We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Bakeshop

Sugar Bakeshop
Ranked #2 of 20 Bakeries in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Cottageville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The title says it all, they serve beautiful cupcakes that taste as good as they look. Love them. We often get a variety of flavors to share and sample. I highly recommend the dark chocolate and mint. Delish!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DM67Chas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    33
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
buckeyelulu
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“re the highlight of our trip to Charleston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Charleston/Savannah. Sugar is off the beaten path which is a plus actually. We had cupcakes each day we were there. The cupcakes may be the best I've ever eaten, and I'm very picky about sweets. The place is very cute but very small. I believe there is a small seat or two indoors but really not room to sit there. There are benches out front and in the little courtyard. I'd recommend picking up cupcakes to go. The service is great - very upbeat and friendly workers. Highly highly recommend this place. Wish there was one where we live.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buckeyelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cupcakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We read about this little place and since we had tried some other cupcake shops we wanted to see how the Sugar cupcakes compared. We were not disappointed. It's a cute little place and parking is tricky but we went around the block once and when we came back around we got to park right by the front door. We got 4 different flavors. I liked the PB and J but everyone liked the flavors that they got. Honey, Caramel, and Chocolate. Lots more to choose from.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea7559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you like desserts, you won't be let down. I stopped here as a part of a culinary tour, and the lemon custard cupcake and pecan treat were amazing. They were worth every calorie.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DKWlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cute Bakery, Really Sweet Cupcakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Very cute nostalgic bakery but hope you have a mean sweet tooth. I ordered the almond cupcake and WOW the icing was super sweet. I had to scrape half of the icing off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Bakeshop also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sugar Bakeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing