We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi in Charleston”
Review of Shi Ki

Shi Ki
Ranked #261 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Charleston”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Shi Ki is one of the best kept secrets in Charleston, but for sushi, it is the freshest, most authentic, and delicious place I have found. It is nestled away in the corner of a small shopping center on East Bay, near the corner of Calhoun.
The same gentleman is always behind the bar skillfully preparing all sushi orders. It is clear that not only is he very good at his craft, but he takes pride in his work. The Super Crunch Roll is one of my stand-by favorites, but I usually try to get an eel roll as well. Their red snapper and yellow fin tuna rolls are beautiful savory compliments to these first two, and the spicy versions offer some nice heat without being overwhelming. The ala carte mackerel is exceptional.
I think it's pretty much impossible to go wrong at this restaurant. If you enjoy sushi, you really should do yourself a favor and check it out. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christiec03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elkin, NC
Level Contributor
486 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“If you like sushi, you will love it”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I eat at sushi restaurants about every week, even in Chicago airport. I do not eat cheap sushi!

Shi Ki served me the largest sashimi plate, miso soup, and ginger salad. All these are 100% what I would expect from any great sushi place.

Where they exceeded was in personable service from the manager or owner, and the dessert, which was a banana covered in tempura, and you ate it with the red bean ice cream. Simply awesome. We shared between the five of us the combo plate and it went fast. The kids went nuts how good it was.

The restaurant is quiet, and you would think it would be full. But don't let that fool you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Oriental Treasure”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

You wouldn't guess it from it's exterior, hidden subtly in a strip mall type of place with a very small parking lot, but inside is a quaint little Japanese restaurant rich in atmosphere and even richer in quality Japanese food. Their specialty sushi roll, the Ski Ki Special roll, is a must for sushi aficionados.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZacPensol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A year later, still good!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Returned to Charleston and the Spoleto festival again this year. We chose to return to Shi Ki as we had such a good time there last festival. We were not disappointed! It is great fun to watch your meal being prepared for you, and the fresh tuna and salmon were just a delight. Everything is freshly prepared and there are so many choices! Everything we have had here has been fresh and good. We'll be back next Spoleto festival. Thanks for a really good meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Charleston!!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We've been to Shiki several times and are never disappointed. The family that owns this is fantastic and always offers great suggestions. We highly recommend the super crunch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleston555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shi Ki also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Shi Ki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing