We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service with difficult dietary restrictions”
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #43 of 971 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Recently I was traveling with my sister who suffers from congestive heart failure for which she is on a very low sodium diet. I called and explained the situation to the manger Tim, he said he would personally verify that no salt was added to my sisters food. Our waitress Kelly was very careful making sure my sisters order was correct, and true to his word we saw Tim verify that there was no salt added to my sisters food. The staff at Pearlz were more responsive to my sisters condition than any restaurant we have ben to. It was the first time my sister did not have to worry about her dinner in a restaurant sending her to the hospital. She was grinning from ear to ear for the entire meal.

I also want to state that all the food was fresh and tasted great!

Thanks for making our night out so special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunshine_Bear_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for writing a review! We are delighted to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your experience with us and that our staff was accommodating. We look forward to taking care of ya'll again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,254 - 1,258 of 1,965 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I were told by a local about Pearlz, We ran into it walking around Charleston and decided to wait till it opened to try it out. So glad we did! The food is amazing!!! The staff is friendly and service is great. Happy hour for oysters is amazing. Must try the mahi and shrimp tacos!We had such a good experience we ate there again the night after. The server even remembered us from the night before! Even you are in Charleston, Pearlz is a must!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for dining at Pearlz Oyster Bar and for writing a review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the experience enough to come back two nights in a row. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have been to Pearlz at least a dozen times and it is always good. Good food, good service and a nice bar. On Sunday afternoon there is live music. Try the variety of oysters, they are all very good. We also like the fish tacos a lot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vincenthalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for frequently visiting Pearlz and for taking the time to share your feedback! We greatly appreciate your business and are more than happy to hear that each time you come you enjoy the food as well as the service. We look forward to seeing you at your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a great dinner at Pearlz last night. I had the Mixed Seafood Grill over spinach risotto with lobster cream sauce…divine! My husband had fried shrimp and thought it was great. We did seat in a community table and had a nice conversation with the folks next to us. Service was good and the GM super nice especially on a busy night. Thanks for a great experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LuciandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for choosing Pearlz and for writing a review! It's great to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your dishes and the service. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is exactly the type of place we were looking for, casual and loaded with character! The menu was simple yet diverse, the Sunday specials made it difficult to choose. We started with a dozen raw house oysters, fresh, cold and just salty enough. We followed with perfectly fried oysters and a special small plate of blackened King Klip on honey jalapeño-cheddar grits. The blackened seasoning was hot and spicy and the fish cooked perfectly rare, outstanding! The service was attentive and courteous (Lauren) the prices were very reasonable and the music was lively. If we had a complaint, it was that there wasn't an IPA available on draft.

Thank cappie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for joining us at Pearlz Oyster Bar! We're very happy to hear you had a great time and enjoyed the oysters and fish. We certainly hope you'll pay us another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing