We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cafe, really good coffee”
Review of City Lights Coffee

City Lights Coffee
Ranked #2 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Nice cafe, really good coffee”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stopped by here a few times on my last trip and was never disappointed with the coffee. It was rather crowded and I dont think that families would be very comfortable in this place. It would be nice if you were alone to hang out here and sip your coffee, but I think its more of a grab and go kind of place for most people.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kryss P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    58
    16
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small independent coffee shop”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The best coffee we found on our brief trip to Charleston was in this diminutive shop. There is a cute marble topped bar with stools so you can sit and enjoy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimberFalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meh....just ok.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Coffee was good, however the atmosphere seemed kinda cold, almost as if the staff just couldn't be bothered. Kinda tight and cluttered space. Good for a grab and go, rather than a sit and stay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molly54184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Neighborhood hide away”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good, fresh, strong iced coffee! We stopped here several times for iced coffee and non-fat lattes. We prefer to support the local companies instead of large chains. Interestingly, the local coffee shops also sell bottled beer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank btincher2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cute Litte Coffee Place”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Don't let the size of this small coffeehouse fool you. The coffe was delicious and the barista was very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Lights Coffee also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to City Lights Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing