We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveler rating
655
72
33
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
72
33
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mid century living room federal building mad men craft cocktails marion square farmers market mini bar beautiful hotel concierge desk hotel experience guest services king street hotel bar fine hotel luxury hotel high ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 778 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018

We travel often for pleasure and the service at this hotel was amazing. Probably the best we’ve ever experienced. My only issue was not being able to make the room cool enough. The front desk did help some with that.

Room Tip: Our room was small but the large bathroom helped make it feel larger. The inability to turn the air below 69 was an issue.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mbagwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne K, Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mbagwell,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and give us a 5 star review. Our staff is dedicated to making sure that our guests have a wonderful experience and are well taken care of during their time with us. We will certainly pass around your feedback and we hope to welcome you on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

My husband & I just stayed @ The Dewberry for the 3rd time in the last 12 months, and each & every time, it does not disappoint! The service & staff are amazing! The design of the hotel, the restaurant & living room, as well as the rooms, is spectacular! You will literally be laying in the most comfortable bed your first night, mentally making plans to redesign your bedroom & bathroom back home to match! It is our true home away from home in our favorite southern city!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to an Old Fashioned (or any cocktail) in the Living Room
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne K, Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kathy,

Thank you for your loyalty and continuing to come stay with us! We certainly take pride in our comfortable beds and glad you agree. Hope to welcome you 'home' soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

what a great hotel, great location, staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The condition of the entire hotel in all respects exceed my expectations. I would clearly stay there again without question.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne K, Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you John F for your 5 star review! We truly appreciate your kind words and happy to hear we exceeded your expectations! Please come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

Wife and I stayed here for our 10 year anniversary. Had a blast. The staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful. The room was hip and comfortable. The entire décor of the hotel was expertly done and very cool. I won't stay any where else on my next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chrisgerard2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne K, Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Gerard,

We loved having you here for your 10th anniversary! Thank you for celebrating your long weekend with us and glad to hear you won't stay anywhere else. See you on your next trip to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Claire from reservations was fabulous !!!!!!!! This was our second time staying at The Dewberry and we just love what they did to this old federal building.
Our 'Charleston Flat' Suite is sleek and super cozy -- love the bathroom set up and the floor to ceiling windows are perfect!
Really enjoyed our stay and so look forward to returning soon. All of the staff are friendly and helpful! Also love the new fleet of cars available to take you around the city.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shack2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne K, Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your raving review and recognizing Claire! Claire was one of our very first hires and we are lucky to have her on our team! We are also so happy you enjoyed the Charleston Flat and we able to utilize our house cars. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews