We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secret sushi gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shi Ki

Shi Ki
Ranked #243 of 898 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Secret sushi gem!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This place was fantastic! We walked in but didn't have to wait. It was nice be able to drive right up to the front door--b/c it's not on the main strip (but not far off). It's a small family owned restaurant, and the husband (chef) and wife (hostess/waitress) were very attentive and happy to talk to us throughout our meal. Plus, the food was top notch!! Soooo glad we ate here!

Helpful?
Thank SoldierGuy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
1 review
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I knew this restaurant from here during my first time visit at Charleston. It's not a big restaurant but it's very clean and attractive with wonderful sashimi and roll. And their Taiwanese staff lady is very nice and warm hearted!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LYNN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fresh sushi from a family-owned restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant is a bit out of the way of the usual tourist spots in Charleston, but it is well worth the trip. The chef takes pride in making sure all the fish is high quality and the service is exceptional. My personal favorite is the special crunch roll--the combination of asain pear and tempura flakes is delicious! I also recommend saving some room for the red bean ice cream.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Authentic Fresh Sushi”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Escaping from the madness that is downtown Charleston in summer, we walked about a mile to the little East Bay shopping center to find Shi Ki. We had made a reservation for 7 pm on Saturday night and walked in to find this little restaurant empty, except for the owners. The reviews had been excellent, so we sat down and chatted with the chef and his wife. We asked what was fresh and he said everything. He was right about that! We ordered our usual assortment of nigiri sushi and a spider roll which were incredibly fresh with just the right amount of rice. We tried,and loved , the eel roll! This was superb eel!! We started with edamame and seaweed salad. Very generous portions and delicious! Then the chef presented us with a unique roll for dessert called a Breeze, in which an Asian pear was wrapped a drizzled with a light champagne sauce.
By the time we left about an hour later, every table was full and there was a line out the door.
Shi Ki means 4 seasons and this husband-wife duo has been cutting fantastic sushi for 12 years of 4 seasons! It is also an amazing value. With a bottle of cold sake we were out of there for under $80! That is a total bargain, in my book! Don't miss this gem in Charleston!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coachmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Charleston”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Shi Ki is one of the best kept secrets in Charleston, but for sushi, it is the freshest, most authentic, and delicious place I have found. It is nestled away in the corner of a small shopping center on East Bay, near the corner of Calhoun.
The same gentleman is always behind the bar skillfully preparing all sushi orders. It is clear that not only is he very good at his craft, but he takes pride in his work. The Super Crunch Roll is one of my stand-by favorites, but I usually try to get an eel roll as well. Their red snapper and yellow fin tuna rolls are beautiful savory compliments to these first two, and the spicy versions offer some nice heat without being overwhelming. The ala carte mackerel is exceptional.
I think it's pretty much impossible to go wrong at this restaurant. If you enjoy sushi, you really should do yourself a favor and check it out. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christiec03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shi Ki also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Shi Ki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing