or block it all out.
The location is within walking distance of everything...Historical district, shopping, restaurants...and costs less than many other hotels of lesser quality.
There is a Grocery store right across the street so we were able to stock up on snacks for the room.
Would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegasgirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the fanatastic TripAdvisor review. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and loved so much about the Ansonborough Inn. The Anson Suite is one of the staff's favorite rooms, so it's great to know that you loved it, too! I am also pleased that you found our location to be convenient and the our rates reasonable. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor--I hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I just enjoyed the Ansonborough Inn for a delightful weekend. We arrived a bit early and our room was already waiting for us. Jake at reception was so helpful and personable. Our room was comfortable, with a couch and sink within the bedroom. Incredibly high ceilings and a very comfy king size bed were the highlights!! We spent some time on the roof top deck during the afternoon. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and the complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon was quite enjoyable. From the Inn you can walk the entire historic district of Charleston and then return and you feel like you're miles away from all the tourists. We did have to pay for parking ($12), but to be able to be so close to everything and not need your car, the parking fee was totally acceptable. We can highly recommend this quaint inn to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachgirlamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you were pleased with so much about your time with us! I am also glad to know that you were able to explore the hotel and take in the great views from the rooftop terrace. I am also pleased to hear that the staff, the room, and the complimentary offerings all surpassed your expectations. Thank you again for the great review--I hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,851 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,180 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Property: Ansonborough Inn
Address: 21 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-2601
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ansonborough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing