We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service and fun atmosphere”
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #30 of 933 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Amazed at the small capacity of the restaurant, but we were able to be seated at the bar and sat right in front of the shuckers, which afforded us great entertainment throughout our meal. I had crabcakes which were very good, lots of lump meat. I also ordered the wedge salad which was very, very large! Lots of blue cheese! The crab bisque was very good, too. My friend had a Naked Cowboy (cocktail) and Fried Oysters, along with a wedge salad. We were very happy with our meal here and will definitely return. I would be interested in trying a fish of the day option next time, or the shrimp!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kimshe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for dining with us at Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so glad you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,856)
There are newer reviews for Pearlz Oyster Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,133 - 1,137 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

We loved this restaurant so much that we cancelled our reservations at other places so that we could visit again. There is a convivial atmosphere that you can feel as soon as you step inside the place and the food is both fresh and imaginative and the hardest part is knowing what to pick. We chose the Oysters as an appetiser and Stephanie our waitress explained where they came from and what they were, even the order in which we should eat them. The staff, the food make this our No 1 for Charleston.

Thank hildamay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for visiting us at Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Local beer, great seafood choices, fun atmosphere! Don't see Lobster rolls outside the Northeast much, but delicious!

Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for dining with us at Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stopped in for a drink and small bit to eat. It was a fun atmosphere, quite bustling, and the food was tasty. Fried oysters were a hit with our party. It's hard to get a bad meal in Charleston, and this place is not exception.

1  Thank KathyDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Kathy, thank you for your kind words! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

It was my husband's bday, last day in Charleston. We decided on a whim to stop in, as we were exploring the area around there, and our dinner reservations weren't for hours. This place hit the spot! The food, the beer, the atmosphere, all of it perfect! The place was packed, but we found seats at the bar. Ordered a dozen oysters, four of their micro brews, and two oyster shooters. Only $25!! The bartenders were friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere was exactly what we were craving. A year and a half later, we still tell everyone about it. Got our seafood and fantastic drinks in a hip place that was welcoming and fun. We don't remember other places we ate, but Pearlz was unforgettable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sweetdmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Kathy, thank you for your kind words! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing