We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad and scary.”
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #26 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sad and scary.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Visited this restaurant summer 2013 and still unhappy enough to share a negative review. That's how bad it was.

We had friends in town that wanted oysters/seafood, so we thought what better place than Pearlz? They had received great reviews, after all.

We showed up and the hostess yelled at us that they were on a wait. I say she yelled because she had to yell - it was extremely loud inside this place. We wanted a booth rather than sit at the communal tables, so we were put on a waiting list and the hostess collected our cell phone number. She was going to call us when the table was ready.

We went down the street to the Gin Joint for a couple drinks, which were excellent.

We got a call about 45 minutes later saying that our table was ready. We hurried back to the restaurant, but when we got there, we were told that we had to be put back on a wait. Apparently the owner showed up with his mother and they decided to seat them instead of us.

That's just plain ridiculous and is nothing short of an abortion of customer service.

After another wait, we were seated. The waitress had to yell at us to communicate. The oysters were OK, many were very small.

One of our guests ordered the mussels. She noted that they tasted funny and smelled pretty rotten after eating just a couple. The waitress came over, as did the manager, and we overheard the waitress telling the manager that she thought they smelled bad when she brought them out.

So WHY DID YOU SERVE THEM TO US???

They took the mussels off the bill, but made no apologies and didn't offer another entree, free desert, or anything. They simply took the mussels off the table and that was it.

Our guest ended up getting violently ill that night and into the next day. I guess that's to be expected when you eat mussels that have turned.

Everything else we ordered was just sort of blah. The fish and chips included burned fish and chips that were so stale there's no way they could have been fried that day. Our cocktails were subpar and didn't taste as if they were proportioned correectly.

The waitress was inattentive after the mussels incident - I assume she thought her tip would be small because she gave us terrible service afterwards.

We paid the bill and left.

We won't be back. I've had similar experiences at other restaurants owned by the same company and have never been impressed with one exception: the oyster roasts at the Pearlz in West Ashley are usually pretty awesome.

Skip this place and find a local restaurant that will serve you fresh seafood in an atmosphere that will allow you to actually have a conversation with the person sitting across from you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erlend_Oye_Wanna_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,162
    507
    97
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went for dinner around 6:00pm on a Friday. It was fairly packed. No room at the bar and about a 30 min. wait. We were seated at a shared table. I'm not really a fan of that. That's the only reason I knocked a star off. I don't want to share a table with strangers. Luckily we were seated on the end, so it wasn't as bad.
I had the lobster roll- AMAZING. Truly great. I seriously considered coming back for another one for lunch the next day. My husband had oysters, and he said they were also great.
Nice place, and great food. I would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfm610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us at Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so happy that you enjoyed our lobster roll. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shooters and fritters like no other!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We love Pearlz, and look forward to visiting when we come to Charleston. The atmosphere really feels like downtown should, and the staff is very helpful and makes sure you know about the specials. Our favorite meal is the fritters, oyster shooters and cold beer, but there are numerous entrees to choose from. Can't wait to go back again!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for dining with us at Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so happy that you enjoyed our fritters and oyster shooters! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
Level Contributor
311 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Rustic bar atmosphere with excellent food and service. Highly recommended by hotel and locals. Fresh seafood,specials with limited land lover food. but Easy to find.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for dining with us at Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You will love their Oysters”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

0ur quest is to find the best raw oysters in every city we visit. And in this city, we found the best oysters at Pearlz Oyster Bar. We first ordered the sampler of various sourced oysters to find which source tasted best to us and then ordered those for the next dozen. We ate there on two occasions and found their oysters to be good and FRESH FRESH FRESH !!! The bar offered excellent made drinks, and, their “sides” were all excellent - - the Scallop Ceviche, the New England Clam Chowder, the Bleu Cheese Iceberg Wedge and the House Chips.

There is no doubt that the Pearlz is the best in Charleston - - on the two occasions we went there, when they opened at 2 pm on Sunday and 4 pm on Tuesday, and within one hour, every booth, table and bar seat was taken. Writing this review has me hungry - - I want to go back NOW!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay_Jay_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us at Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so glad that you enjoyed our oysters! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing