We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find”
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #26 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I cannot say one bad thing about this place other than it is too far from home. We had two of the specials, grits with jalapeños topped with blackened wahoo and a mixed grill risotto. Both excellent.

The manager on site was very friendly and our waitress could not have been better. We even took a picture of the menu board.

Can't wait to return to Charleston to eat here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We can't wait to see you again when you come back to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,161
    507
    97
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
169 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lively place with great food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We found Pearlz on a cold, rainy Sunday night and our evening was rescued by wonderful Shrimp & grits and a delicious lobster roll. Everything was fresh and service was excellent. A lively, friendly place.

Helpful?
Thank JustLale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had to wait about 1 hour to get a table but the food is worth the wait. We had fish tacos, raw oysters and blue crab soup. They were all so delicious that we wanted more but were too full.

Fresh seafood lovers must check this restaurant out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poogiewoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for being patient with us during your recent experience to Pearlz Oyster Bar, we really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your food. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheverly, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Showed up here for dinner on a Friday night and was pleasantly surprised. The local oysters were fresh and delicious, as were the raw clams. The specials menu was impressive--I had the beef tenderloin and monkfish special. The green peppercorn sauce on the tenderloin was very flavorful but not overpowering, and the monkfish was cooked just right. The mixed seafood grill was also a great dish, having a little bit of everything to try--the risotto in the dish had unique flavors. The blondie dessert was surprisingly light, and the house-made beers paired well with the seafood. The prices were surprisingly cheap--you can't get a better price for the level of quality provided.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccarbone22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for visiting Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went for dinner once and it was a great experience, We ate at the bar, it was interesting to watch our oysters being shucked, they were really fresh and tasty; For a main course we had Pan fried breaded turkey breast and beef tender medallions both perfectly seasoned.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank King--Carlitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing