We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet tooth must stop!”
Review of Cupcake DownSouth

Cupcake DownSouth
Ranked #5 of 18 Bakeries in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Cupcake DownSouth’s three locally-owned bakeries bake innovative concoctions using the finest all-natural ingredients, like real vanilla beans, sweet cream butter, fresh fruit, and rich chocolate. We top them with our signature homemade icing, colorful sprinkles, candies, chocolate-covered almonds, chocolate chips, and more. Enjoy one of our nine daily favorites or try one of our 50 seasonal specials!
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Skip dessert at whatever restaurant you are at and hit this place after you eat. Located very close to the shops and restaurants downtown....the red velvet is the best!

Thank LORI H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, Public Relations Manager at Cupcake DownSouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you so much for the review! We are so happy you enjoyed our Cupcakes! Red Velvet is our best seller, as it is so delicious!
We hope you have a sweet day and hope to see you soon!! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 186 of 371 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

No visit to Charleston could be complete without a trip to Cupcake. Their salted caramel cupcake is just overly delicious. And the cakepops are tasty too.

Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, Public Relations Manager at Cupcake DownSouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so delighted you enjoyed our Cupcakes (and Cake Pops) and Cupcake is on your list of places to go in Charleston! Salted Caramel is one of our staff favorites too, it is so good!
We hope you have a sweet day and look forward to serving you again soon! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went here twice during our visit to Charleston and they have different varieties of cupcakes each day. Cupcakes were delicious. Great place to stop on King Street for a yummy snack to refuel.

Thank melissa328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, Public Relations Manager at Cupcake DownSouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hello! We are so delighted you decided to stop in Cupcake on your trip to Charleston! We are glad you enjoyed your cupcakes both times! Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We hope you had a wonderful time in Charleston and we hope to serve you again soon! Have a sweet day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The cupcakes where okay. Nothing special...my local cupcake shop has amazing fillings. The coconut cupcake was decent but the vanilla with chocolate was plain. Too much icing on top. Tried the shop because I love cupcakes but we'll skip next time around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MoultonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, Public Relations Manager at Cupcake DownSouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that your experience did not exceed your expectations. We do have some cupcakes that have great fillings like cheesecake, and maybe you can try that one next time! We hope you have a sweet day and hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Charleston local here, and I just came back from another successful trip to the Cupcake on King Street. My family and I have been going to the Cupcake for years and they never disappoint! This time we took three out-of-towners with us and they were absolutely in love with this place and their large, fresh, and decadent cupcakes. They are made fresh daily with a new set of flavors every day, today for instance we got Creamsicle, Watermelon, Cookies and Cream, and Red Velvet Cake for example (other past favorites have been Banana Pudding, Carrot Cake, Key Lime and Mint Chocolate Chip). The icing is to die for, and believe me, they are so delicious they go very fast :) The girls at the counter are also very friendly every time we go in there and they provide great customer service. The only issue I could see here would be that they have limited seating, but grab your cupcake to go if its too crowded because lovely Marion Square is right down the street! A great place for a sweet treat in a lovely Southern city!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Archaeolog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, Public Relations Manager at Cupcake DownSouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your cupcakes! Thank you for bringing your guests in for a sweet treat!

Great suggestion for seating when our store is full! Marion Square is beautiful!

Thank you again for your kind words! We hope you have a sweet day and are excited to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupcake DownSouth also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cupcake DownSouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing