We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait!”
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #43 of 971 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went on a Saturday night around 9pm - was an hour wait for a table inside and they'd only serve cocktails at the three tables out front. Cocktails were strong enough, but tasty (fresh grapefruit juice? Yes please!). After a brief wait, the staff accommodated us with menus and service outside. Not long after that a booth opened up inside. We ate oysters in the half (best price and quality in town), crab dip with spinach, bacon, and flatbread (we killed it. dead.), mussels in broth (light but flavorful), and the lobster roll (heavy emphasis on lobster, not bread) with homemade chips - everything was delicious! Finished up with a Toll House Pie A La Mode - holy cow, bring a friend and share that!
PEARLZ was without a doubt worth the wait!
Did I mention the fast and friendly wait staff?! Kudos, y'all!

Thank MissMason999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for dining with us at Pearlz! We are delighted to know that your party thought the wait was worth it! It pleases us to know you enjoyed all of your dishes of fresh seafood with us. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,440 - 1,444 of 1,965 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

We rather stumbled onto Pearlz but enjoyed it none-the-less. The food was very good, the staff was most accommodating (we had a 8 month old in our party) and we enjoyed ourselves. It was a bit loud - but it is a bar format, so it is to be expected.

Thank lovebooks51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for dining with us at Pearlz! We are pleased to know that we were accommodating to your party and that you all enjoyed your experience with us. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We got the oysters, fish tacos, and hush puppies. All were solid. Place has a really cool vibe and great prices!! It does get crowded but we were able to score a spot at the bar. Don't miss happy hour here! M-F, 4-7

Thank Marylander10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for dining with us at Pearlz! We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your fresh oysters and fish tacos with us during Happy Hour! We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We had heard much about it so we went here. The wait was an hour but no big deal because you can hangout nearby and wait for a phone call.
We all started with oyster shooters which were awesome. We then had the crab dip for an appetizer which was delicious.
The defining moment was when the raw oysters came out. They tasted very very fresh and amazing. The best part is that the price is more than reasonable for such good quality oysters. If you love oysters I would absolutely recommend this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for dining with us at Pearlz Oyster Bar! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us! it pleases us to hear that you loved our fresh oysters! We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

There was a half hour wait on a Thursday night so we left our number, and crossed the street to have drinks on the rooftop. One drink and the phone rang. The place was packed and mega loud. Reminded me of a sports bar with an upscale menu. The oyster shooters were excellent. Mine was virgin so I tasted every nuance of spice and oyster. Divine. Everyone enjoyed their food. We had wonderful, plump, fresh mussels, fish and chips, shrimp and grits and braised pork belly with shrimp in a champagne sauce that was to die for. Our waitress was great. Lots of fun with happy people and well made food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Goldenluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for dining with us at Pearlz! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your dining experience with us! Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing