We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Dessert!”
Review of Sugar Bakeshop

Sugar Bakeshop
Ranked #4 of 18 Bakeries in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Top Notch Dessert!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Sugar Bakeshop was on my "visit if possible" list for Charleston and I'm so glad we were able to find time to go here! The shop is in a more residential neighborhood and parking is on the street. Right after it opened at 10am, I stopped in. The retail space is very small - not more than a tiny crowd could fit into the space that showcases the luscious desserts. The sight and smells of yummy desserts were wonderful! Bright and colorful cupcakes as well as tarts and cookies galore - it is now a "must stop" place for the next visit to Charleston. We ordered the orange cupcakes, strawberry cupcakes, M & M cookies, and a superb lemon tart. I had the desserts packaged in a Sugar Bakeshop "to go" box and we took them to the Battery (park) to dine on for dessert. All were Top Notch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank challengefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    34
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We are big cupcake connoisseurs and many times the reviews don't measure up. These are pretty yummy morsels. Great variety and deliciously flavored. Quaint little shop with great cupcakes n treats! Worth the venture.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maybe the best cupcakes in the South”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Discovered this little bake shop while walking back to the Notso Hostel. I had to go twice during my short trip to Charleston because it was that good. There are a lot of cupcake bakers in the south, but this one seems to take a lot of pride in their goods. I highly recommend the mint cupcake!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMSeries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We went here on a culinary tour. We had a strawberry stuffed vanilla cupcake with mint icing. Not something I would have normally chosen but it was delicious!! Ingredients are fresh and you can tell.. The mint icing was amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahg11511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Sweet and Very Yummy!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We sampled a couple of cupcakes (the almond chocolate coconut was amazing) the tiny peach tarts and a chocolate chip cookie. Everything was delicious and fresh. Not cheap but a lovely treat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Bakeshop also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sugar Bakeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing